Books

Aerodynamics for Engineering Students, Seventh Edition, is one of the world's leading course texts on aerodynamics. It provides concise explanations of basic concepts, combined with an excellent introduction to aerodynamic theory. This updated edition has been revised with improved pedagogy and reorganized content to facilitate student learning, and includes new or expanded coverage in several important areas, such as hypersonic flow, UAV's, and computational fluid dynamics.

Presents the dynamics and control of various flight vehicles, including aircraft, spacecraft, helicopter, missiles, etc, in a unified framework. Covers fundamental topics in the dynamics and control of flight vehicles, highlighting shared points as well as differences in dynamics and control issues. Begins with the derivation of the equations of motion for a general rigid body and then delineates the differences between the dynamics of various flight vehicles in a fundamental way. Then focuses on the dynamic equations with application to these various flight vehicles, concentrating more on aircraft and spacecraft cases. Control systems analysis and design is carried out both from transfer function, classical control, as well as modern, state space control points of view. Illustrative examples of application to atmospheric and space vehicles are presented, emphasizing the 'systems level' viewpoint of control design. Contains worked out MATLAB examples and end-of-chapter homework.

Also available online
Mathematics and sciences in general, as they relate to the subject of aviation, from the wheels-up to the wheels-down, and the time in between. Topics include: meteorology, thermodynamics, combustion, drones, mechanics, dynamics, navigation, flight plans, and general aviation-related guidance.

Anderson's Introduction to Flight, is designed for first or second-year engineering students and any reader looking for an introduction to aerospace engineering. Readers are introduced to the basic areas of aerodynamics, flight dynamics, propulsion, and space flight (astronautics). In this edition, space flight content covers the expanding role of space vehicles within the field of aerospace engineering.

Introducing the principles of aircraft electrical and electronic systems, this book is written for anyone pursuing a career in aircraft maintenance engineering or a related aerospace engineering discipline, and in particular will be suitable for those studying for licensed aircraft maintenance engineer status. It systematically addresses the relevant sections of modules 11 and 13 of part-66 of the EASA syllabus, and is ideal for anyone studying as part of an EASA and FAR-147 approved course in aerospace engineering. Delivers the essential principles and knowledge base required by Airframe and Propulsion (A&P) Mechanics for Modules 11 and 13 of the EASA Part-66 syllabus and BTEC National awards in aerospace engineering Supports Mechanics, Technicians and Engineers studying for a Part-66 qualification Comprehensive and accessible, with self-test questions, exercises and multiple choice questions to enhance learning for both independent and tutor-assisted study This second edition has been updated to incorporate: complex notation for the analysis of alternating current (AC) circuits; an introduction to the "all electric aircraft" utilising new battery technologies; updated sensor technology using integrated solid-state technology micro-electrical-mechanical sensors (MEMS); an expanded section on helicopter/rotary wing health usage monitoring systems (HUMS).

An updated and in-depth practical guide to integrated avionic systems as applied to civil aircraft. This new edition has been expanded to include the latest developments in modern avionics. It describes avionic systems and potential developments in the field to help educate students and practitioners in the process of designing, building and operating modern aircraft in the contemporary aviation system.

Now in a revised fourth edition, this course-tested textbook explains the basic principles and underlying theory of the core avionic systems in modern civil and military aircraft. The new edition includes extensive revisions on the latest developments in helmet-mounted displays (HMDs), the use of helmet-mounted rate gyros for helmet tracking, HUD/HMD optical waveguide system technology, and the latest advances on replacing CRTs with solid state displays in HUDs. Updates on controls and fly-by-wire include a section on civil aircraft to cover the Airbus A350 and the advances in its flight control system over the Airbus A380. A new section on automatic flight control of vectored thrust aircraft covers the BAE Systems Harrier and the Lockheed Martin F-35B Lightning 2 Joint Strike Fighter. Detailed coverage is provided for F-35B flight control systems for vertical landing. Introduction to Avionic Systems, Fourth Edition is an ideal textbook for undergraduate and graduate courses in avionics and aeronautical engineering, as well as professional development and training courses for post-graduates entering the aerospace industry from a wide range of technical backgrounds and practicing engineers at all levels who require an understanding of avionic systems, aircraft navigation, flight control, and data transmission and systems.

Includes every communication and navigation system, plus the latest spaced-based avionics. Describes navcom, transponder, VOR, ADF, DME, TACAN, instruments, radar, autopilot, collision avoidance and enhanced ground proximity warning. Includes over 150 graphics illustrating basic principles.

Avionics systems are the functional centre of aircraft systems. System integration technology plays a vital role in the complex world of avionics and an integrated avionics system will fully-address systems, information and processes. Describes how integration can improve flight operations, enhance system processing efficiency and equip resource integration. Has systematic coverage of avionics system architecture and ground system integration. Looks beyond hardware resource sharing alone the reader is guided through the benefits and scope of a modern integrated avionics system.