research impact

Gathering evidence of Research Impact for Academics in Business

A checklist of databases & tools for you to use
Authorise export of content from Pure to ORCID. See instructions here (under manage your ORCID).
Check your profiles in Scopus and Web of Science to ensure they are accurate
SciVal to generate a quick metrics report including field weighted citation metrics:
QUT ePrints statistics dashboard shows your publication downloads and where attention is coming from.
Check the accuracy of your other public profiles, for instance your Google Scholar, LinkedIn and The Conversation profiles.
Use Overton to find citations of your publications in policy documents by entering your name in the ‘Search People’ tab
If you publish monographs, Worldcat can indicate how many libraries worldwide hold your work, and where these libraries are etc. Libraries Australia shows within Australian libraries.
Altmetric Explorer will summarise your mentions within social media, news and blogs and policy.
Google Advanced Search to identify grey literature. Its menu allows you to limit your search by “site or domain”, for instance: .edu, .org or .gov.

Overton
A searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers from 182 countries and over a thousand sources worldwide. Each document is parsed to find references, people and key concepts which are then used to link them to relevant news stories, academic research, think tank output and other policy.
Login help: If asked to Find your institution search for QUT and select the second option listed Queensland University of Technology - QUT (do not select the first Queensland University of Technology option as this will display a Web Authentication error.)
SciVal
A strategic analysis tool. It offers an interdisciplinary perspective of research performance that helps identify an institution's and/or country's academic strengths. This tool is based on Scopus data.
Includes SciVal modules: Overview, Trends, Benchmarking, and Collaboration.
Scopus
An index of peer-reviewed literature including journals, books and conference papers covering a wide range of subject areas. It is primarily aimed at researchers and provides a number of tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
tag-eng-pm
health-ql

Overview of how to put Metrics in context
Consider what strength you are demonstrating

SciVal
Trends module currently on trial until 25 August
https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/scival/features#analyze
Includes SciVal modules: Overview, Trends, Benchmarking, and Collaboration.

Library Support for Academic Promotion

Tips for getting research outputs in the ARC RMS

overview ppt with screen shots
Get things right in Pure, to get things into ORCiD & eprints

Getting your Journal into Scopus - criteria & strategy

15 Journal attributes

Online, visible, findable, readable
Aims and scopes indicates quality and conformity, what is unique, how located in the field
Easily discoverable malpractice/misconduct statement: a separate page for policies
Separate policy page, including dispute resolution policy
Adheres to COPE Principles
Clearly details peer review process – evidence of robustness
Editor standing easily verified, affiliations up to date, contact information
Publication schedule unbroken
Citedness in Scopus ( search secondary documents in Scopus)
Applies DOI
Has ISSN
Indexed by platforms & databases e.g. Informit
English language policies, abstracts and article titles
Quality of home page up to the standard of those in Scopus
Membership to a society or institution

2 Strategies:

Find a journal that is similar, indexed in Scopus and scrutinize page.
Scopus is good at giving feedback if the application fails so it's worth trying & you may have to try a few times. See Scopus policy selection and the Title Selection Form is here

Things for you to do to prepare for grant rounds etc

Check that your PURE publications are up to date
In your PURE personal profile create and connect to your ORCID
Set up an account in ARC RMS and connect to your ORCID, https://www.arc.gov.au/grants/rms-information/rms-auto-population-research-outputs

Many authors also have a Google Scholar Citation Profile. This profile is useful as it increases your visibility as a researcher and can be used to showcase your work and networks e.g. as https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=sTMFGpkAAAAJ&hl=en&oi=ao

Contact your Liaison Librarian for a consultation, workshop or if you are experiencing any issues with your publication records.

Finding D1 journals in Scimago and Journal Citation Reports

When deciding where to publish, one factor many researchers consider is the ranking of the journal. Scimago and Journal Citation Reports (JCR) are two sources of journal rankings.

Scimago is freely available and uses Scopus data.
JCR, from Clarivate, uses Web of Science data.

Often the ranking for a single journal will vary between these two databases, so it is recommended to search both to get a more comprehensive view of the journal's metrics and ranking. QUT researchers often refer to D1 journals (top decile ranked journals). D1 ranked journals are journals that sit within that top 10% of a subject category. These short videos can help you determine the top decile of ranking of a journal.

Both videos will open in MediaHub (QUT login required).

Add a Publications Graph to your QUT Staff Profile

The publications graph is a great feature and looks like the image below. It is hidden by default and has to be manually activated on your Staff Profile (by you!) Only 70 academics in all of QUT have opted to display it. Here is an example of a profile featuring the publications graph:
https://www.qut.edu.au/about/our-people/academic-profiles/a3.williamson#publications