Skip to Main Content

skills training

Hacky Hour at QUT: Skills for Open Research

Get help with your research data and publishing
Hacky Hour is a regular meet-up where researchers can get together over a coffee to collaborate, converse, and get research help in a relaxed setting. Experts will be on hand to advise on problems related to coding, data analytics, digital tools or open research, with knowledgeable folk from QUT Library, the Digital Observatory and the Office of eResearch.
Bring your questions on:
Data wrangling
Programming with R, Python, SQL
Building and interacting with databases
Data management planning
Machine learning
Web APIs and web/social media data collection
Version control with Git
Publishing – where and how
Open Scholarship and Open Research
Copyright & Creative Commons licensing
ORCiD and other identifiers
Research data publishing
 
Join us via Zoom (video conferencing) for a virtual session. Experts will be available to help with what you’re working on!
From 24th March, we meet every Thursday 2-3pm for a virtual meet up via Zoom. Please, use this link to join us
Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://qut.zoom.us/j/420041745

Online tutorials via CARMA

Recent videos include: 

  • A framework for constructive replication in the organizational sciences A framework for constructive replication in the organizational sciences
  • Rethinking the Qualitative Research Methods
  • Systematic Reviews/Meta-Analysis 
  • Addressing the "Too Much Theory" Problem in Management Research
  • Effect Sizes for Categorical Moderation Correlation Regression Models
  • Modern Prediction Methods Correlation Regression Models
  • Event Sampling Methods Longitudinal Analysis
  • Multiple Imputation for Complex Organizational Data Structures
  • Casual Identification through a Cumulative Body of Research in the Study of Strategy and Organizations
  • Construct Development and Validation in Three Practical Steps: Recommendations for Reviewers, Editors, and Authors 
  • Zooming Into the Boardroom
  • Panel Data: Methodological Framework and Analytic Tools Longitudinal Analysis
  • Introduction to R and Table Creation, Exploratory Factor Analysis, Confirmatory Factor Analysis ​
  • Recommendations for Discouraging, Identifying, and Removing Dirty Data in Survey Research Measurement
  • Association Rules Mining, Bayes and Moderated Regression, How to Use Markdown ​
  • Big Data Analytics
  • Big Data Concepts

Using NVivo to Support Qualitative Research

Responding to the impact of COVID-19 in grant applications

The latest Research Whisperer blog post discusses lockdown and COVID-19.

The ARC (along with other funding agencies) have released guidelines on responding to the impact of COVID-19 in grant applications and the author of the article has expanded on their advice to help researchers “level the playing field” as each researchers’ experience will be different to others’ and it is important to express their own personal experiences.

For example, instead of saying “I moved all my teaching online” say “I taught face to face on Thursday 12 March 2020. By Wednesday 18 March, I had no students on campus and one week later I was full-time at home and teaching remotely” which will have more impact.

LinkedIn Learning Webinar: How to leverage Linked in learning in the classroom, as part of a blended learning strategy

LinkedIn Learning is hosting a webinar for Faculty. The Topic of the webinar is ”How to leverage Linked in learning in the classroom, as part of a blended learning strategy“

Time: Thursday April 22nd at 3:30pm AEST

Details:

The session will cover the following:

  • What is LinkedIn Learning and how do we organize our content library of over 16,000 courses
  • How the platform can be used for developing new  hard and soft skills
  • How staff can leverage it to ace the performance  review cycle
  • How staff can build a professional brand
  • How to find the right content easily through a live demo

We have created easy templates if you want to promote this on the campus or forward to right group and encourage the faculty to participate. We would love to have the faculty on the session and share any questions or thoughts they might have on this topic.

Registration Link >> Click Here

Screening publications for review articles & systematic reviews using Excel - A Tip Sheet

When assembling an evidence summary for a review article or more formal type systematic review there may arise the need to engage software other than citation management apps (read, Endnote, Mendeley at al.) to record and audit retrieved literature. An obvious choice is typically Excel given most citation management software will generate and export a spreadsheet quite readily, much the least the ease and simplicity of collaborating with a team on a spreadsheet via Office365. Most citation management software handle bulk deduplication of records, however, where the quality and completeness of records from various databases is variable enlisting something like Excel with more flexibility and advanced text filtering facility makes screening publications while keeping track of the inclusion/exclusion of publications far easier. Enter the free Excel add-in, Fuzzy Lookup, a formula-free way of matching and filtering publications based on your own specimen criteria. The add-in is provided as a free download from this website and while there are innumerable tutorials the Business Liaison Librarians have put together a 'Tip Sheet' to keep at hand - see this link to download.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Click the image to download

Bulk Literature retrieval from Google Scholar

Another tool in your arsenal of options for retrieving evidence for your next large-scale review article or bibliometric study is quite possibly none other than the aptly named, 'Publish or Perish'. A tool more familiar with those who have looked into more conventional publication measures nevertheless has facility to conveniently retrieve bulk result sets from larger federated search engines such as Google Scholar.

On the plus side P.o.P does provide a structured search form for Google Scholar that allows for targeting journal or publication titles, article titles, author or broader keyword matching.On the down side P.o.P does not support Google target search operators such as 'Site:' or  'inurl:', this means you would still need to use the web version for retrieving grey literature or sources that coincide with commercial or governmental organisations (talk to your friendly librarian if you would like to learn more on searching grey literature).

In any event, the most compelling reason to utilise P.o.P for preliminary searching in Google Scholar is the facility for bulk result export of up to 1000 items via CSV (for screening via journal quartile), Bibtex, Endnote or RIS format (for fulltext retrieval and deduplication)

Search interface for publish or perish

Research Skills Sessions, Recordings, and Learning Resources

Register for:

Session Information / Recordings and resources

SAGE Higher Degree Research Student Publication Prize 2021

SAGE is offering eleven cash prizes for the top research outputs produced and published by a Higher Degree Research (HDR) student.

  • Five prizes of $400, one each to the top published paper in each Faculty
  • $400 for the top published paper by an Indigenous HDR student.
  • Five prizes of $100 for commended papers, one in each of the Faculties.
  • The competition is open now until 31st October 2021!

Go here for more information and the application form

Research Data Management: Planning

An interactive session for research students and staff to introduce Research Data Management and to help plan for managing research files, information and data.

The session covers the policy context, compliance responsibilities, Research Data Management support at QUT, a case study of Research Data Management, a demonstration of the Data Management Plan, and the creation of a Research Data Management plan

Register here for Tuesday, 20th July, 10:00 am – 10:30 am.

Go here for self-directed learning with recordings and learning resources

EndNote Essentials

An interactive tutorial with exercises in the basic applications of EndNote needed to get started.

Content includes: interface and basic functionalities; creating a library and entering references; importing references from search tools; organising references in groups; importing full-text PDFs and using the PDF viewer; creating citations and bibliographies in Word documents; safely editing citations and documents; backing up your library.

Register here for Wednesday, 21st July, 10:00 am – 12:00 pm

Register here for Tuesday, 10th August, 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm

Go here for self-directed learning with recordings and learning resources

Datasets for Research

Familiarise yourself with how and where to access existing research datasets in the STEMM and social science disciplines. Learn more about financial and longitudinal research datasets available for your use, as well as datasets offered by the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

Register here for Wednesday, 21st July, 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm.

Go here for self-directed learning with recordings and learning resources

Research Data Management: Storage, Analysis and Visualisation

An interactive session for research students and staff to help you identify and select the most suitable digital research data storage and sharing tools, as well as software available for data analysis and visualisation.

Learn about storage options and apply for Research Data Storage. Understand file naming conventions, directory structures and de-identification of data. Hear about available analysis and visualisation software, training and support options.

Register here for Thursday, 22nd July, 10:00 am – 10:30 am.

Go here for self-directed learning with recordings and learning resources

Research Data Management: Preservation and Publication

An interactive session for research students and staff to help you increase the impact of your research by publishing and sharing your research data in repositories such as QUT Research Data Finder, and preserve your research data files using QUT-supported archival data storage.

Learn about publishing, licensing, copyright and DOIs for Data. Create a research data record in Research Data Finder. Understand preservation responsibilities, storage options, and formats.

Register here for Friday, 23rd July, 10:00 am – 10:30 am.

Go here for self-directed learning with recordings and learning resources

Research Data Management Drop In

Put on your headset and pop in online to listen and ask for help drafting your Research Data Management Plan and advice on sharing, storing, organising, or publishing your project’s research data.

Register here for Wednesday, 28th July, 10:00 am – 11:00 am

Hacky Hour

Hacky Hour is an online meet-up where research students and staff can ask questions, share knowledge, chat and get help.

  • Experts are on hand online to advise on problems related to coding, data analytics, digital tools, or open research.
  • Bring your questions on data wrangling, programming with R, Python, SQL, Data management planning, version control, data visualisation, and web APIs.

Join knowledgeable folk from QUT Library, the Digital Observatory, and the Office of eResearch.

Register here for any weekly sessions on Thursday from 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm.

Legal research & referencing classes for your students

Encourage your students to attend the following legal research sessions, provided by the QUT Law Library:

Researching for Law Assignments

Referencing with AGLC4

Queensland Cyber Infrastructure Foundation - eResearch Support

Curious to know how QCIF eResearch support could improve your research outcomes?
You are cordially invited to join QCIF at an information session about research computing resources and services for researchers at our university on Thursday, 9 September, 2:30pm–4pm at N515 School of Nursing building Sessions will also be broadcast online via Zoom.

In this seminar, QCIF will provide an introduction to our services and team. QUT researchers who have made use our our resources and staff expertise will also speak on how their work has benefitted from the use of research computing.

All welcome, including research staff, HDR students and research support staff. 

Further information and the link to register is here: https://www.qcif.edu.au/events/qcif-roadshow-for-researchers/

Feel free to contact Mark Crowe (mark.crowe@qcif.edu.au) if you have any queries.