literature reviews in Business

A smart and effective method for undertaking literature reviews particularly for research students and others new to a discipline.

"Narrative methods that are commonly used in many research theses, rely on the expertise and experience of the author, making them challenging for novices. In contrast, the method we use and recommend involves systematically searching the literature using online database and other sources to find all relevant papers that fit specific criteria (systematically identifying the literature), entering information about each study into a personal database, then compiling tables that summarise the current status of the literature (quantifying the literature). The results are reliable, quantifiable and reproducible.

Using this method, it’s also possible to determine if there are suitable datasets for meta-analysis. By mapping the literature we can not only identify what is known, but also, but where there are gaps: a critical issue in advancing research and designing PhD research programs." 

Another tool in your arsenal of options for retrieving evidence for your next large-scale review article or bibliometric study is quite possibly none other than the aptly named, 'Publish or Perish'. A tool more familiar with those who have looked into more conventional publication measures nevertheless has facility to conveniently retrieve bulk result sets from larger federated search engines such as Google Scholar.

On the plus side P.o.P does provide a structured search form for Google Scholar that allows for targeting journal or publication titles, article titles, author or broader keyword matching.On the down side P.o.P does not support Google target search operators such as 'Site:' or  'inurl:', this means you would still need to use the web version for retrieving grey literature or sources that coincide with commercial or governmental organisations (talk to your friendly librarian if you would like to learn more on searching grey literature).

In any event, the most compelling reason to utilise P.o.P for preliminary searching in Google Scholar is the facility for bulk result export of up to 1000 items via CSV (for screening via journal quartile), Bibtex, Endnote or RIS format (for fulltext retrieval and deduplication)

There is no single database that will search across all the FT50 or Q1 or A8 journals but you can search across the ISSNs. The ISSN is unique to the journal, there may be a couple - one for the print & one for the online versions. 

So use these ISSNs to search on your topic across a number of major business databases - I would suggest ABI, Business Source Elite and Scopus

To search all 50 simultaneously copy and paste the following text into one of the search boxes and  after pasting the above journal list into the search box, use the corresponding dropdown menu to specify that you are looking for the publication field "ISSN"

ISSNs for the FT50:

00014273 OR 03637425 OR 00014826 OR 00018392 OR 00028282 OR 08239150 OR 00129682 OR 10422587 OR 00178012 OR 00904848 OR 10477047 OR 01654101 OR 00218456 OR 00219010 OR 01674544 OR 08839026 OR 10577408 OR 00935301 OR 00221082 OR 00221090 OR 0304405* OR 00472506 OR 00222380 OR 00222429 OR 00222437 OR 02726963 OR 00223808 OR 00251909 OR 07322399 OR 02767783 OR 10477039 OR 01708406 OR 10591478 OR 00335533 OR 13806653 OR 08939454 OR 0019848* OR 01432095 OR 07421222 OR 00920703 OR 15234614 OR 15723097 OR 01492063 OR 03613682 OR 00187267 OR 02726963 OR 15265463 OR 07495978 OR 15265455 OR 10477039 OR 00487333 OR 00346527 OR 1467937X OR 1932443X

You can do this with other lists e.g. ABDC list of A* journals (ISSN included) or you could manually bring this together from a Q1 subject list in Scimago

When assembling an evidence summary for a review article or more formal type systematic review there may arise the need to engage software other than citation management apps (read, Endnote, Mendeley at al.) to record and audit retrieved literature. An obvious choice is typically Excel given most citation management software will generate and export a spreadsheet quite readily, much the least the ease and simplicity of collaborating with a team on a spreadsheet via Office365. Most citation management software handle bulk deduplication of records, however, where the quality and completeness of records from various databases is variable enlisting something like Excel with more flexibility and advanced text filtering facility makes screening publications while keeping track of the inclusion/exclusion of publications far easier. Enter the free Excel add-in, Fuzzy Lookup, a formula-free way of matching and filtering publications based on your own specimen criteria. The add-in is provided as a free download from this website and while there are innumerable tutorials the Business Liaison Librarians have put together a 'Tip Sheet' to keep at hand - see this link to download.

Click the image to download

There is no easy answer. We suggest doing your search within your favourite database (Scopus/Google Scholar/ABI) and exporting results to a .csv file.

This can be done via Endnote too but it is difficult 

From Scimago - 'download the data' of desirable journals into csv

The best way to compare both lists is to install the “Fuzzy Look-Up” excel add-in and match based on Journal titles.

 Fuzzy match is far more forgiving in terms of cross referencing slight variations in a string of words / characters.

 The excel add-in is available for free from Microsoft and in fairly straightforward to download, please see link here for download installer and instructions:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-au/download/details.aspx?id=15011

 This page provides a clear and concise set of instructions for how you might go about using Fuzzy Match to cross reference your publications list with the Scimago list. 

Covidence Help Centre - step-by step training

Step-by-step webinar series - each section in detail

🚀 Step 1: Setting up the review in Covidence - Click here to watch a recent recording. 

🤔 Step 2: Screening in Covidence:  A beginners Guide - Click here to watch a recent recording. 

📚 Step 3: Full text retrieval in Covidence Click here to watch a recent recording. 

📂 Step 4: Extracting data and assessing quality (Extraction 1) - TBC

Extracting data and assessing quality (Extraction 2) - Click here to watch a recent recording.

⬇️ Step 5: Exporting data (Extraction 1) in Covidence - Click here to watch a recent recording.

Exporting data (Extraction 2) in Covidence - TBC                   

📊 Step 6: PRISMA Reporting and Covidence - Click here to watch a recent recording. 

Are you using EndNote or another bibliographic software to manage references? These tools interface well with Covidence.

In Covidence you can:

• Import references - Covidence works seamlessly with your favourite reference managers like EndNote, Zotero, Refworks, Mendeley or any tool that support RIS, CSV or PubMed XML formats. Covidence can automatically remove duplicates for you.
• Screen title and abstract - Breeze through screening with keyword highlighting and a lightning quick interface. Covidence keeps full records of who voted and supports single or dual screeners.
• Bulk PDF import - Transfer PDFs stored in your reference manager to Covidence in a few clicks.
• Screen full text - Decide quickly on studies in full text. Capture reasons for exclusion and any notes so you can resolve any disagreements quickly, with a click of a button.
• Create forms - Be in control and stay focused on your PICO question. Customisable extraction forms means you only spend time extracting what you need.
• Customise risk of bias - Automatically populate your risk of bias tables by highlighting and commenting on text directly in your PDF.
• Conduct data extraction - Extract data efficiently with a side-by-side view of your customised form and PDF. Then, when you are done, easily compare your form with other reviewers.
• Export - Covidence exports to all the common formats so you can continue your review in your preferred software.
• Collaborate - You can invite other reviewers (including external colleagues) to work with you on the project.