Pages on Teaching & Learning

By Troy Heaps, Red River College Polytechnic.

"This Open Educational Resource (OER) was produced for educators who wish to find positive and productive ways to incorporate generative artificial intelligence (AI) tools into their work. This includes:

• using AI tools to develop courses, lesson plans, activities, assessments, and rubrics;
• leveraging AI tools to enhance existing in-class activities and assignments;
• teaching students how to engage with AI effectively, ethically, and responsibly;
• utilizing AI tools to efficiently complete administrative tasks.

This resource is focused on how AI tools can be used in polytechnic education. However, much of the content will also be relevant to educators in other educational contexts, like university or high school. The term ‘instructional staff’ is used widely in this resource and is meant to include instructors, professors, lecturers, teachers, educational assistants, and tutors."

https://pressbooks.openedmb.ca/aiineducation/ 

GenAI Guidance & Info

From the Learning Teaching Unit:

• Generative AI and assessment: https://qutvirtual4.qut.edu.au/group/staff/teaching/course-and-unit-design/assessment/generative-ai-and-assessment
• Learning with generative AI: https://qutvirtual4.qut.edu.au/group/student/study/study-essentials/learning-with-generative-ai
• AI in research: responsible use: https://qutvirtual4.qut.edu.au/group/research-students/conducting-research/ethics-and-integrity/research-integrity/artificial-intelligence

Library resources:

• Cite Write - Referencing Gen AI sources, APA7 - https://www.citewrite.qut.edu.au/cite/qutcite.html#apa-internet-ai
• Library guide - Generative AI in Research and Teaching
• Recent books on GenAI - The GenAI Revolution

GenAI hacks & wizardry

• Practical AI Strategies : Engaging with Generative AI in Education by Leon Furze

  ISBN: 9781923116368

  Amid the discourse surrounding the controversial role of generative AI in education, Practical AI Strategies goes beyond the hype to explore the opportunities and challenges of the technology in K-tertiary education. The book looks past individual applications to explore the broader landscape of generative artificial intelligence, offering educators invaluable insights into its workings and ethical considerations.

• Designing assessments for an AI-enabled world

  This resource provides guidance on how to adapt assessment to better support learning. It also explores how to accommodate the required changes that might arise from the global use of generative AI.

• GenAI with Copilot workshop for QUT staff

  This one-hour training session is designed to introduce higher education teachers to the world of AI tools in education, with a specific focus on Microsoft Copilot. This session aims to empower educators with the knowledge and confidence to navigate AI tools in education, starting with Microsoft Copilot. It’s a beginner-friendly session, requiring no prior experience with AI or Microsoft Copilot. Attendees will leave with a solid understanding of how to leverage AI tools to enhance their teaching practices and enrich their students’ learning experiences.

QUT Library has two guides to Generative AI -

Generative AI in Research and Teaching for academic staff & researchers incorporating information about prompting, copyright and useful resources

Generative AI Basics - for coursework students - includes a guides to referencing AI and clear notifications of how it has been used and prompting

New alumni memberships will be for 12 months only (not 5 years).  Alumni who borrow items can then request a renewal for another 12 months.   

Alumni borrowers currently on 5 year memberships, will remain on 5 year memberships while the alumni remains an active borrower. Once the 5 years is completed, the membership can be renewed for 12 months on request.

Please contact library.buslaw@qut.edu.au with any questions. 

This is the nearly full list* of databases available for QUTeX  https://libguides.library.qut.edu.au/az/databases?q=QUTeX&p=1

*that entire list plus ProQuest Ebook Central

Online, asynchronous, modularised learning of foundational skills in information research and information literacy.

Course learning outcomes

Key takeaways here:

• AI is not Google – it does not provide consistent or reliable answers to factual questions. ​

• AIs are inconsistent & weird with different results across models – sensitive to changes in spacing or formatting.​

• AI is a coworker with zero memory but infinite patience. ​

• Use it in areas of your expertise to understand its ability – to assess whether wrong or right ​

• Hallucinations are inevitable – you can prompt it to write "I don't have information" to assist​

• AI needs to be very clear about what you want – step by step instructions​

• Working with AI is a dialogue, not an order​

• AI has Infinite patience & offers intellectual abundance – you can ask for 3 emails, 30 ideas & then ask AI to recombine or expand ​

Authors: The University of Queensland Library; James Cook University Library; University of Southern Queensland Library; Charles Darwin University Library; Southern Cross University Library; Queensland University of Technology Library; Deakin University Library; University of South Australia Library; Edith Cowan University Library; University of Tasmania Library; and The Australian National University Library.

Updated in 2025, this edition of the guide is designed to support students undertaking Australian legal studies and contribute to the development of research skills in Australian law schools.

An exciting feature of this edition includes a brand new chapter on Legal Research using Generative Artificial Intelligence (Gen AI).

Publisher: The University of Queensland, James Cook University, the University of Southern Queensland, Charles Darwin University, Southern Cross University, Queensland University of Technology, Deakin University, University of South Australia, Edith Cowan University, University of Tasmania, and The Australian National University

Subjects: Law, Primary sources of law, Sources of law: case law, precedent, Sources of law: legislation

Check it out now in the CAUL catalogue and Pressbooks Directory.

Licence: Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial (CC BY-NC) 4.0 International Licence

Fitch Solutions have released a new resource for students covering the foundational understanding of Credit Ratings. In addition to the introductory video, the series includes sector chapters that delve into the building blocks of our key ratings methodologies. These chapters offer students an in-depth look at how ratings are constructed across key sectors like Sovereigns, Financial Institutions and Corporates providing valuable insights that can enhance their academic studies and practical understanding of financial systems.

On June 28, the European Accessibility Act will come into effect. This Act requires a range of products/services to be accessible to people with a disability, including ebooks. As such, our eBook vendors are changing the display for their titles to comply with these laws.

In QUT Library Search this currently applies to eBooks in ProQuest which has shifted the default reading format from PDF to EPUB. Users can switch back to PDF if preferred. It is expected EBSCO will implement similar changes in June 2025.

This will have some impact on how content is displayed. If you use eBooks in your teaching, please instruct your students to read a specific section of a chapter by adding a note in your reading list. As page ranges may not be displayed you can direct students to e.g., a subheading in a chapter. Where page numbers are not available, this will also change how students reference these publications in assessments. 

Please contact library.buslaw@qut.edu.au with any questions.