A Concise Handbook of Mathematics, Physics, and Engineering Sciences by Andrei D. PolyaninA Concise Handbook of Mathematics, Physics, and Engineering Sciences takes a practical approach to the basic notions, formulas, equations, problems, theorems, methods, and laws that most frequently occur in scientific and engineering applications and university education. The authors pay special attention to issues that many engineers and students find difficult to understand. The first part of the book contains chapters on arithmetic, elementary and analytic geometry, algebra, differential and integral calculus, functions of complex variables, integral transforms, ordinary and partial differential equations, special functions, and probability theory. The second part discusses molecular physics and thermodynamics, electricity and magnetism, oscillations and waves, optics, special relativity, quantum mechanics, atomic and nuclear physics, and elementary particles. The third part covers dimensional analysis and similarity, mechanics of point masses and rigid bodies, strength of materials, hydrodynamics, mass and heat transfer, electrical engineering, and methods for constructing empirical and engineering formulas. The main text offers a concise, coherent survey of the most important definitions, formulas, equations, methods, theorems, and laws. Numerous examples throughout and references at the end of each chapter provide readers with a better understanding of the topics and methods. Additional issues of interest can be found in the remarks. For ease of reading, the supplement at the back of the book provides several long mathematical tables, including indefinite and definite integrals, direct and inverse integral transforms, and exact solutions of differential equations.
Handbook of Industrial Engineering Equations, Formulas, and Calculations by Adedeji B. Badiru; Olufemi A. OmitaomuThe first handbook to focus exclusively on industrial engineering calculations with a correlation to applications, Handbook of Industrial Engineering Equations, Formulas, and Calculations contains a general collection of the mathematical equations often used in the practice of industrial engineering. Many books cover individual areas of engineering and some cover all areas, but none covers industrial engineering specifically, nor do they highlight topics such as project management, materials, and systems engineering from an integrated viewpoint. Written by acclaimed researchers and authors, this concise reference marries theory and practice, making it a versatile and flexible resource. Succinctly formatted for functionality, the book presents: Basic Math Calculations Engineering Math Calculations Production Engineering Calculations Engineering Economics Calculations Ergonomics Calculations Facility Layout Calculations Production Sequencing and Scheduling Calculations Systems Engineering Calculations Data Engineering Calculations Project Engineering Calculations Simulation and Statistical Equations It has been said that engineers make things while industrial engineers make things better. To make something better requires an understanding of its basic characteristics and the underlying equations and calculations that facilitate that understanding. To do this, however, you don't have to be computational experts; you just have to know where to get the computational resources that are needed. This book elucidates the underlying equations that facilitate the understanding required to improve design processes, continuously improving the answer to the age-old question: What is the best way to do a job?
Publication Date: 2011
Machinery's Handbook: Toolbox by Erik Oberg; Franklin D. Jones; Holbrook Horton; Henry Ryffel; Christopher McCauleySince the first edition published more than 100 years ago, Machinery's Handbook has been the most popular engineering resource of all time. Universally considered the principal reference in the manufacturing and mechanical industries, the Handbook is the ultimate collection of essential information needed by engineers, designers, drafters, metalworkers, toolmakers, machinists, educators, students, and serious home hobbyists. From engineering and design departments, machine and metalworking shops, and a wide range of manufacturing and industrial facilities, to countless classrooms and workshops worldwide, this is the must-have technical reference. Machinery's Handbook is acknowledged as an exceptionally authoritative and comprehensive, yet highly practical, and easy-to-use tool. The 31st edition of the "Bible of the Mechanical Industries" continues in this tradition. New to the 31st Edition Additive Manufacturing: Expert discussions, exploring 3D printing materials, techniques, and workflow, compare traditional machining to today's additive manufacturing processes. Machine Elements and Operations: Updated and expanded coverage of CAD/CAM operations, boring, nontraditional cutting methods, o-rings and glands, and transmission chains. Manufacturing and Materials: Additional information on utilizing today's plastics, powder metallurgy standard and tool steels, manufacturing stresses, and preventing corrosion. Metal Casting and Molding: New information for working with iron, steel, nonferrous metals, and alloys, metal casting and molding processes, and modeling and design considerations. Math, Measurement, and Dimensioning: Reorganized, revised, and expanded sections provide ready access to clear information, essential formulas, and everyday calculations and conversions. Metalworking Processes: More on brazing, soldering, welding, nondestructive testing, forming sheet metal, mill finishes, passivation, electropolishing, and plating. Threads and Threading: The latest series and selected combinations for Unified Screw Threads. Hundreds of Standards Updates: All ASME and ANSI standards material has been reconfirmed and revised to provide the latest industry specifications, including the game-changing ASME Y14.5-2018 standard. Thousands of Revisions: A world-class team of technical experts, educators, editors, and illustrators has contributed to new, revised, and updated text, tables, equations, figures.