Health Information: Management of a Strategic Resource by Mervat Abdelhak; Mary Alice HankenFollowing the AHIMA standards for education for both two-year HIT programs and four-year HIA programs, Health Information: Management of a Strategic Resource, 4th Edition describes the deployment of information technology and your role as a HIM professional in the development of the electronic health record. It provides clear coverage of health information infrastructure and systems along with health care informatics including technology, applications, and security. Practical applications provide hands-on experience in abstracting and manipulating health information data. From well-known HIM experts Mervat Abdelhak, Sara S. Grostick, and Mary Alice Hanken, this book includes examples from diverse areas of health care delivery such as long-term care, public health, home health care, and ambulatory care. An e-book version makes it even easier to learn to manage and use health data electronically. Did You Know? boxes highlight interesting facts to enhance learning. Self-assessment quizzes test your learning and retention, with answers available on the companion Evolve website. Learning features include a chapter outline, key words, common abbreviations, and learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter, and references at the end. Diverse examples of healthcare deliveries, like long-term care, public health, home health care, and ambulatory care, prepare you to work in a variety of settings. Interactive student exercises on Evolve, including a study guide and flash cards that can be used on smart phones. Coverage of health information infrastructure and systems provides the foundational knowledge needed to effectively manage healthcare information. Applied approach to Health Information Management and Health Informatics gives you problem-solving opportunities to develop proficiency. EXPANDED! Data analytics, meaningful use, and public health informatics content prepares HIM professionals for new job responsibilities in order to meet today's, and tomorrow's, workforce needs. EXPANDED! Emphasis on the electronic health care record educates you in methods of data collection, governance, and use. NEW! Chapter on data access and retention provides examples of the paper health record and its transition to the EHR. NEW! Focus on future trends, including specialty certifications offered by the AHIMA, the American Medical Informatics Associations (AMIA), and the Health Information Management Systems Society (HIMSS), explains the vast number of job opportunities and expanded career path awaiting you.
Call Number: 610.285 41 /5 & ebook
Publication Date: 2015
Guide to Health Informatics, Third Edition by Enrico Coiera; Farah Magrabi; Vitali SintchenkoThis essential text provides a readable yet sophisticated overview of the basic concepts of information technologies as they apply in healthcare. Spanning areas as diverse as the electronic medical record, searching, protocols, and communications as well as the Internet, Enrico Coiera has succeeded in making this vast and complex area accessible and understandable to the non-specialist, while providing everything that students of medical informatics need to know to accompany their course. Fully revised, the third edition of Guide to Health Informatics remains essential reading for all health science undergraduates, clinical health professionals, and health service managers who need to appreciate and understand the role of informatics and its associated technologies for optimal practice and service delivery.
Call Number: 362.10285 19 /3 & eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Global Health Informatics: Principles of eHealth and mHealth to Improve Quality of Care by Celi, L., Fraser, H., Nikore, V., Osorio, J., & Paik, K.Key concepts, frameworks, examples, and lessons learned in designing and implementing health information and communication technology systems in the developing world. The widespread usage of mobile phones that bring computational power and data to our fingertips has enabled new models for tracking and battling disease. The developing world in particular has become a proving ground for innovation in eHealth (using communication and technology tools in healthcare) and mHealth (using the affordances of mobile technology in eHealth systems). In this book, experts from a variety of disciplines--among them computer science, medicine, public health, policy, and business--discuss key concepts, frameworks, examples, and lessons learned in designing and implementing digital health systems in the developing world. The contributors consider such topics as global health disparities and quality of care; aligning eHealth strategies with government policy; the role of monitoring and evaluation in improving care; databases, patient registries, and electronic health records; the lifecycle of a digital health system project; software project management; privacy and security; and evaluating health technology systems.
Ethical Health Informatics: Challenges and Opportunities by Laurinda Beebe Harman; Frances CorneliusEthical Informatics is an invaluable resource for HIM, the healthcare team (nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy et al.), information technology (IT) students (associate, baccalaureate and graduate) and practitioners. Each chapter includes ethical "real life" scenarios, a discussion of the issues, and a decision-making matrix for each scenario that facilitates an understanding of ethical ways to respond to the problem and actions that would not be considered ethical.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Introduction to Health Care Management by Sharon B. Buchbinder; Nancy H. ShanksIntroduction to Health Care Management is a concise, reader-friendly, introductory healthcare management book that covers a wide variety of healthcare settings, from hospitals to nursing homes and clinics. Filled with examples to engage the reader's imagination, the important issues in healthcare management, such as ethics, cost management, strategic planning and marketing, information technology, and human resources, are all thoroughly covered. Guidelines and rubrics along with numerous case studies make this text both student-friendly and teacher friendly. It is the perfect resource for students of healthcare management, nursing, allied health, business administration, pharmacy, occupational therapy, public administration, and public health. "Drs. Buchbinder and Shanks have done a masterful job in selecting topics and authors and putting them together in a meaningful and coherent manner. Each chapter of the book is designed to give the student the core content that must become part of the repertoire of each and every healthcare manager, whether entry level or senior executive. Each of the chapters and accompanying cases serve to bring to life what it means to be a truly competent healthcare manager." --Leonard H. Friedman, PhD, MPA, MPH, Professor, Dept of Health Services Management and Leadership, and Director of the Master of Health Services Administration program, George Washington University, School of Public Health and Health Services "I am very happy with Health Care Management and will be adopting it for a new course that I will be teaching. This is probably the best management text I have seen so far. I was thrilled to receive it." --Sally K. Fauchald, PhD, RN, Assistant Professor of Nursing, The College of St. Scholastica "A solid text that covers a wide range of management topics." --Michael H. Sullivan, Director HCA Program, Methodist University, Fayetteville, North Carolina
Call Number: 362.1068 218 /2
Publication Date: 2012
The following Subject Headings will help you find more books in certain topic areas: