Handbooks and encyclopedias
Oxford Handbook of Public Health Practice by Charles Guest (Editor); Ichiro Kawachi (Editor); Iain Lang (Editor); Walter Ricciardi (Editor)
Fully revised and updated for the third edition, the Oxford Handbook of Public Health Practice remains the first resort for all those working in this broad field. Structured to assist with practical tasks, translating evidence into policy, and providing concise summaries and real-world issues from across the globe, this literally provides a world of experience at your fingertips.Easy-to-use, concise and practical, it is structured into seven parts that focus on the vital areas of assessment, data and information, direct action, policy, health-care systems, personal effectiveness and organisational development. Reflecting recent advances, the most promising developments in practical public health are presented, as well as maintaining essential summaries of core disciplines. This handbook is designed to assist students and practitioners around the world, for improvedmanagement of disasters, epidemics, health behaviour, acute and chronic disease prevention, community and government action, environmental health, vulnerable populations, and more.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
The Handbook of Global Health Policy by Garrett W. Brown (Editor); Sarah Wamala (Editor); Gavin Yamey (Editor)
The Handbook of Global Health Policy provides adefinitive source of the key areas in the field. It examines theethical and practical dimensions of new and current policy modelsand their effect on the future development of global health andpolicy. Maps out key debates and policy structures involved in allareas of global health policy Isolates and examines new policy initiatives in global healthpolicy Provides an examination of these initiatives that captures boththe ethical/critical as well as practical/empirical dimensionsinvolved with global health policy, global health policy formationand its implications Confronts the theoretical and practical questions of 'whogets what and why' and 'how, when andwhere?' Captures the views of a wide array of scholars andpractitioners, including from low- and middle-income countries, toensure an inclusive view of current policy debates
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Routledge Handbook of Global Public Health by Richard Parker (Editor); Marni Sommer (Editor)
At the beginning of the twenty-first century, key public health issues and challenges have taken centre stage. They range from arsenic in drinking water to asthma among children and adults; from the re-emergence of cholera, to increasing cancer rates and other chronic diseases; from AIDS to malaria and hepatitis; from the crises faced by displaced or refugee populations to the new challenges that have emerged for reproductive health and rights. Like most aspects of contemporary life, these problems have been impacted by globalization. The issues that confront us are being shaped by evolving processes such as the growth of inequalities between the rich and the poor in countries around the world, the globalization of trade and commerce, new patterns of travel and migration, as well as a reduction in resources for the development and sustainability of public health infrastructures. The Routledge Handbook of Global Public Healthexplores this context and addresses both the emerging issues and conceptualizations of the notion of global health, along with expanding upon and highlighting the critical priorities in this rapidly evolving field. It is organized in ten main sections. The topics covered include: The transition from international to global health Structural inequalities and global public health Ecological transformation and environmental health in the global system Population and reproductive health Conflict, violence and emergencies in global public health Global public health policy and practice Global public health and development Global mental health Global access to essential medicines Health systems, health capacity, and the politics of global public health This comprehensive handbook will provide an authoritative overview for students, practitioners, researchers, and policy makers working in or concerned with public health around the globe.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Public Health: Principles, People, and Programs [2 Volumes] by Sally Kuykendall (Editor)
Providing context to today's public health practices and broad coverage of topics, this book demonstrates how cross-disciplinary studies are critical to addressing current health issues. * Presents complex health issues in ways that encourage readers to pursue the many different opportunities in the field of public health * Supplies insights from contributors that include experts on diseases such as hepatitis, substance abuse prevention, the history of medicine, and neurology * Provides a functional foundation for those working to improve the health of communities or individuals * Identifies relevant connections between physical, social, and emotional health and well-being to everyday life * Serves as a gateway to additional research and study by providing suggested further readings with each entry
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Oxford Handbook of Public Health Practice by
Fully revised and updated for the third edition, the Oxford Handbook of Public Health Practice remains the first resort for all those working in this broad field. Structured to assist with practical tasks, translating evidence into policy, and providing concise summaries and real-world issues from across the globe, this literally provides a world of experience at your fingertips.Easy-to-use, concise and practical, it is structured into seven parts that focus on the vital areas of assessment, data and information, direct action, policy, health-care systems, personal effectiveness and organisational development. Reflecting recent advances, the most promising developments in practical public health are presented, as well as maintaining essential summaries of core disciplines. This handbook is designed to assist students and practitioners around the world, for improvedmanagement of disasters, epidemics, health behaviour, acute and chronic disease prevention, community and government action, environmental health, vulnerable populations, and more.
The Handbook of Global Health Policy by
The Handbook of Global Health Policy provides adefinitive source of the key areas in the field. It examines theethical and practical dimensions of new and current policy modelsand their effect on the future development of global health andpolicy. Maps out key debates and policy structures involved in allareas of global health policy Isolates and examines new policy initiatives in global healthpolicy Provides an examination of these initiatives that captures boththe ethical/critical as well as practical/empirical dimensionsinvolved with global health policy, global health policy formationand its implications Confronts the theoretical and practical questions of 'whogets what and why' and 'how, when andwhere?' Captures the views of a wide array of scholars andpractitioners, including from low- and middle-income countries, toensure an inclusive view of current policy debates
Routledge Handbook of Global Public Health by
At the beginning of the twenty-first century, key public health issues and challenges have taken centre stage. They range from arsenic in drinking water to asthma among children and adults; from the re-emergence of cholera, to increasing cancer rates and other chronic diseases; from AIDS to malaria and hepatitis; from the crises faced by displaced or refugee populations to the new challenges that have emerged for reproductive health and rights. Like most aspects of contemporary life, these problems have been impacted by globalization. The issues that confront us are being shaped by evolving processes such as the growth of inequalities between the rich and the poor in countries around the world, the globalization of trade and commerce, new patterns of travel and migration, as well as a reduction in resources for the development and sustainability of public health infrastructures. The Routledge Handbook of Global Public Healthexplores this context and addresses both the emerging issues and conceptualizations of the notion of global health, along with expanding upon and highlighting the critical priorities in this rapidly evolving field. It is organized in ten main sections. The topics covered include: The transition from international to global health Structural inequalities and global public health Ecological transformation and environmental health in the global system Population and reproductive health Conflict, violence and emergencies in global public health Global public health policy and practice Global public health and development Global mental health Global access to essential medicines Health systems, health capacity, and the politics of global public health This comprehensive handbook will provide an authoritative overview for students, practitioners, researchers, and policy makers working in or concerned with public health around the globe.
Encyclopedia of Public Health: Principles, People, and Programs [2 Volumes] by
Providing context to today's public health practices and broad coverage of topics, this book demonstrates how cross-disciplinary studies are critical to addressing current health issues. * Presents complex health issues in ways that encourage readers to pursue the many different opportunities in the field of public health * Supplies insights from contributors that include experts on diseases such as hepatitis, substance abuse prevention, the history of medicine, and neurology * Provides a functional foundation for those working to improve the health of communities or individuals * Identifies relevant connections between physical, social, and emotional health and well-being to everyday life * Serves as a gateway to additional research and study by providing suggested further readings with each entry
