Bird's Basic Engineering Mathematics by John BirdNow in its eighth edition, Bird's Basic Engineering Mathematics has helped thousands of students to succeed in their exams. Mathematical theories are explained in a straightforward manner, supported by practical engineering examples and applications to ensure that readers can relate theory to practice. Some 1,000 engineering situations/problems have been 'flagged-up' to help demonstrate that engineering cannot be fully understood without a good knowledge of mathematics. The extensive and thorough coverage makes this a great text for introductory level engineering courses - such as for aeronautical, construction, electrical, electronic, mechanical, manufacturing engineering and vehicle technology - including for BTEC First, National and Diploma syllabuses, City & Guilds Technician Certificate and Diploma syllabuses, and even for GCSE revision. Its companion website provides extra materials for students and lecturers, including full solutions for all 1,700 further questions, lists of essential formulae, multiple choice tests, and illustrations, as well as full solutions to revision tests for course instructors.
Publication Date: 2021
Bioprocess Engineering Principles by Pauline M. DoranThis welcome new edition discusses bioprocess engineering from the perspective of biology students. It includes a great deal of new material and has been extensively revised and expanded. These updates strengthen the book and maintain its position as the book of choice for senior undergraduates and graduates seeking to move from biochemistry/microbiology/molecular biology to bioprocess engineering.
Publication Date: 2013
Chemical and Bioprocess Engineering by Ricardo Simpson; Sudhir K. SastryThe goal of this textbook is to provide first-year engineering students with a firm grounding in the fundamentals of chemical and bioprocess engineering. However, instead of being a general overview of the two topics, Fundamentals of Chemical and Bioprocess Engineering will identify and focus on specific areas in which attaining a solid competency is desired. This strategy is the direct result of studies showing that broad-based courses at the freshman level often leave students grappling with a lot of material, which results in a low rate of retention. Specifically, strong emphasis will be placed on the topic of material balances, with the intent that students exiting a course based upon this textbook will be significantly higher on Bloom's Taxonomy (knowledge, comprehension, application, analysis and synthesis, evaluation, creation) relating to material balances. In addition, this book will also provide students with a highly developed ability to analyze problems from the material balances perspective, which will leave them with important skills for the future. The textbook will consist of numerous exercises and their solutions. Problems will be classified by their level of difficulty. Each chapter will have references and selected web pages to vividly illustrate each example. In addition, to engage students and increase their comprehension and rate of retention, many examples will involve real-world situations.
Publication Date: 2013
Chemical Engineering Design by Ray Sinnott; Gavin TowlerChemical Engineering Design: SI Edition is one of the best-known and most widely used textbooks available for students of chemical engineering. The enduring hallmarks of this classic book are its scope and practical emphasis which make it particularly popular with instructors and students who appreciate its relevance and clarity. This new edition provides coverage of the latest aspects of process design, operations, safety, loss prevention, equipment selection, and much more, including updates on plant and equipment costs, regulations and technical standards. Includes new content covering food, pharmaceutical and biological processes and the unit operations commonly used Features expanded coverage on the design of reactors Provides updates on plant and equipment costs, regulations and technical standards Integrates coverage with Honeywell's UniSim® software for process design and simulation Includes online access to Engineering's Cleopatra cost estimating software
Fundamentals of Modern Manufacturing by Mikell P. GrooverFundamentals of Modern Manufacturing: Materials, Processes, and Systems is designed for a first course or two-course sequence in manufacturing at the junior or senior level in mechanical, industrial, and manufacturing engineering curricula. The distinctive and "modern" approach of the book emerges from its balanced coverage of the basic engineering materials, the inclusion of recent manufacturing processes and comprehensive coverage of electronics manufacturing technologies. The quantitative focus of the text is displayed in its emphasis on manufacturing science, greater use of mathematical models and end-of-chapter problems. This International Adaptation of the book offers revised and expanded coverage of topics and new sections on contemporary materials and processes. The new and updated examples and practice problems helps students gain solid foundational knowledge and the edition has been completely updated to use SI units.
Publication Date: 2021
Higher Engineering Mathematics, 8th Ed by John BirdTheory is kept to a minimum, with the emphasis firmly placed on problem-solving skills, making this a thoroughly practical introduction to the advanced mathematics engineering that students need to master. The extensive and thorough topic coverage makes this an ideal text for upper level vocational courses and first year undergraduates.
Manufacturing Engineering and Technology by Serope Kalpakjian; Steven SchmidPresents a comprehensive, balanced, and up-to-date coverage of the science, engineering, and technology of manufacturing. It places an emphasis on the interdisciplinary nature of every manufacturing activity, including complex interactions between materials, design, process, and manufacturing process and operations.
The text is designed to help students learn not only the science and engineering that drives manufacturing, but to understand and appreciate manufacturing's important role in our modern, global economy. With more than120 examples and case studies, the text presents students with a breadth of challenges while providing them the tools and encouragement to explore solutions to those challenges.
The new edition is thoroughly updated with numerous new topics and illustrations relevant to all aspects of manufacturing and includes a completely revised chapter covering the rapid advances in additive manufacturing.
Separation Process Engineering : includes mass transfer analysis. 4th Edition. by Phillip WankatThe Definitive, Up-to-Date, Student-Friendly Guide to Separation Process Engineering--With More Mass Transfer Coverage and a New Chapter on Crystallization Separation Process Engineering, Fourth Edition, is the most comprehensive, accessible guide available on modern separation processes and the fundamentals of mass transfer. In this completely updated edition, Phillip C. Wankat teaches each key concept through detailed, realistic examples using real data--including up-to-date simulation practice and spreadsheet-based exercises. Wankat thoroughly covers each separation process, including flash, column, and batch distillation; exact calculations and shortcut methods for multicomponent distillation; staged and packed column design; absorption; stripping; and more. This edition provides expanded coverage of mass transfer and diffusion, so faculty can cover separations and mass transfer in one course. Detailed discussions of liquid-liquid extraction, adsorption, chromatography, and ion exchange prepare students for advanced work. Wankat presents coverage of membrane separations, including gas permeation, reverse osmosis, ultrafiltration, pervaporation, and applications. An updated chapter on economics and energy conservation in distillation adds coverage of equipment costs. This edition contains more than 300 new, up-to-date homework problems, extensively tested in undergraduate courses at Purdue University and the University of Canterbury (New Zealand). Coverage includes New chapter on crystallization from solution, including equilibrium, chemical purity, crystal size distribution, and pharmaceutical applications Thirteen up-to-date Aspen Plus process simulation labs, adaptable to any simulator Eight detailed Aspen Chromatography labs Extensive new coverage of ternary stage-by-stage distillation calculations Fraction collection and multicomponent calculations for simple batch distillation New mass transfer analysis sections on numerical solution for variable diffusivity Mass transfer to expanding or contracting objects, including ternary mass transfer Expanded coverage of pervaporation Updated Excel spreadsheets offering more practice with distillation, diffusion, mass transfer, and membrane separation problems
Publication Date: 2017
Understanding Engineering Mathematics by John BirdStudying engineering, whether it is mechanical, electrical or civil relies heavily on an understanding of mathematics. This new textbook clearly demonstrates the relevance of mathematical principles and shows how to apply them to solve real-life engineering problems.