It also covers unreported judgments from the High Court of Australia, Federal Court, Superior Courts of New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, Western Australia, South Australia, Tasmania and Northern Territory, as well as Industrial Courts, Equal Opportunities Tribunal and Superannuation Complaints Tribunal.
Use the KeyCite citation research service to help verify whether the case is still good law and to find citing references by using KeyCite Flags, KeyCite History and KeyCite Citing References. For further detail see Westlaw (Australia) - KeyCite Guide.
More case law databases at QUT.
Browsing
A caselaw database may have a browse option for finding cases on a topic. For example, in Australian Current Law (ACL) Reporter on LexisNexis AU (LNau) you can browse for cases on a topic by expanding the Table of Contents. Look at the database 'help' pages and guides for database specific browsing instructions.
Keyword searches
Generate keywords from the legal issues you identify. Consider using alternative keywords as illustrated in the box above. You will find alternative keywords in your background reading, thesauri and subject fields of the results you find when searching. Look at the database 'help' pages and guides for specific keyword instructions.
Field searches
Use the fields available in a search template to return highly relevant results. For example, in a citator or full text judgments database, a catchword field search for "battered woman syndrome" will only retrieve cases where the phrase is contained in the catchwords. Look at the database 'help' pages and guides for database specific Field information.
QUT acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the lands where QUT now stands.
