Rapid detection and indication of the microbiological quality of liquids is an emerging topic that has high potential for numerous applications in the fields of environmental monitoring, industrial process control and medical surveillance. Latest technologies allow online and near-real-time quantitative or qualitative microbial measurements with a significantly higher temporal resolution than traditional methods. This handbook also contains an extensive glossary pointing out and describing relevant terms and definitions.
Following a treatment of transcriptome analysis, the book goes on to discuss replacement and mutation analysis, gene silencing and computational analysis. The whole is rounded off with a look at emerging technologies. Each chapter is accompanied by a concise overview, helping readers to quickly identify topics of interest, while important, carefully selected words and concepts are explained in a handy glossary.
Covering a wide range of topics, from classical biochemistry to proteomics and genomics, it also details the properties of commonly used biochemicals, laboratory solvents, and reagents. An entirely new section on Chemical Biology and Drug Design gathers data on amino acid antagonists, click chemistry, plus glossaries for computational drug design and medicinal chemistry. Each table is exhaustively referenced, giving the user a quick entry point into the primary literature.
Thoroughly revised and expanded by over 20% with over 12,000 entries in cellular and molecular biology Includes expanded coverage of terms, including plant molecular biology, microbiology and biotechnology areas Consistently provides the most complete short definitions of technical terminology for anyone working in life sciences today Features extensive cross-references Provides multiple definitions, notes on word origins, and other useful features
Assists with the language of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology which has expanded enormously partly due the massive influence of the Genome and successive "-omics" projects which havedeveloped in to many new areas of research. At the same time, terms from other subject areas - including mathematics, statistics, physics and other life sciences - appear increasingly in the biochemical literature.
Contains over 7,500 up-to-date and cross-referenced entries, including 540 that are newly written. The entries include the latest terminology, concepts, theories, and techniques, covering not only genetics but also such overlapping disciplines ascell biology, medicine, and evolutionary biology.
More than 3,500 technical terms from the fields of plant genetics and molecular biology are defined An excellent educational tool that will save you time and effort, this dictionary brings together into a single source the meaning and origin of terms from the fields of classical genetics, molecular genetics, mutagenesis, population genetics, statistics, plant biotechnology, evolutionary genetics, plant breeding, and plant biotechnology.
It contains over 5,500 clear and concise entries on all aspects of botany including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, biogeography, earth history, and the earthsciences. Classification is comprehensive and wide ranging: approximately one-third of the entries are devoted to taxonomic groups from bacteria and fungi, to the main groups of flowering and non-flowering plants.
Covers the whole field of pure and appliedmicrobiology and microbial molecular biology in one volume. Reflects the latest developments in the field Features over 18,000 entries from concise definitions of terms to review-length articles.
Containing over 6,000 entries on all aspects of zoology. Complemented by numerous illustrations, it includes terms from the areas of ecology, animal behaviour, evolution, earth history, zoogeography, genetics,and physiology and provides full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals.
Updated with new terms, major discoveries, significant scientists, and illustrations.
Developmental biology is the study of the mechanisms ofdevelopment, differentiation, and growth in animals and plants atthe molecular, cellular, and genetic levels.
"A Dictionary of Biology" is an up-to-date reference work explains several thousand specialized words that allow for empirical approaches to the biological sciences. It presents clear and authoritative explanations of the terms and will remain useful as a quick and concise source of reference.
With over 22,000 entries, Henderson's Dictionary of Biology is the most comprehensive on the market. It continues to be an essential reference for students, teachers and researchers within any of the biological sciences.
This set offers accessible, easy-to-understand scientific information on nonhumans from the animal kingdom, from insects to reptiles to mammals. Topics include anatomy, behavior, classification, ecology, evolution, habitats, physiology, reproduction and development, and scientific methods.
Reflect the most recent developments in modern zoology. It covers the behaviour, diet, distribution, and evolution of every known living mammal in the world in clear, accessible language, and is superbly illustrated throughout with photographs and original artwork.
An authoritative guide to what we know about evolutionary biology, from the origins of species to the selfish gene and beyond.The Encyclopedia of Evolution covers the essentials of evolutionary biology in 370 original articles written by leading experts. The articles cover basic concepts and theories; models, methods, and findings; schools of thought; current controversies; biographies; and more.The Encyclopedia covers evolutionary thought in genetics, animal behavior, and every area of the life sciences, as well as in anthropology, psychology, linguistics, sociology, economics, medicine, philosophy, and other fields. There are hundreds of tables, charts, grtaphs, maps and other illustrations, bibliographies, cross-references and index.
It bridges the gap between introductory texts and specialized reviews. Covering topics ranging from the basic science of microbiology to the current hot topics in the field, it will be invaluable for obtaining background information on a broad range of microbiological topics.
In more than 200 entries, Encyclopedia of Microbiology presents the myriad ways in which microorganisms influence the biosphere. Focusing on how all microorganisms relate to each other just as all higher organisms relate to all other animate and inanimate objects on Earth, this new resource explores all aspects of microbiology from mycology (the study of fungi) to the simplest biological entities of all, viruses, to prions, which are even more streamlined than viruses and just as dangerous.
Illustrates the importance of microbiology, a field that cannot be over emphasized in this booming biotechnology age. Key Features * Completely redesigned and revised approach with 65% new material * Contains approximately 300 articles, 1000 illustrations, and 400 tables * New design includes thematic table of contents, combined glossary of terms, and appendix * Provides color plate sections in each volume * 17 subject areas, including exciting coverage of microbes in extreme environments and microbes in emerging infections
A multi-faceted reference work, the Encyclopedia of Applied Plant Sciences addresses the core knowledge, theories, and techniques employed by plant scientists, while also concentrating on applications of these in research and in industry. Plants influence all our lives as sources of sustenance, fuel and building materials. The Encyclopedia of Applied Plant Sciences is a comprehensive yet succinct publication that covers the application of current advances in the biological sciences, through which scientists can now better produce sustainable, safe food, feed and food ingredients, and renewable raw materials for industry and society. This three-volume set also covers the concerns over continuing advances in the application of knowledge in the areas of ecology and plant pathology, genetics, physiology, biochemistry and biotechnology, as well as the ethical issues involved in the use of the powerful techniques available to modern plant science.