Geology: Basics for engineers, 2nd edition by Aurèle ParriauxGeology - Basics for Engineers (second edition) presents the physical and chemical characteristics of the Earth, the nature and the properties of rocks and unconsolidated deposits/sediments, the action of water, how the Earth is transformed by various phenomena at different scales of time and space. The book shows the engineer how to take geological conditions into account in their projects, and how to exploit a wide range of natural resources in an intelligent way, reduce geological hazards, and manage subsurface pollution. This second edition has been fully revised and updated. Through a problem-based learning approach, this instructional text imparts knowledge and practical experience to engineering students (undergraduate and graduate level), as well as to experts in the fields of civil engineering, environmental engineering, earth sciences, architecture, land and urban planning. Free digital supplements to the book, found on the book page, contain solutions to the problems and animations that show additional facets of the living Earth. The original French edition of the book (2007) won the prestigious Roberval Prize, an international contest organized by the University of Technology of Compiegne in collaboration with the General Council of Oise, France. Geology, Basics for Engineers was selected out of a total of 110 candidates. The jury praised the book as a "very well conceived teaching textbook" and underscored its highly didactic nature, as well as the excellent quality of its illustrations. Features: Offers an exhaustive outline of the methods and techniques used in geology, with a study of the nature and properties of the principal soils and rocks Helps students understand how geological conditions should be taken into account by the engineer by taking a problem-solving approach Contains extensive figures and examples, solutions to probems, and illustrative animations Presents a highly didactic and synthetic work intended for engineering students as well as experts in civil engineering, environmental engineering, the earth sciences, and architecture
Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Construction Tolerances by David Kent BallastThe comprehensive guide to construction tolerances, newly revised and updated How much may a steel frame be out of plumb? What are the expected variations of a precast concrete panel? What is required to successfully detail finish materials on masonry? Updating and expanding on its popular first edition, the Handbook of Construction Tolerances, Second Edition remains the only comprehensive reference to the thousands of industry standard tolerances for the manufacture, fabrication, and installation of construction materials and components-- including all-important accumulated dimensional variations. Covering new materials and techniques developed since the book was first published, the Second Edition of this easy-to-use reference features: * More than 100 drawings illustrating the tolerance concepts * New sections on measuring compliance with tolerance standards; right-of-way construction; autoclaved aerated concrete; tilt-up concrete panels; interior stone wall cladding; structural insulated panels; decorative architectural glass; laminated architectural flat glass and bent glass * New guidelines on how to incorporate tolerance requirements in drawings and specifications * New information on how to apply tolerance information during contract administration With the Handbook, architects, engineers, contractors, interior designers, lawyers, and others involved in the construction industry will be armed with the information they need to design and detail more accurately, write better specifications, establish normal practice and standards of care, supervise construction, settle worksite disputes, and save time and money at every stage of building.
Call Number: 624.17 152 /2
Publication Date: 2007
An Introduction to Soil Mechanics by Verruijt, ArnoldThis textbook offers a superb introduction to theoretical and practical soil mechanics. Special attention is given to the risks of failure in civil engineering, and themes covered include stresses in soils, groundwater flow, consolidation, testing of soils, and stability of slopes. Readers will learn the major principles and methods of soil mechanics, and the most important methods of determining soil parameters both in the laboratory and in situ. The basic principles of applied mechanics, that are frequently used, are offered in the appendices.
Publication Date: 2018
Pile Design and Construction Rules of Thumb by Ruwan Abey RajapaksePile Design and Construction Rules of Thumb presents Geotechnical and Civil Engineers a comprehensive coverage of Pile Foundation related theory and practice. Based on the author's experience as a PE, the book brings concise theory and extensive calculations, examples and case studies that can be easily applied by professional in their day-to-day challenges. In its first part, the book covers the fundamentals of Pile Selection: Soil investigation, condition, pile types and how to choose them. In the second part it addresses the Design of Pile Foundations, including different types of soils, pile groups, pile settlement and pile design in rock. Next, the most extensive part covers Design Strategies and contains chapters on loading analysis, load distribution, negative skin friction, design for expansive soils, wave equation analysis, batter piles, seismic analysis and the use of softwares for design aid. The fourth part covers Construction Methods including hammers, Inspection, cost estimation, load tests, offshore piling, beams and caps. In this new and updated edition the author has incorporated new pile designs such as helical, composite, wind turbine monopiles, and spiral coil energy piles. All calculations have been updated to most current materials characteristics and designs available in the market. Also, new chapters on negative skin friction, pile driving, and pile load testing have been added. Practicing Geotechnical, and Civil Engineers will find in this book an excellent handbook for frequent consult, benefiting from the clear and direct calculations, examples, and cases. Civil Engineering preparing for PE exams may benefit from the extensive coverage of the subject. Convenient for day-to-day consults; Numerous design examples for sandy soils, clay soils, and seismic loadings; Now including helical, composite, wind turbine monopiles, and spiral coil energy piles; Methodologies and case studies for different pile types; Serves as PE exam preparation material.
Structural engineer's pocket book : Eurocodes by Fiona CobbNow overhauled and revised in line with the Eurocodes, it forms a comprehensive pocket reference guide for professional and student structural engineers, especially those taking the IStructE Part 3 exam. With stripped-down basic material--tables, data, facts, formulae, and rules of thumb--it is directly usable for scheme design by structural engineers in the office, in transit, or on site.
Publication Date: 2015
Some useful call numbers for print books on civil engineering in our collection are: