Skip to Main Content

news

The Australian Higher Education News - 22 September 2021

  Cormann awarded honorary doctorate
  Tudge to mandate new uni IP plan
  It’s time to walk the talk and mandate the jab
  Good news for school-leavers: there’s no perfect path
  Hoj puts money where Indigenous support is

Legal Affairs News - 24th September 2021

Research Skills Sessions, Recordings, and Learning Resources

>   Session information, recordings, and resources

Authorship, Peer Review and Publication: Presubmission

October 20th session:

  • Agreeing on authorship
  • Publishing strategies, preprints, and journal selection
  • Deceptive journals and conferences
  • Originality and plagiarism
  • Reporting Conflicts of Interest and acknowledging grants
  • Cover letters, titles, and abstracts
  • Copyright, rights management, and licensing

The session will provide you with a conceptual map, follow a path, discuss your options, provide you with tools, and point you to resources to help you get to where you want to be.

Register here and see more information

Authorship, Peer Review and Publication: Postsubmission

October 21st session:

  • Journal Peer Review: Models, process, roles
  • Open scholarship and open access at QUT
  • Publishing outputs at QUT
  • Promoting your work after publication

The session will provide you with a conceptual map, follow a path, discuss your options, provide you with tools, and point you to resources to help you get to where you want to be.

Register here and see more information

EndNote Essentials

An interactive tutorial with exercises in the basic applications of EndNote needed to get started.

Content includes: interface and basic functionalities; creating a library and entering references; importing references from search tools; organising references in groups; importing full-text PDFs and using the PDF viewer; creating citations and bibliographies in Word documents; safely editing citations and documents; backing up your library.

Register here for Tuesday, October 5th, 1 –  4 pm

Go here for self-directed learning with workshop recordings and learning resources

Advanced EndNote

An Interactive tutorial in the advanced skills building on the previous EndNote Essentials covering: working across locations by syncing and with Endnote online, collaborating by sharing libraries and Groups, Terms lists, deduplication, and working with unformatted, formatted, large and multiple Word documents.

Register here for Tuesday, October 5th, 1 – 2:30 pm

Go here for self-directed learning with workshop recordings and learning resources

Research Data Management: Planning

An interactive session for research students and staff to introduce Research Data Management and to help plan for managing research files, information and data.

The session covers the policy context, compliance responsibilities, Research Data Management support at QUT, a case study of Research Data Management, a demonstration of the Data Management Plan, and the creation of a Research Data Management plan

Register here for  Tuesday, October 5th, 10 – 10:45 am

Go here for the handout with links and activities

Research Data Management: Storage, Analysis and Visualisation

An interactive session for research students and staff to help you identify and select the most suitable digital research data storage and sharing tools, as well as software available for data analysis and visualisation.

Learn about storage options and apply for Research Data Storage. Understand file naming conventions, directory structures and de-identification of data. Hear about available analysis and visualisation software, training and support options.

Register here for Thursday, October 7th, 10 – 10:45 am

Research Data Management: Preservation and Publication

An interactive session for research students and staff to help you increase the impact of your research by publishing and sharing your research data in repositories such as QUT Research Data Finder, and preserve your research data files using QUT-supported archival data storage.

Learn about publishing, licensing, copyright and DOIs for Data. Create a research data record in Research Data Finder. Understand preservation responsibilities, storage options, and formats.

Register here for Friday, October 8th, 10 – 10:30 am

Go here for the handout with links and activities

Research Data Management Drop In

Put on your headset and pop in online to listen and ask for help drafting your Research Data Management Plan and advice on sharing, storing, organising, or publishing your project’s research data.

Register here for Thursday, September 23rd, 10 am – 11:00 am

Hacky Hour

Hacky Hour is an online meet-up where research students and staff can ask questions, share knowledge, chat and get help.

  • Experts are on hand online to advise on problems related to coding, data analytics, digital tools, or open research.
  • Bring your questions on data wrangling, programming with R, Python, SQL, Data management planning, version control, data visualisation, and web APIs.

Join knowledgeable folk from QUT Library, the Digital Observatory, and the Office of eResearch.

Register here for any weekly sessions, Thursdays, 2 – 3 pm

Research metrics drop-in - featuring SciVal, Scopus, Web of Science & Altmetric Explorer

Thursdays, 1pm via Zoom

Meeting ID: 898 2570 5760

Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://qut.zoom.us/j/89825705760?pwd=c1BoY2NPVVY2TlNSaFJVdUVZeWFPQT09

Password: 518092

databases on trial

SOTL - Recent Articles

Journal of Management Education
October 2020 - Special Issue: Experiential Learning in Large Classrooms:

The Management and Coordination of Virtual Teams in Large Classes: Facilitating Experiential Learning - Christina O’Connor,Kenneth Mullane and Denise Luethge.

International Review of Economics Education

In Press - November 2021

Using Python and Google Colab to teach undergraduate microeconomic theory. - Masanori Kuroki.

Journal of Accounting Education

August 2021

Conducting a Physical Inventory of McIntyre Organics: Bringing Real-Life Experiences to the Classroom - .Michael Ozlanski,Suzanne Seymoure.

Impact of Social Sciences (LSE)

Loading ...

Policy updates from apo.org.au

  • i dreams of 100 more glorious years for the Party: might China awake? - Centre for Independent Studies
  • Working from home: research paper - Productivity Commission
  • System update: towards a women, peace and cybersecurity agenda - United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research
  • How can Australia’s agriculture sector realise opportunity in a low emissions future? - Farmers for Climate Action
  • New beginnings: rethinking business and trade in an era of strategic clarity and rolling disruption - Australian Strategic Policy Institute
  • What's age got to do with it? - Australian Human Rights Commission
  • Rising to the challenge: addressing climate and security in our region - Climate Council
  • An avoidable catastrophe: pandemic job losses in higher education and their consequences - Centre for Future Work
  • Hate speech against women: addressing a democratic crisis - Melbourne School of Government
  • ‘For my safety’: experiences of technology-facilitated abuse among women with intellectual disability or cognitive disability - Office of the eSafety Commissioner (Australia)
     

Authorship, Peer Review and Publication training

QUT Library’s Office for Scholarly Communication (OSC) and the Office of Research Ethics and Integrity (OREI) are once again offering training sessions for Higher Degree Research (HDR) students and Early Career Researchers on Authorship, Peer Review and Publication.

Session 1: Wednesday 20 October 2021 – 11:00am – 12.30pm        

Authorship, Peer Review and Publication: Presubmission

The world of academic publishing and peer review is complex. How can researchers navigate it? This first session of two is designed to help with what you need to know PRE-SUBMISSION of your manuscript. The session will provide you with a conceptual map, follow a path, discuss your options, provide you with tools, and point you to resources to help you get to where you want to be. It is intended for researchers, HDR students, and research support staff, and covers:

  • Agreeing on authorship
  • Publishing strategies, preprints, and journal selection
  • Deceptive journals and conferences
  • Originality and plagiarism
  • Reporting Conflicts of Interest and acknowledging grants
  • Cover letters, titles, and abstracts
  • Copyright, rights management, and licensing

Session 2: Thursday 21 October 2021 – 11:00am – 12.30pm         

Authorship, Peer Review and Publication: Postsubmission

This second session of two is designed to help with what you need to know and do POSTSUBMISSION of your manuscript. It covers:

  • Journal Peer Review: Models, process, roles
  • Open scholarship and open access at QUT
  • Publishing outputs at QUT
  • Promoting your work after publication

Both sessions are delivered online and will provide you with a conceptual map, follow a path, discuss your options, provide you with tools, and point you to resources to help you get to where you want to be.

Follow the links to register for one or both sessions.

Sign up for – Wednesday 20 Oct 2021, 11:00 am – 12:30 pm
Authorship, Peer Review and Publication: Presubmission (qut.edu.au)

Sign up for – Thursday 21 Oct 2021, 11:00 am – 12:30 pm

Authorship, Peer Review and Publication: Postsubmission (qut.edu.au)

Feedback from previous participants:

  • This was a great session. I learnt more about the publishing process this morning than I have in [my] whole time at [university].  I will be recommending [this] session to all early career academics. 
  • A well organised, succinct morning.  The format was great – moved along well and didn’t get bogged down …. All speakers were well prepared and their slides were clear and concise. 
  • I would like to thank and congratulate the team for the organisation of both seminars! They were great!  Excellent topics and speakers!!! The videos were great too! Thank you so much for the opportunity of learning such important topics and for having many doubts clarified.  You are the best!
  • The format was great, and I found the structuring of the whole session around the map very helpful.
  • Both workshops were excellent, I got so much out of them and all the information was just perfect…. Short presentations from a variety of speakers who were all so engaging.  These were some of the best run and most informative workshops I have done with QUT, thank you.                              

ASX Announcements Corpus via SIRCA/Rozetta

The QUT Library provides a wide array economic and financial data with many databases providing more than one dataset and as often is the case multiple datasets that describe specific markets, instruments, sectors & indicators. In this late September edition of Adlib we present one such dataset that might find use for those who are looking for early disclosure of financials to market, financial restatements or other market announcements as they relate to I.P, business concerns and developments.

An overview of all datasets is provided below with QUT Library providing: ASX PRC, ASX  PRC EOD & ACA Announcements.
In this Adlib article we focus upon the ASX Announcements dataset.

 

SIRCA provides data via the Databricks platform to facilitate more ready interrogation, transformation and extract of data.
An exploration of the data might involve quickly gaining an overview of the dataset with an eye to identifying relevant facets and indicators. An easy entry point to the datasets contained in SIRCA are the prefilled python notebooks in this case specifically the ASX Announcements (a Morningstar dataset).
Sample notebooks are located under the 'workspace' tab to the left of the screen are are categorised according to dataset or specific retrieval parameters i.e 'trades from a specific date, for a specific equity'. 
Each notebook is well document and provides explicit instruction on running and interacting with the notebook to retrieve data, however, as Databricks is a shared cloud workspace and so a copy or 'clone' of any notebook to an individuals 'workspace' is necessary for any interaction with a workbook to take place - this process connects the notebook to an available slot on the computing cluster via your account (see here).

Three steps to building your customised an ACA corpus

Choose the "Data Downloader" notebook as demonstrated in the linked video above.

screen capture of the sirca interface demonstrating the cloning of a sample notebook

2. Locate the small 'run all' button at the top of the notebook.