Handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias

Reference works such as handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias provide an excellent overview of a subject, including definitions of terms. They are often a good starting point to gaining an understanding of an area or term. In Physics handbooks often also provide numerical data. Below are listed some well-known Physics reference works.

CHEMnetBASE reference books
Major chemical reference titles such as dictionaries, handbooks, and property databases.
Knovel science and engineering ebooks
Reference ebooks in science and engineering.
Registration required:
- First time Knovel users will be prompted to create a profile. Do this using your QUT email address.

A Dictionary of Physics by Jonathan Law (Editor); Richard Rennie (Editor) This is the most popular dictionary of physics available, and contains almost 4,000 entries covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts.
Publication Date: 2015
Applied Mathematical and Physical Formulas Second Edition by Vukota Boljanovic The new and revised version of this comprehensive pocket reference guide is ideal for anyone who deals with physics, chemistry, mathematics, finance, and computer systems and needs to review or quickly refresh their memory of what they studied in school.
Publication Date: 2015
Comprehensive Biophysics by Edward Egelman (Editor-In-Chief) Biophysics (also biological physics) is an interdisciplinary science that applies theories and methods of the physical sciences to questions of biology.
Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Applied Physics by George L. Trigg (Editor) Demonstrates the synergy between physics and technological applications.
Publication Date: 2004
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Applied and Engineering Physics by Robert Splinter This resource provides a single, concise reference containing terms and expressions used in the study, practice, and application of physical sciences.
Publication Date: 2016

Handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias

Global links and information

Students and staff

Alumni

Community

About

Need help?

Get in touch

Acknowledgement of Traditional Owners