Handbooks and encyclopedias
The Oxford Handbook of Health Care Management by Ewan Ferlie (Editor); Kathleen Montgomery (Editor); Anne Reff Pedersen (Editor)
This Handbook provides an authoritative overview of current issues and debates in the field of health care management. It contains over twenty chapters from well-known and eminent academic authors, who were carefully selected for their expertise and asked to provide a broad and critical overview of developments in their particular topic area. The development of an international perspective and body of knowledge is a key feature of the book. The Handbook secondly makes a case for bringing back a social science perspective into the study of the field of health care management. It therefore contains a number of contrasting and theoretically orientated chapters (e.g. on institutionalism; critical management studies). This social science based approach is a refreshing alternative to much existing work in this domain and offers a good way into current academic debates in this field. The Handbook thirdly explores a variety of important policy and organizational developments apparent within the current health care field (e.g. new organizational forms; growth of management consulting in health care organizations). It therefore explores and comments on major contemporary trends apparent in the practice field.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of Healthcare Management by Myron D. Fottler (Editor); Donna Malvey (Editor); Donna J. Slovensky (Editor)
The Handbook of Healthcare Management is a comprehensive examination of key management practices for global healthcare organizations, arguing that insight into and implementation of these practices is essential for success and sustainability. Expert contributors analyze both existing methods and new developments in healthcare management, through topics including healthcare marketing and customer service, managing human resources and organizational stakeholders, strategic and business planning, high-reliability organizations, and health informatics. The result is a well-rounded collection of strategies to enhance healthcare quality, with emphasis on factors that promote organizational excellence.This Handbook will be invaluable to students in both master and doctoral healthcare management programs, as well as faculty and health services researchers, practitioners in both private and public sectors, policy-makers, and public administrators.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Public Health: Principles, People, and Programs [2 Volumes] by Sally Kuykendall (Editor)
Providing context to today's public health practices and broad coverage of topics, this book demonstrates how cross-disciplinary studies are critical to addressing current health issues. * Presents complex health issues in ways that encourage readers to pursue the many different opportunities in the field of public health * Supplies insights from contributors that include experts on diseases such as hepatitis, substance abuse prevention, the history of medicine, and neurology * Provides a functional foundation for those working to improve the health of communities or individuals * Identifies relevant connections between physical, social, and emotional health and well-being to everyday life * Serves as a gateway to additional research and study by providing suggested further readings with each entry
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Oxford Handbook of Public Health Practice by Charles Guest (Editor); Walter Ricciardi (Editor); Ichiro Kawachi (Editor); Iain Lang (Editor)
Fully revised and updated for the third edition, the Oxford Handbook of Public Health Practice remains the first resort for all those working in this broad field. Structured to assist with practical tasks, translating evidence into policy, and providing concise summaries and real-world issuesfrom across the globe, this literally provides a world of experience at your fingertips.Easy-to-use, concise and practical, it is structured into seven parts that focus on the vital areas of assessment, data and information, direct action, policy, health-care systems, personal effectiveness and organisational development. Reflecting recent advances, the most promising developments inpractical public health are presented, as well as maintaining essential summaries of core disciplines. This handbook is designed to assist students and practitioners around the world, for improved management of disasters, epidemics, health behaviour, acute and chronic disease prevention, communityand government action, environmental health, vulnerable populations, and more.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
The Handbook of Global Health Policy by Garrett W. Brown (Editor); Gavin Yamey (Editor); Sarah Wamala (Editor)
The Handbook of Global Health Policy provides adefinitive source of the key areas in the field. It examines theethical and practical dimensions of new and current policy modelsand their effect on the future development of global health andpolicy. Maps out key debates and policy structures involved in allareas of global health policy Isolates and examines new policy initiatives in global healthpolicy Provides an examination of these initiatives that captures boththe ethical/critical as well as practical/empirical dimensionsinvolved with global health policy, global health policy formationand its implications Confronts the theoretical and practical questions of 'whogets what and why' and 'how, when andwhere?' Captures the views of a wide array of scholars andpractitioners, including from low- and middle-income countries, toensure an inclusive view of current policy debates
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
The Oxford Handbook of Health Care Management by
This Handbook provides an authoritative overview of current issues and debates in the field of health care management. It contains over twenty chapters from well-known and eminent academic authors, who were carefully selected for their expertise and asked to provide a broad and critical overview of developments in their particular topic area. The development of an international perspective and body of knowledge is a key feature of the book. The Handbook secondly makes a case for bringing back a social science perspective into the study of the field of health care management. It therefore contains a number of contrasting and theoretically orientated chapters (e.g. on institutionalism; critical management studies). This social science based approach is a refreshing alternative to much existing work in this domain and offers a good way into current academic debates in this field. The Handbook thirdly explores a variety of important policy and organizational developments apparent within the current health care field (e.g. new organizational forms; growth of management consulting in health care organizations). It therefore explores and comments on major contemporary trends apparent in the practice field.
Handbook of Healthcare Management by
The Handbook of Healthcare Management is a comprehensive examination of key management practices for global healthcare organizations, arguing that insight into and implementation of these practices is essential for success and sustainability. Expert contributors analyze both existing methods and new developments in healthcare management, through topics including healthcare marketing and customer service, managing human resources and organizational stakeholders, strategic and business planning, high-reliability organizations, and health informatics. The result is a well-rounded collection of strategies to enhance healthcare quality, with emphasis on factors that promote organizational excellence.This Handbook will be invaluable to students in both master and doctoral healthcare management programs, as well as faculty and health services researchers, practitioners in both private and public sectors, policy-makers, and public administrators.
Encyclopedia of Public Health: Principles, People, and Programs [2 Volumes] by
Providing context to today's public health practices and broad coverage of topics, this book demonstrates how cross-disciplinary studies are critical to addressing current health issues. * Presents complex health issues in ways that encourage readers to pursue the many different opportunities in the field of public health * Supplies insights from contributors that include experts on diseases such as hepatitis, substance abuse prevention, the history of medicine, and neurology * Provides a functional foundation for those working to improve the health of communities or individuals * Identifies relevant connections between physical, social, and emotional health and well-being to everyday life * Serves as a gateway to additional research and study by providing suggested further readings with each entry
Oxford Handbook of Public Health Practice by
Fully revised and updated for the third edition, the Oxford Handbook of Public Health Practice remains the first resort for all those working in this broad field. Structured to assist with practical tasks, translating evidence into policy, and providing concise summaries and real-world issuesfrom across the globe, this literally provides a world of experience at your fingertips.Easy-to-use, concise and practical, it is structured into seven parts that focus on the vital areas of assessment, data and information, direct action, policy, health-care systems, personal effectiveness and organisational development. Reflecting recent advances, the most promising developments inpractical public health are presented, as well as maintaining essential summaries of core disciplines. This handbook is designed to assist students and practitioners around the world, for improved management of disasters, epidemics, health behaviour, acute and chronic disease prevention, communityand government action, environmental health, vulnerable populations, and more.
The Handbook of Global Health Policy by
The Handbook of Global Health Policy provides adefinitive source of the key areas in the field. It examines theethical and practical dimensions of new and current policy modelsand their effect on the future development of global health andpolicy. Maps out key debates and policy structures involved in allareas of global health policy Isolates and examines new policy initiatives in global healthpolicy Provides an examination of these initiatives that captures boththe ethical/critical as well as practical/empirical dimensionsinvolved with global health policy, global health policy formationand its implications Confronts the theoretical and practical questions of 'whogets what and why' and 'how, when andwhere?' Captures the views of a wide array of scholars andpractitioners, including from low- and middle-income countries, toensure an inclusive view of current policy debates
