Handbooks and encyclopaedias

An authoritative guide to the various systems related to navigation, control, and other instrumentation used in a typical aircraft. Offers an examination of the most recent developments in aviation as it relates to instruments, radio navigation, and communication. Written by a noted authority in the field, the text includes in-depth descriptions of traditional systems, reviews the latest developments, as well as gives information on the technologies that are likely to emerge in the future. The author presents material on essential topics including instruments, radio propagation, communication, radio navigation, inertial navigation, and puts special emphasis on systems based on MEMS. Also provides chapters on solid state gyroscopes, magnetic compass, propagation modes of radio waves, and format of GPS signals.

Authoritative and accessible reference useful to scholars and enthusiasts alike. Useful essential tool for professionals involved in the aerospace industry and flight, and for anyone who must read and understand the technical literature of the aerospace industry and about specific air and space craft. An ideal reference for engineering and physics students encountering a subject replete with technical jargon and acronyms. Terms used reflect the diverse and international nature of the aerospace industry and include brief explanations of aerospace materials and organizations. Avoids terms specific to manufacturers, airlines, and armed forces in an effort to encourage clear communication and understanding among professionals

Also available online
3 volume set covers basic closed-loop systems to multi-agent adaptive systems; control of electric motors to the control of complex networks

A perennial bestseller, the Digital Avionics Handbook offers a comprehensive view of avionics. Complete with case studies of avionics architectures as well as examples of modern systems flying on current military and civil aircraft, this Third Edition includes: Ten brand-new chapters covering new topics and emerging trends Significant restructuring to deliver a more coherent and cohesive story Updates to all existing chapters to reflect the latest software and technologies Featuring discussions of new data bus and display concepts involving retina scanning, speech interaction, and synthetic vision, the Digital Avionics Handbook, Third Edition provides practicing and aspiring electrical, aerospace, avionics, and control systems engineers with a pragmatic look at the present state of the art of avionics.

Coverage ranges from core disciplines such as electrical and electronic engineering, mechanical engineering and physics, to advanced materials, digital technology and environmental science, all of which have an ever-increasing, interactive role in modern air and spacecraft design.

Describes the processes and methodologies behind the development, construction, operation and utilisation of space systems, presenting the profound changes that have occurred in recent years in the engineering, materials, processes and even politics associated with space technologies and utilisation.

This handbook covers all aspects of UAVs, from design to logistics and ethical issues. It serves as reference text for the academic and research communities, industry, manufacturers, users, practitioners, Federal Government, Federal and State Agencies, the private sector, as well as all organizations that are and will be using unmanned aircraft in a wide spectrum of applications. It is also targeting the young investigator, the future inventor and entrepreneur by providing an overview and detailed information of the state of the art as well as useful new concepts that may lead to innovative research. The contents of the Handbook include material that addresses the needs and ‘know how’ of all of the above sectors. The Handbook offers a unique and comprehensive treatise of everything one needs to know about unmanned aircrafts, from conception to operation, from technologies to business activities, users, OEMs, reference sources, conferences, publications, professional societies, etc.