Journals

Journals are an excellent source of current developments, research and information in a particular subject area. QUT Library subscribes to a large number of print and electronic journals. Some recommended journals include:

Accident Analysis and Prevention Accident Analysis & Prevention provides wide coverage of the general areas relating to accidental injury and damage, including the pre-injury and immediate post-injury phases. Published papers deal with medical, legal, economic, educational, behavioral, theoretical or empirical aspects of transportation accidents, as well as with accidents at other sites.
American Journal of Industrial Medicine American Journal of Industrial Medicine considers for publication reports of original research, review articles, instructive case reports, and analyses of policy in the fields of occupational and environmental health and safety. The Journal also accepts commentaries, book reviews and letters of comment and criticism. The goals of the journal are to advance and disseminate knowledge, promote research and foster the prevention of disease and injury. Specific topics of interest include: occupational disease; environmental disease; pesticides; cancer; occupational epidemiology; environmental epidemiology; disease surveillance systems; ergonomics; dust diseases; lead poisoning; neurotoxicology; endocrine disruptors.
Environmental Health: A Global Access Science Source Environmental Health is an open access, peer-reviewed, online journal that considers manuscripts on all aspects of environmental and occupational medicine, and related studies in toxicology and epidemiology. Environmental Health is aimed at scientists and practitioners in all areas of environmental science where human health and well-being are involved, either directly or indirectly. Environmental Health is a public health journal serving the public health community and scientists working on matters of public health interest and importance pertaining to the environment.
Environmental Health Perspectives Environmental Health Perspectives (EHP) is a monthly journal of peer-reviewed research and news published by the U.S. National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services. EHP"s mission is to serve as a forum for the discussion of the interrelationships between the environment and human health by publishing in a balanced and objective manner the best peer-reviewed research and most current and credible news of the field.
Exposure and Health It is a multidisciplinary journal focused on global human health consequences of exposure to water pollution in natural and engineered environments. The journal provides a unique platform for scientists in this field to exchange ideas and share information on research for the solution of health effects of exposure to water pollution. Coverage encompasses Engineering sciences; Biogeochemical sciences; Health sciences; Exposure analysis and Epidemiology; Social sciences and public policy; Mathematical, numerical and statistical methods; Experimental, data collection and data analysis methods and more. Research topics include local, regional and global water pollution, exposure and health problems; health risk analysis of water pollution, methods of quantification and analysis of risk under uncertainty; aquatic biogeochemical processes in natural and engineered systems and health effects; analysis of pollution, exposure and health data; and more.
Indoor Air The quality of the environment within buildings is a topic of major importance for public health. Indoor Air provides a location for reporting original research results in the broad area defined by the indoor environment of non-industrial buildings. An international journal with multidisciplinary content, Indoor Air publishes papers reflecting the broad categories of interest in this field: - health effects - thermal comfort - monitoring and modelling - source characterization - ventilation and other environmental control techniques.
Injury Prevention Injury Prevention was successfully launched in March 1995 and has become one of the leading international journals in this field. The journal gradually broadened its initial focus on child and adolescent injuries to include the prevention of injuries in all age groups. It has also expanded its scope to include all types of unintentional injuries, as well as occupational and intentional (violence-related) injuries. It has been indexed by the National Library of Medicine since its second year and is also included in Index Medicus and Embase . Its Impact Factor for 2004 was 1.6 ranking in the top half of all public health journals. Unlike many scientific journals, Injury Prevention is more than a collection of original articles, brief reports or methodological issues.
International Journal of Hygiene and Environmental Health International Journal of Hygiene and Environmental Health serves as a multidisciplinary forum for all research areas of hygiene, toxicology and environmental and occupational health. Original papers, rapid communications, reviews, case reports, technical notes, and editorials are invited and will be accepted for publication following peer review. High priority will be given to articles on environmental toxicology, risk assessment, susceptible populations, interactive effects of biological, physical and chemical factors, public health, environmental epidemiology, hospital hygiene, environmental microbiology, and clinical aspects related to environmental and occupational medicine.
Journal of Exposure Science and Environmental Epidemiology Journal of Exposure Science and Environmental Epidemiology (JESEE), a peer-reviewed publication, is published six times a year. The journal publishes research important to exposure assessment for toxic substances, environmental epidemiology that includes a strong exposure analysis component and related disciplines that advance the exposure assessment process. JESEE also publishes original research presenting significant advances in exposure analysis such as measurements, modeling, instrumentation, and questionnaires; mechanisms of exposure via pathways that lead to routes of exposure; development of molecular biomarkers of exposure, health effects, and susceptibility; genomic, proteomic, and metabonomics approaches and studies that assess exposure in the context of health effects.
Occupational and Environmental Medicine Quality & Safety in Health Care (formerly Quality in Health Care) is a leading international peer review journal in this growing area of quality and safety improvement. It provides essential information for those wanting to reduce harm and improve patient safety and the quality of care. The journal reports and reflects research, improvement initiatives and viewpoints and other discursive papers relevant to these crucial aims with contributions from researchers, clinical professionals and managers and experts in organisational development and behaviour.
Safety Science Safety Science serves as an international medium for research in the science and technology of human safety. It extends from safety of people at work to other spheres, such as transport, leisure and home, as well as every other field of man is hazardous activities. Safety Science is multidisciplinary. Its contributors and its audience range from psychologists to chemical engineers. The journal covers the physics and engineering of safety; its social, policy and organisational aspects; the management of risks; the effectiveness of control techniques for safety; standardization, legislation, inspection, insurance, costing aspects, human behaviour and safety and the like.
Scandinavian Journal of Work, Environment and Health The aim of the Journal is to promote research in the fields of occupational and environmental health and safety and to increase knowledge through the publication of original research articles, systematic reviews, and other information of high interest. Areas of interest include occupational and environmental epidemiology, occupational and environmental medicine, psychosocial factors at work, physical work load, physical activity work-related mental and musculoskeletal problems, aging, work ability and return to work, working hours and health, occupational hygiene and toxicology, work safety and injury epidemiology as well as occupational health services. In addition to observational studies, quasi-experimental and intervention studies are welcome as well as methodological papers, occupational cohort profiles, and studies associated with economic evaluation. The Journal also publishes short communications, case reports, commentaries, discussion papers, clinical questions, consensus reports, meeting reports, other reports, book reviews, news, and announcements (jobs, courses, events etc).

Scimago (SJR) Journal List

The SJR list can be used to locate the most highly cited journals within certain subject areas:

Journals

Scimago (SJR) Journal List

Global links and information

Students and staff

Alumni

Community

About

Need help?

Get in touch

Acknowledgement of Traditional Owners