Animal Behavior Desk Reference : a dictionary of animal behavior, ecology, and evolution by Edward M. Barrows"Words are our tools, and, as a minimum, we should use clean tools. We should know what we mean and what we do not, and we must forearm ourselves against the traps that language sets us." -- The Need for Precise Terminology, Austin (1957, 7¿8) It follows that, for effective and efficient communication, people should have, or at least understand, the same precise terminology. Such terminology is crucial for the advancement of basic, theoretical, and applied science, yet too often there is ambiguity between scientific and common definitions and even discrepancies in the scientific literature. Providing a common ground and platform for precise scientific communication in animal behavior, ecology, evolution, and related branches of biology, Animal Behavior Desk Reference, A Dictionary of Behavior, Ecology, and Evolution, Third Edition contains more than 800 new terms and definitions, 48 new figures, and thousands of additions and improvements. Using a dictionary format to present definitions in a standard, easily accessible manner, the book¿s main body emphasizes conceptual terms, rather than anatomical parts or taxonomic terms, and focuses on nouns, rather than verbs or adjectives. Term hierarchies are handled with bulleted entries and terms with multiple definitions are included as superscripted entries. All sources are cited and most are paraphrased to conform to uniform style and length. The dictionary also includes nontechnical and obsolete terms, synonyms, pronunciations, and notes and comments, as well as etymologies, term originators, and related facts. Appendices address organism names, organizations, and databases. Devoted to the precise and correct use of scientific language, this third edition of a bestselling standard enables students and scientists alike to communicate their findings and promote the efficient advancement of science.
Publication Date: 2011
A Dictionary of Ecology by Allaby, Michael, editor.This fully revised, updated, and expanded dictionary contains over 6,500 entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Entries cover topics such as plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, population, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology, and meteorology. It also includes many line drawings and useful appendices.
Encyclopedia of Ecology by Brian FathEncyclopedia of Ecology, Second Edition continues the acclaimed work of the previous edition published in 2008. It covers all scales of biological organization, from organisms, to populations, to communities and ecosystems. Laboratory, field, simulation modelling, and theoretical approaches are presented to show how living systems sustain structure and function in space and time. New areas of focus include micro- and macro scales, molecular and genetic ecology, and global ecology (e.g., climate change, earth transformations, ecosystem services, and the food-water-energy nexus) are included. In addition, new, international experts in ecology contribute on a variety of topics.
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering by James R. Pfafflin"The authors ... continue the pursuit of new knowledge, calculated to bring new fruits of health, safety, and comfort to man and his environs. The charms, as well as the subtle hazards, of the terms 'conservation, preservation, and ecology' need to be crystallized so that the public and their decision-makers practice this complex art with clearer conception and perception than is apparent in recent bitter confrontations." --From the Foreword to the Fourth Edition by Abel Wolman What's New in This Edition: New entries on environmental and occupational toxicology, geoengineering, and lead abatement Twenty-five significantly updated entries, including expanded discussion of water supplies and waste water treatment, biomass and renewable energy, and international public health issues An expanded list of acronyms and abbreviations Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering, Sixth Edition is still the most comprehensive, authoritative reference available in the field. This monumental two-volume encyclopedia now includes entries on topics ranging from acid rain, air pollution, and community health to environmental law, instrumentation, modeling, alternative energy, radioactive waste, and water treatment. The broad coverage includes highly specialized topics as well as those that transcend traditional disciplinary boundaries, reflecting the interdisciplinary skills and knowledge required by environmental researchers and engineers. Featuring expert contributors representing industry, academia, and government agencies, the encyclopedia presents fundamental concepts and applications in environmental science and engineering. The entries are supported by extensive figures, photographs, tables, and equations. This sixth edition includes new material on water supplies and wastewater treatment, biomass and renewable energy, and international public health issues. New entries cover environmental and occupational toxicology, geoengineering, and lead abatement. The Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineeringprovides a view of the field that helps readers understand, manage, and respond to threats to the human environment. Also Available Online This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for researchers, students, and librarians, including:  Citation tracking and alerts  Active reference linking  Saved searches and marked lists  HTML and PDF format options Contact Taylor and Francis for more information or to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367; (E-mail) firstname.lastname@example.org International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062; (E-mail) email@example.com
Call Number: 628.03 9 /6 V1 and 628.03 9 /6 V2
Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by Bernd Würsig (Editor); J. G. M. "Hans" Thewissen (Editor); Kit M. Kovacs (Editor)The Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals, Third Edition covers the ecology, behavior, conservation, evolution, form and function of whales, dolphins, seals, sea lions, manatees, dugongs, otters and polar bears. This edition provides new content on anthropogenic concerns, latest information on emerging threats such as ocean noise, and impacts of climate change. With authors and editors who are world experts, this new edition is a critical resource for all who are interested in marine mammals, especially upper level undergraduate and graduate students, researchers, and managers, and is a top reference for those in related fields, from oceanographers to environmental scientists. Significant content and topic updates, as well as the addition of new topics in such areas as anthropogenic disturbance Visual maps of the oceans and seas mentioned in contributions, helping to place the geographical features described in the text with clear, consistent species illustrations Written to help users learn new information or brush up on a topic quickly, with the references at the end of each entry to help guide readers into more specialist literature