Handbooks, dictionaries and guides

Invention and patents continues to be an important issue in technology and our global economy. Invention and Patenting provides a clear picture of how to be a prolific inventor, to understand patents, and the patent process.  It provides an illuminating insight into the writing of invention disclosures to patents from the submission process to final drafts.

In easy-to-understand language, this book covers various aspects, including basic concepts of patent laws and rules, innovation protection, patenting, patents post-granting and patent licensing. For inventors who want to file patents by themselves, this new edition provides guidelines and step-by-step instructions on preparing and filing a US provisional patent application, while avoiding the pitfalls that commonly occur in do-it-yourself patenting.

Aimed at scientists, engineers, technicians, managers, and entrepreneurs who want to financially benefit from their innovations. How to build patent portfolios that will properly protect your technology and the tools that innovators need to generate patents are presented in detail.

How do you actually turn a million-dollar idea into a million dollars? From scribble-on-the-napkin to product-on-the market, The Independent Inventor's Handbook explains everything a potential inventor needs to know and the tools he or she needs to use to take a raw concept and turn it into reality.

This Manual is published to provide US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) patent examiners, applicants, attorneys, agents, and representatives of applicants with a reference work on the practices and procedures relative to the prosecution of patent applications before the USPTO. It contains instructions to examiners, as well as other material in the nature of information and interpretation, and outlines the current procedures which the examiners are required or authorized to follow.

The most significant overhaul of the U.S. patent laws in decades occurred with the recent passage of the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA). Understanding the law that dictates what a patent is and how a patent is obtained and enforced, and the recent changes through statute or case law litigation presents unique challenges.

This revised edition includes information on inventor notebooks and records, updates to the patent filing process in the United States and abroad, the latest USPTO forms and templates, and changes to electronic filing and submission procedures. With easy-to-use forms and step-by-step instructions, The Patent Guide is an indispensable tool to help minimize costs and maximize profits of your ideas and inventions.