Books and ebooks

Principles of International Law provides a clear, succinct and accessible guide to the cardinal concepts of public international law by covering its structure, systematic requirements and major substantive topics.

Akehurst's Modern Introduction to International Law continues to offer a concise and accessible overview of the concepts, themes and issues central to international law. This fully updated eighth edition encompasses the plethora of recent developments and updates in the field, and includes new dedicated chapters on international human rights, self-determination and international economic relations, an extended history and theory section reflecting the evolution of new and critical approaches in the field and a greater focus on terrorism and international criminal law.

Written by one of the world's leading international lawyers, this is the new and updated edition of Jan Klabbers' landmark textbook. International law can be defined as 'the rules governing the legal relationship between nations and states', but in reality it is much more complex, with political, diplomatic and socio-economic factors shaping the law and its application. This refreshingly clear, concise textbook encourages students to view international law as a dynamic system of organising the world. Bringing international law back to its first principles, the book is organised around four questions: Where does it come from? To whom does it apply? How does it resolve conflict? And what does it say? Building on these questions with both academic rigour and clarity of expression.

Private International Law in Australia provides a clear and comprehensive analysis of the principles of private international law and the methods by which such principles are applied to cross-border legal problems in Australia. Important recent developments in Australian private international law are discussed, together with legislative reforms and significant decisions, particularly of Australian courts.

A concise, authoritative introduction to public international law. Public International Law is an introductory textbook, written specifically for a one-semester course. Taking a unique Australian perspective, it provides students with the tools to analyse, critique, and deepen their understanding of public international law.This book is an authoritative guide, offering a coherent and systematic analysis of the underpinning theory and practice of international law. Included are topics unique to the teaching of international law, such as human rights law, law of the sea and international criminal law, among other thought-provoking topics

A significant introduction to the study of comparative law and a notable scholarly work, Major Legal Systems in the World Today analyzes the general characteristics which lie behind the development of the four principal legal systems of the world: the Civil law, the Common law, the Socialist law (primarily Soviet), and those based on religious or philosophical principles (Muslim, Hindu, Chinese, Japanese, and African).

Encompassing the history and theory of international law, the author writes a timely and important review of this debated topic. Covering various topics including primitive legal scholarship, medieval law and the Grotian Tradition, this original piece explores the topic of International Law in a comprehensive and refreshing manner.

The Oxford Handbook of International Legal Theory provides an accessible and authoritative guide to the major thinkers, concepts, approaches, and debates that have shaped contemporary international legal theory. The Handbook features more than fifty original essays by leading international scholars from a wide range of traditions, nationalities, and perspectives, reflecting the richness and diversity of this dynamic field.

Provides an exhaustive and contemporary account of Australia’s interactions with international law in the 21st century. The work divides into analysis of critical aspects of Australia’s international law engagement with international organisations, treaty making, dispute resolution and the interaction of international law with Australian law.

An authoritative and comprehensive study of the United Nations' legal practice, this volume covers the formal structures of the UN as it has expanded over the years since its founding in 1945 and all that this complex organization does. All substantive issues are addressed in separate sections, including among others, the responsibilities of the UN, financing, immunities, human rights, preventing armed conflicts and peacekeeping, and judicial matters.

International Law: Cases and Materials with Australian Perspectives remains an authoritative textbook on international law for Australian students. With a strong focus on Australian practice and interpretation, the text examines how international law is developed, implemented and interpreted within the international community and considers new and developing approaches within this field. This edition has been comprehensively updated to address recent developments in international law.