Introduction to Public Health by
This text introduces students to the core concepts and principles of public health: the nature and scope of public health; its history; an introduction to health determinants and epidemiology; evidence-based practice in public health and understanding public health data plus more. New chapter: 'Public health and social policy' Focus on infectious diseases and disease prevention
Donaldsons' Essential Public Health by
Donaldsons' Essential Public Health has been in continuous print for 35 years, evolving through successive editions. This unrivalled record of success for a textbook of public health shows the enduring appeal of its content, style, and accessibility to generations of students and practitioners. For many of today's national and global public health leaders, the book was their guide as they began their careers, their benchmark as they passed their examinations and professional accreditation, and remains their companion as a source of reference and refreshed knowledge for teaching and practice. The book brings together, in one volume, the main health problems experienced by populations and by the key groups within them, the strategies for promoting health and preventing disease, the principles and applications of epidemiology, the main themes of health policy, and a description of health service provision. This fourth edition marks the biggest change to the book in 20 years. For the first time it sets each key subject area in a global health context, whilst retaining its traditional strength in covering population health for the United Kingdom. New and revised chapters for this edition include: Health in a changing world Communicable diseases Non-communicable diseases Social determinants of health Quality and safety of healthcare Mental health Disability Health in later life Environment and health History of public health The content is wide-ranging and written in an accessible and engaging style. It covers topics as diverse as: the story of the 2014 Ebola virus outbreak in West Africa; the elements of tobacco control policy; the health impact of climate change; the global health organisational architecture; the concept of health; the new paradigm of public mental health; the biological pathways that link to the health effects of social deprivation; the ideal of universal health coverage; the essentials of immunisation; the basis of healthy ageing; the historical events that led to the germ theory of disease and the Victorian sanitary revolution. This new edition is essential reading for all undergraduate and postgraduate students of public health, medicine, nursing, health policy, social science, and public sector management. Those embarking on a career in public health will find it of great value throughout their professional life. The book is also an extremely useful resource for established practitioners in primary care, doctors, senior nurses, health system managers, healthcare policy makers, civil servants in ministries of health, and members of boards of health organisations.
Key Themes in Public Health by
'The growth of public health courses aimed at undergraduates has created a new need for textbooks that are appropriate and stimulating. Miranda Thurston has succeeded in producing something which strikes the right note. It is wide ranging in scope without being superficial and is accessible to the young learner. It is a sort of 'Wiki'. Just what the aspiring public health practitioner ordered.'- Professor John R. Ashton C.B.E., President of the UK Faculty of Public Health. Key Themes in Public Healthcomprises a series of introductory essays exploring key themes and concepts in public health. Ranging from political and economic concern with improving population health and reducing health inequalities, to debates about how to protect populations from new health threats, as well as a concern with individual responsibility for lifestyles and behaviour, the themes discussed include: determinants of health, globalisation, evidence, climate change, ethics, development, poverty, risk and population. Presenting provocative ways of thinking about key ideas in a concise fashion, each essay provides a basic grounding in the relevant theme as well as a departure point for further study by: Defining the theme in an accessible way Placing each idea in its particular social, political, economic and historical context Illustrating its application and significance for public health Identifying and exploring issues surrounding each of the themes This text provides an accessible overview for students new to public health who want to get to grips with the full range and complexity of this diverse and multidisciplinary field.
The Australian Health Care System by
The Australian Health Care System 5th edition is a comprehensive and forward-looking overview of the structure and operation of health systems and services in Australia. It analyses how the inputs of Australian health services, such as finances, the health workforce, and the roles of state and federal government influence the outcomes, which range from consumer confidence to policy changes.Written with an emphasis on policy and economic issues, the book provides an extensive overview of the interactions between consumers and providers of health care in Australia. It includes in depth examination of major developments including the implementation of the National Disability Insurance Scheme; the establishment of Local Health Networks, Medicare Locals and Primary Health Networks; the Abbott Government's proposed health system changes; and the redesign of the aged care system. New to this editionAll chapters and statistics and data have been updated to reflect changes to the Australian Health Care System post-election.Updated and NEW case studies that explore topical issues and highlight real-world policy and debates. Expanded coverage on important issues including: Indigenous health; the link between bulk-billing, Medicare rebates and co-payments; the rise and fall of national activity-based funding; international health system comparisons; and the changing nature of Australian federalism New pedagogical features to aid learning:Reflect and Discuss questions challenge readers to consider approaches to decision-making in the health care system.Margin quotes pulling out key quotes from the text allowing students to quickly identify the most important bits of information within each chapter.Talking/Active headings for all graphs so that students know what key information to take from the graph/figure, which will assist them to develop data interpretation skills.
Health Care and Public Policy: an Australian analysis by
This highly successful book, now in its fourth edition, is a standard text, providing a comprehensive analysis of health care and public policy in Australia. It explains what governments have done and what they can do about shaping Australia's health care system, and considers the political, economic, social and epidemiological contexts within which health policies develop, and the forces that promote and oppose change. Major issues include health insurance, and the organisation and provision of hospital and medical services. Key selling points: An up-to-date account of Australian health policies and their historical background Reviews salient aspects of the policies of Coalition and Labor governments Emphasises a multi-disciplinary approach to understanding how policies are developed and implemented Covers health insurance, hospitals and other health services, medical practice and technology, the health workforce and public health Includes discussion questions, further readings, useful illustrations and websites New to this edition: Data and illustrations have been up-dated and expanded Recent policies, including the recommendations of the National Health and Hospitals Reform Commission, have been reviewed and evaluated Much new material has been included about health insurance, medical practice and technology, the health workforce and the health status of disadvantaged groups, including the indigenous population This book makes the case for significant health policy reform Addition of discussion questions and further readings
Understanding the Australian Health Care System by
In this third edition of Understanding the Australian Health Care System, authors Eileen Willis, Louise Reynolds and Helen Keleher introduce the reader to the key issues and theoretical concepts that provide insight into the way the Australian health care system is organised and how policy change impacts the health care profession. The third edition has been comprehensively revised, but continues to focus on the role and function of the health professional working within the Australian health care system. Fifteen health disciplines are considered in this new edition, with an emphasis on interprofessional practice and the social determinants of health. New chapters on workers' compensation systems, oral health and dental services, clinical exercise physiology and pharmacy Significantly expanded glossary Up-to-date information on the most recent Australian health reforms Case studies on all of the major health care professions in Australia, including nurses, midwives, speech pathologists, audiologists, health managers, paramedics, social workers, dietitians, doctors (GPs), occupational therapists, physiotherapists, dentists and oral therapists, exercise physiologists, pharmacists and homeopaths A suite of video interviews with multidiscipline practitioners and thought leaders exploring aspects of Australian health care, theories and challenges now and for the future.
Basic Concepts in Statistics and Epidemiology by
This book contains a Foreword by Allyson Pollock, Professor and Head, Centre for International Public Health Policy, University of Edinburgh. Healthcare students, practitioners and researchers need a sound basis for making valid statistical inferences from health data. To make the best use of statistical software, it is necessary to understand how probabilistic inference works. This book explains that, along with the various ways statistical data can be described and presented. It is designed to develop insight rather than simply the mechanical skills found in other textbooks. This book is specifically designed to underpin the concepts of statistics and epidemiology. It is practical and easy to use and is ideal for people who can feel uncomfortable with mathematics. 'Excellent. A great primer for all students and research workers engaged in learning how to use statistical ideas in public health. It sets out the core concepts and explains them clearly, using worked examples as illustration. If followed carefully, the engaged reader should be able to use the standard statistical software packages intelligently and sensitively. It will stimulate the public health student, in whatever context, and new researchers, to approach the enterprise with enhanced confidence in interpreting and coherently explaining their findings.' - Allyson Pollock, in the Foreword.
Basic Epidemiology by
The second edition of this popular textbook provides an introduction to the principles and methods of epidemiology. Since publication of the first edition in 1993, Basic epidemiology has become a standard reference for education, training and research in the field of public health and has been translated into more than 25 languages. It is used widely, for training public health and environment professionals, undergraduate medical students, and students in other health professions. The second edition provides updated examples of how and why the basics of epidemiology are essential to anyone who is required to understand and apply the principles of disease causation and prevention. The book has a particular emphasis on modifiable environmental factors and encourages the application of epidemiology to the prevention of disease and the promotion of health, including environmental and occupational health. It prepares members of the health-related professions to respond to the need for health services to address all aspects of the health of populations, and to ensure that health resources are used to the best possible effect. It shows how good clinical practice is informed by clinical epidemiology; and its lively, concise style is designed to stimulate a continuing interest in the subject. This edition includes comprehensive chapters on the nature and uses of epidemiology; the epidemiological approach to defining and measuring the occurrence of health-related states in populations; the strengths and limitations of epidemiological study designs, causation, the contribution of epidemiology to the prevention of disease, the promotion of health and the development of health policy, and the role of epidemiology in evaluating the effectiveness and efficiency of health care. It enables students to describe the common causes of death, disease and disability in her or his community; outline appropriate study designs to answer specific questions concerning disease causation, natural history, prognosis, prevention, and the evaluation of therapy and other interventions to control disease, and critically evaluate the literature.
Epidemiology by
Epidemiology, by award-winning educator and epidemiologist Leon Gordis, is a best-selling introduction to this complex science. Dr. Gordis leverages his vast experience teaching this subject in the classroom to introduce the basic principles and concepts of epidemiology in a clear, uniquely memorable way. He guides you from an explanation of the epidemiologic approach to disease and intervention, through the use of epidemiologic principles to identify the causes of disease, to a discussion of how epidemiology should be used to improve evaluation and public policy. It's your best choice for an accessible yet rich understanding of epidemiology! "Overall, I think it is an excellent book for medical students and occupational medicine trainees and a useful revision and reference text for consultant occupational physicians one of the most clearly laid out and readable general epidemiology texts that I have ever seen". Reviewed by: Julia Smedley on behalf of Occupational Medicine Date: July 2015 Gain a solid foundation of basic epidemiologic principles as well as practical applications in public health and clinical practice. Visualize concepts vividly through abundant full-color figures, graphs, and charts. Check your understanding of essential information with 320 multiple-choice epidemiology self-assessment questions (120 inside the book plus 200 more online). Access the complete contents online at Student Consult, including over 200 additional multiple-choice epidemiology self-assessment questions not found in the book, with answers to all questions as well as full rationales explaining why every answer is correct or incorrect. Master the latest nuances in epidemiology thanks to a wealth of new and updated illustrations, examples, and epidemiologic data.
Essential epidemiology : an introduction for students and health professionals by
Taking a practical approach and supported by global examples from all areas of health, the new edition of this popular and highly commended textbook has been updated to reflect current epidemiological thinking and teaching. Based on feedback from teachers and students, material has been reordered to better suit courses and reflect the underlying logic and purpose of epidemiology. * Provides students with a rounded picture of the field by emphasizing the commonalities across different areas of epidemiology, including clinical epidemiology, and highlighting the key role of epidemiology in public health * Avoids complex mathematics by restricting this to optional material, thereby keeping the book accessible to students from non-quantitative backgrounds * Integrated and supplementary questions help students to reinforce concepts * A wealth of online material is available at www.cambridge.org/essential_epidemiology, including additional questions, advanced material for key concepts, recommendations for further reading, links to useful websites and slides for teaching, supporting both students and teachers.
Exercises in epidemiology : applying principles and methods by
Traditional epidemiology coursework is centered on the design and analysis of disease control. This important knowledge forms the backbone of what epidemiology is, but it can sometimes become a rote exercise in calculations rather than what it can and should be - training in thinking like anepidemiologist. Exercises in Epidemiology enriches the core epidemiology coursework with a set of living, breathing problems from the real-world epidemiology literature. Comprising nearly 200 questions and answers drawn from published studies, this one-of-a-kind text allows students in epidemiology and publichealth to cultivate their skills in a real-world context while familiarizing themselves with core epidemiologic principles: rates and proportions, causal inference, and confounding. Answers to every question, along with each step in the reasoning that supports them, are included so that students cancompare notes with a senior epidemiologist. With its practical, analytically sophisticated approach to this vital subject matter, Exercises in Epidemiology prepares readers to make the transition from student to professional like no other text.
Public Health and Epidemiology at a Glance by
First Prize in Public health in the 2017 BMA Medical Book Awards Public Health and Epidemiology at a Glance is a highly visual introduction to the key concepts and major themes of population health. With comprehensive coverage of all the core topics covered at medical school, it helps students understand the determinants of health and their study, from personal lifestyle choices and behaviour, to environmental, social and economic factors. This fully updated new edition features: * More coverage of audit and quality improvement techniques * Brand new sections on maternal and child health, and health of older people * New chapters on social determinants of health and guideline development * Expanded self-assessment material This accessible guide is an invaluable resource for medical and healthcare students, junior doctors, and those preparing for a career in epidemiology and public health
Promoting Health: the primary health care approach by
Promoting Health examines the social, environmental, cultural and psychological determinants of health and illness and the role that primary health care has in addressing health inequalities and the broad range of skills that health practitioners need to address this issue. In this new edition, the authors have uniquely utilised two fundamental tenets central to all health promotion practice and developed key features from both the World Health Organization's Ottawa Charter for Health Promotion and the International Union for Health Promotion and Education's Core Competencies for Health Promotion. Drawing on internationally recognised health promotion frameworks, this text provides an essential toolkit for health promotion theory and practice for students across a broad range of disciplines. Putting the Ottawa Charter into Practice - illustrates the relevance and application of the Ottawa Charter for Health Promotion to practice IUHPE Core Competencies for Health Promotion - outlines the relevant core competencies and how to achieve these skills EVOLVE RESOURCES: This new edition features student and instructor evolve resources to enhance your teaching and your student's learning. Student and Instructor Resources Reflective Questions at the end of each chapter Insights - extra questions with answers to encourage self-directed learning Additional Student Activities - further learning and study aids for each chapter Instructor only Resources Facilitator & Lecturer Guide provides direction for learning activities to incorporate into your teaching Visit http://evolve.elsevier.com/AU/Talbot/promotinghealth/ to find out more Identification of IUHPE Core Competencies For Health Promotion in all chapters 'More to explore' sections at the end of each chapter featuring additional readings and web links Updates to current policy and practice initiatives References embedded in each chapter to encourage readers to explore topics in more detail Includes eBook with print purchase on evolve
Planning, Implementing, and Evaluating Health Promotion Programs by
For undergraduate courses in Health Education, Promotion, and Planning. Provide Students with the Tools They Need to Be Successful in Health Promotion Planning, Implementing, and Evaluating Health Promotion Programs: A Primer provides students with a comprehensive overview of the practical and theoretical skills needed to plan, implement, and evaluate health promotion programs in a variety of settings. The Seventh Edition features updated information throughout, including the new Responsibilities and Competencies generated from the Health Education Specialist Practice Analysis-2015 (HESPA-2015), and reflects the latest trends in the field.
Health Promotion Programs: From Theory to Practice by
Comprehensive coverage, real-world issues, and a focus on the practical aspects of health promotion Health Promotion Programs combines theory and practice to deliver a comprehensive introduction to the planning, implementation, and evaluation of health promotion programs. Presenting an overview of best practices from schools, health care organizations, workplaces, and communities, this book offers clear, practical guidance with an emphasis on hands-on learning. This new second edition has been updated to include discussion on today's important issues, including health equity, the Affordable Care Act, big data, E-health, funding, legislation, financing, and more. New coverage includes programs for underserved priority populations at a geographically-diverse variety of sites, and new practice and discussion questions promote engagement on highly-relevant topics. Public health is a critical aspect of any society, and health promotion programs play an important role. This book provides clear instruction, practical guidance, and multiple avenues to deeper investigation. Plan health promotion programs from the basis of health theory Gain in-depth insight on new issues and challenges in the field Apply what you're learning with hands-on activities Access digital learning aids and helpful templates, models, and suggestions Designed to promote engagement and emphasize action, this book stresses the importance of doing as a vital part of learning--yet each step of the process is directly traceable to health theory, which provides a firm foundation to support a robust health promotion program. Health Promotion Programs is the essential introductory text for practical, real-world understanding.
Foundations for Health Promotion by
Hugely popular with students, Health Promotion is now in its third edition, and has been thoroughly updated to provide the theoretical framework that is vital for health promotion. It offers a foundation for practice that encourages students and practitioners to identify opportunities for health promotion in their area of work. -Fully updated to reflect the many changes in health promotion theory, practice and policy -Illustrative examples, activities and discussion points encourage interaction and reflection -Unique, user-friendly approach makes learning easyFully revised and updated information, guidelines, and reference provide the latest information for clinical practice.New illustrations clarify important health promotion concepts.
Health Promotion: planning & strategies by
The definitive text on health promotion, this book covers both the knowledge-base and the process of planning, implementing and evaluating successful health promotion programmes.This new edition features a companion website developed with an international team of contributors to support teaching and enhance learning. The website provides: #65533; 14 new and original international case studies of health promotion in action #65533; Example discussion questions to encourage critical reflection in seminars and assessments #65533; Free SAGE journal articles which support evidence-based learning. Recent developments are covered throughout this third edition on topics such as asset-based approaches, mental health promotion and the use of social media in promoting health.
Principles and Foundations of Health Promotion and Education by
For courses in Health Education/Promotion/Planning (Health & Kinesiology) A solid foundation in the issues of health education and promotion, and a solid connection to the research, resources, and people involved Principles and Foundations of Health Promotion and Education has what it takes to connect to research, resources, and practitioners in health education/promotion, while gaining a solid foundation in the history, philosophy, theory, and ethics of health education. Considered to be the best overall introduction to the growing profession of health education/promotion, it covers the roles and responsibilities of health education specialists, the settings where they are employed, and the ethics of the profession. In addition to presenting the history of health, health care, and health education/promotion, the book gives you a glimpse at what the future may hold for health education specialists. Extensively updated to include the most current thinking and practices in the field, this new Sixth Edition includes discussions of recent health reform developments, the responsibilities and competencies of health education specialists, non-traditional health jobs, what's in store for the future of health education jobs, the use of the social media in health promotion, and much more. The best overall introduction to the growing profession of health education/promotion: Get a solid foundation in the background, history, philosophy, theory, and ethics of health promotion and education. A look at the profession from the people doing the job: Coverage of the roles and responsibilities of health educators, plus personal accounts of health education professionals tell the story. NEW! Extensive updates including the most current thinking and practices in the field. Outstanding pedagogical aids: Receive invaluable help for ensuring comprehension, including review questions, case studies, critical thinking questions, activities, and weblinks, in each chapter. Package consists of: 0321927141 / 9780321927149 Principles and Foundations of Health Promotion and Education, 6/e
The following Subject Headings will help you find more books in certain topic areas:
