Health Care Policy, Performance and Finance by
Policy, performance and finance are the issues currently headlining the healthcare agenda and are likely to remain so for the foreseeable future. Drawing on experiences from around the world, this essential collection examines the key strategic issues facing health services and analyzes the policy implications of leading new research. The volume brings together 16 newly-commissioned studies from leading experts in health studies, in particular: policy, economics, health care management and health services research. International in perspective and scope, it draws on empirical evidence from East and West Europe, Canada, New Zealand and the Middle East. Themes covered include: health policy and technology assessment, policy and performance, international policy innovation, and organizational innovation. This ground-breaking collection will prove a valuable guide for policy makers, managers, practitioners, researchers and students.
International Best Practices in Health Care Management by
Significant variations in the quality of health care management practices are present both within and across local, regional, and international health systems. With increasing globalization of health services, both quality and efficiency of care can benefit from shared learning on a regional and global basis. Although systems and quality of health care delivery differ across the world, empirical research has found that people involved in health care, whether in the role of patients or health care providers, have similar wants and needs. Identifying and documenting best practices within and across countries is more important than ever. Best practices in health care management organize clinical and administrative processes in ways that achieve leapfrog results as compared to normal standards in industry, potentially earning brand status. Advances in Health Care Management Volume 17 helps to shape emerging thinking about best practices in international health care management. The volume is divided into two sections: a set of commentaries from US and European scholars, and research articles that compare two or more health systems and focus on specific topics in health care delivery.
Introduction to Health Care Management by
Introduction to Health Care Management is a concise, reader-friendly, introductory healthcare management book that covers a wide variety of healthcare settings, from hospitals to nursing homes and clinics. Filled with examples to engage the reader's imagination, the important issues in healthcare management, such as ethics, cost management, strategic planning and marketing, information technology, and human resources, are all thoroughly covered. Guidelines and rubrics along with numerous case studies make this text both student-friendly and teacher friendly. It is the perfect resource for students of healthcare management, nursing, allied health, business administration, pharmacy, occupational therapy, public administration, and public health. "Drs. Buchbinder and Shanks have done a masterful job in selecting topics and authors and putting them together in a meaningful and coherent manner. Each chapter of the book is designed to give the student the core content that must become part of the repertoire of each and every healthcare manager, whether entry level or senior executive. Each of the chapters and accompanying cases serve to bring to life what it means to be a truly competent healthcare manager." --Leonard H. Friedman, PhD, MPA, MPH, Professor, Dept of Health Services Management and Leadership, and Director of the Master of Health Services Administration program, George Washington University, School of Public Health and Health Services "I am very happy with Health Care Management and will be adopting it for a new course that I will be teaching. This is probably the best management text I have seen so far. I was thrilled to receive it." --Sally K. Fauchald, PhD, RN, Assistant Professor of Nursing, The College of St. Scholastica "A solid text that covers a wide range of management topics." --Michael H. Sullivan, Director HCA Program, Methodist University, Fayetteville, North Carolina
Leadership in Health Care by
The Fourth Edition of Leadership in Healthcare responds to the ever-growing importance of leadership to a healthcare professional′s role today and includes updated content to reflect the new guidelines set out in the 2018 Nursing and Midwifery Council Standards. The need for leadership in an everyday context is highlighted throughout the book with reference to both theory and practice. There are case studies, practical examples, reflective questions and even anecdotes from the authors′ own experience, showing students the potential and application of leadership. There are also activities that enable students to engage with every facet of leadership, as it connects to topics such as team-work, communication, problem-solving, emotional intelligence, critical self-reflection and quality of care. New to the Fourth Edition: A new chapter on Ethical, Legal and Professional Aspects in Leadership Content updates in-line with the 2018 NMC Standards, the new NMC code, and Revalidation. The book is supported by online resources for both students and lecturers, including videos, journal articles, web links, and multiple-choice questions.
Managing health services: Concepts and practice by
Managing Health Service: Concepts and Practice 2nd edition E-book provides a valuable practice resource for the health service management students and managers. While new concepts and strategies of multidisciplinary health service management and leadership have been added, the focus remains on providing comprehensive coverage of management topics and issues faced by health services managers.The text is arranged according to six major themes - health service managers and the changing organisational context; health service management practice - working with people; health service management practice - working with information; health service organisations; improving organisational performance; and case studies in health service management.Written by over 40 health service management academics in cooperation with the Society for Health Administration Programs in Education and the Australian College of Health Service Executives, Managing Health Services 2nd edition continues to make a valuable contribution to health service management theory and practice.
Visionary Leadership in Health: Delivering Superior Value by
This book presents a visionary leadership framework and its application toward delivering superior value in health. It provides a road map on how to create shared vision, assess vision-reality gap, identify paths to pursue, inspire, and empower stakeholders, and utilize results-based management to deliver superior value. By linking leadership and management in health rather than juxtaposing them, the book argues that the task of every health professional requires a mix of leadership and management, although their relative emphasis may vary as per the context and content of the health program. The book will equip health professionals to not only improve personal performance but also enhance the value that their health programs will generate for their beneficiaries.
The following Subject Headings will help you find more books in certain topic areas:
