Books

Provides analysis of the latest research on generational differences, Internet literacy, cyberbullying, sexting, Internet and cell phone dependency, and online risky behavior"-

Endorsed by the Australian Psychological Society, this textbook covers contemporary local and international data. Emerging and evolving topics that receive increased coverage in the new edition include conservation psychology, social media and the psychological impacts of natural disasters. A key strength of the text continues to be its coverage of cross-cultural and indigenous psychology.

The Study Guide to DSM-5® is an indispensable instructional supplement to DSM-5® to help teachers and students of psychiatry, psychology, social work, medical schools, and residency programs understand and apply diagnostic criteria and key clinical concepts through a variety of learning tools.

Psychology is full of agreements and disagreements! Here Richard Gross pairs up 30 studies to show you how the classic theories in Psychology are constantly revisited by modern researchers.

A psychology text that uses the SQ4R (Survey, Question, Read, Recite, Reflect, and Review) active learning system to help you study efficiently. Major concepts, as well as how psychology relates to the challenges of everyday life are covered.

Provides a fully integrated learning system that gives students an even greater opportunity to achieve success.

covers every aspect of psychology and represents the most current knowledge in the field. This ten-year revision now covers discoveries based in neuroscience, clinical psychology's new interest in evidence-based practice and mindfulness, and new findings in social, developmental, and forensic psychology.

This book sets out a proposal for applying psychological and educational psychology concepts to improve work with children and young people. It also suggests how some of the criticism aimed at pedagogical-psychology practice can be answered.

The first textbook of its kind, Critical Educational Psychology is a forward-thinking approach to educational psychology that uses critical perspectives to challenge current ways of thinking and improve practice.

This text helps students think critically about the research basis for best practices. Additionally, Santrock's hallmark Learning System organizes the content into manageable chunks to support retention and mastery and making it much more likely that students will have an engaging and successful course experience. (less)

Includes a broader picture of health psychology by presenting cross-cultural data. Furthermore, international examples are also included to further explore the psychologist’s perspective of health issues around the world and highlight what works in the field.

An international team of contributors are representing the best and brightest in the discipline review the latest research, discuss how the findings are being used in practice, explore new ideas for application, and discuss focus points for future research.

The flaws in today's healthcare systems and practices are well-documented such as errors in medical decision-making and interpersonal relations. Further, the effects of emotions, personality, and motivation on healing are not well incorporated into traditional medical care.

This book emphasizes evidence-based care and practical strategies for hands-on work with patients while illuminating the unique aspects of the practice of psychology within medical settings.

An Introduction provides a basic understanding of what is known about the means by which neurons communicate and about the nervous system which interprets, integrates, and transmits signals into meaningful and appropriate behaviors.

This title provides an introduction to the major topics within the subject of physiological psychology. The aim was to cover these major subject areas and at the same time to provide indications of advances made in the previous two decades.

This book presents the fundamentals of the study of the biology of behaviour and makes the topics personally and socially relevant to the student. A key feature is its combination of biopsychological science and personal, reader-oriented discourse.

Volume 1 begins with a historical survey of industrial/occupational psychology and an overview of research strategies in the field, followed by chapters on the design of organizations, human resource systems, and work experiences

The 19 chapters in volume 2 address core issues related to organizational members, such as their recruitment, evaluation, and development.

This part is about managing the organization, including its growth and downsizing. Topics discussed in this volume include the relationship between individuals and the organization strategies for fostering a positive work environment; management of organizational problems and politics; change management; and social and global issues impacting organizations.

The three-volume SAGE Handbook of Industrial, Work and Organizational Psychology, second edition, examines key themes and topics from within this dynamic and expanding field of psychology.

The author examines cross-cultural relationships, global issues that impact businesses today, and the relevance of OB to future careers. For undergraduate and applied graduate courses in OB.

Tis book publishes theoretical analyses, reviews, and theory-based empirical chapters on group phenomena. The series adopts a broad conception of "group processes." This includes work on groups ranging from the very small to the very large, and on classic and contemporary topics such as status, power, trust, justice, social influence, identity, decision-making, intergroup relations, and social networks.

This book captures the scope and detail of contemporary social psychology as an international scientific enterprise and at the same time, deals with the subject in a way that is relevant to university teaching and social psychology research in Australia and New Zealand

Check reviewsThis handbook provides a broad overview of the field of social psychology and up-to-date coverage of current social psychological topics. It reflects the recent and substantial development of the field, both with regard to theory and empirical research.

Coverage includes all the major empirical, theoretical and methodological developments in its subfield of social psychology. Beginning social psychologists, as well as those who may have emerged from their formal training with a less-than-solid grounding in the research literature, will find this volume invaluable. It is the book all social psychologists wished they had access to when they were getting grounded in the research literature

This book provides a comprehensive and readable account of social identity theory as well as setting it in the context of other approaches and perspectives in the psychology of intergroup relations