technology

Looking for a secure storage and analysis platform for ETL data operations? Try Cloudstor - free service for QUT Staff & Researchers now with R Studio built-in:

CloudStor now includes access to OpenRefine and RStudio.  This means that these tools can be accessed from the one place - a Jupyter Notebook accessible through CloudStor’s SWAN (Service for Web-based Analysis). 

Researchers can undertake interactive data analysis using any of the above tools. 

Taken from the Australian Academic Research Network AARNet() website…

“…we now offer OpenRefine, a popular application for data clean-up and transformation. Used in Library Carpentry, it is a powerful tool for information management professionals and anyone needing to clean up their datasets to make them machine readable.

RStudio is an environment made for R; a programming language that specialises in statistical computing and graphics. SWAN already includes the R kernel for Jupyter Notebooks, but this is the first time we are offering the full benefit of RStudio for those who prefer working in that environment.”

Unsure how to access these tools or use these tools? try the regular meet-up - Hacky Hour.

For your viewing pleasure a rare visual treat in the form of a large scale bibliographic analysis of climate change as a prevailing research topic across ABDC Journals. This particular network analysis is a louvain network representation of 3786 keyword co-occurrences drawn from1128 articles published in 2021 across all 2682 journal publications. Please note the network is interactive and comes with a necessary warning as an easy way to fritter away time.

QUT's plagiarism detection software for higher degree research (HDR) candidates is iThenticate. All HDR candidates are required to submit their thesis through QUT's plagiarism detection software prior to lodgement for examination. The resultant report must be provided to the Principal Supervisor for review. Candidates are encouraged to take this opportunity to discuss the findings in the report with their supervisory team. On the Lodgement of Thesis for Examination form, the Principal Supervisor will be asked to certify that they have received and reviewed a copy of the report and that the thesis is now ready for examination.

Note that iThenticate is a tool for researchers. It is not to be used for coursework assignments or non-research documents (instead use Turnitin).

Link to iThenticate:  https://app.ithenticate.com/en_us/login

User name = your QUT student email address (for HDR students) or your QUT staff email address (for staff)

All higher degree research candidates will be confirmed as having access to iThenticate within a six to eight weeks of commencing their course at QUT. You will be sent a welcome email to your QUT student email address (from iThenticate) with details of your user name and temporary password.

All QUT supervisors registered as being accredited to supervise HDR candidates will have access to iThenticate. New staff will be granted access to the software after confirmation of their accreditation level. A welcome email will be sent to your QUT email address (from iThenticate) confirming your access and providing you with your user name and temporary password. Please refer to your Client Services Officer via hdr@qut.edu.au if you experience any issues

Click on the green "Forgot password" link if you forget or cannot access your password.

Never click on "Don't have an account? Sign up" as it invalidates your original login by creating another account and you will be asked to pay for additional iThenticate access. If you have clicked on the "Don't have an Account?" please contact your Client Services Officer.

Note that you should not contact iThenticate directly as your logon is under the QUT corporate account and consequently iThenticate cannot assist you. Your Client Services Officer is the contact person for all iThenticate queries at QUT.

What is Frictionless Data?

Frictionless Data is a progressive python framework for building data infrastructure – data management, data integration, flows and so on making this framework well suite for quantitative research in across any domain facilitated by the Python programming language.This allows the data to flow fluidly between tools and across teams with core of the framework being a ultra-simple patterns to describe and organize data

Learn more here 

A new(ish) take on an enduring constant; finding relevant papers for a review article or profiling articles when appraising a journal to publish in.

Try, Inciteful (Beta*) graph-based network analysis tool for retrieving and filtering bibliographic data based on whole bibliographies or individual research papers.

Inciteful supports bibtex uploads, perfect for single-pass checking of filtered paper sets from Endnote as a mechanism to identify any articles that may have slipped under the radar when assembling an evidence summary for systematic reviews. A secondary use may be for bibliometric or citation analysis for which purpose Inciteful provides built-in SQL query tools for filtering and data extraction. While the service is free to use at the moment the developers behind the app have a early-adopters program to canvas feedback on the tool.

QUT has a wireless network for providing access to non QUT participants of events and conferences held at QUT.

The wireless SSID is: Events@QUT

This network has a pre-shared key instead of the regular authentication used by QUT. 

Another difference between this network and our regular network is the users will be redirected when they go to a website, to accept our terms
and conditions. They will have no access until they click the accept button.
 
Delegates from Universities that are members of eduroam, should use the eduroam wireless network.

To find out more & get your authentication key: https://qutvirtual4.qut.edu.au/group/staff/engagement/events/technology-for-events 

Tim Sheratt:

Over the last couple of months I've been developing a series of Jupyter notebooks to help researchers work with data from web archives. They're now all available through the GLAM Workbench: 

https://glam-workbench.github.io/web-archives/

For example there are tools to find when a word or phrase appears (or disappears) from a web page, to compare the text content of a page over time, to create full page screenshots & more. If you want to get deeper into the data, there's detailed documentation and examples of the sorts of data that's available and how you can get it. This includes the Australian Web Archive, the NZ Web Archive, the UK Web Archive, as well as the Internet Archive.

The focus is on data that is readily accessible and able to be used without the need for special equipment. They use existing APIs to get data in manageable chunks. But many of the examples demonstrated can also be scaled up to build substantial datasets for analysis – you just have to be patient!

The development of these notebooks was supported by the International Internet Preservation Consortium's Discretionary Funding Programme 2019-2020, with the participation of the British Library, the National Library of Australia, and the National Library of New Zealand.