Commentary

Legal commentaries provide up-to-date expert analysis of legislation, cases, and the corresponding legal materials related to an area of law. They can be a great starting point in legal research as it provides an overview of the law and details of the key legislation and cases on a given topic. Commentary services might be available in print as looseleaf services or online via databases.

Legal commentary databases

CCH iKnowConnect
Case law and looseleaf services covering a range of practice areas including Business Law, Employment and HR, Environment, Family Law, GST, Industrial Relations, Intellectual Property, Occupational Health and Safety plus more.
Lexis+ (including Practical Guidance)
Australian legal materials including key Australian Law reports and unreported judgments. Includes the Practical Guidance database:Practical Guidance includes guidance notes, commentary, checklists, precedents, forms, cases and legislation written by expert lawyers covering the practice areas: Employment, Family Law and General Counsel.
Westlaw (Australia)
Australian legal material including law reports, unreported judgments and legal research titles.
Please note: Practical Law is not available via Westlaw Australia. Please use the Practical Guidance feature in Lexis+ instead.

More legal commentary databases at QUT.

Representative commentaries

Court forms, precedents & pleadings, Queensland
See Legal practioners\Legal practioners (commentary).
Solicitors manual
Lawyers Practice Manual Qld

Commentary

Legal commentary databases

Representative commentaries

Global links and information

Students and staff

Alumni

Community

About

Need help?

Get in touch

Acknowledgement of Traditional Owners