Legal dictionaries and encyclopaedias

Legal dictionaries explain legal words and phrases as legally defined by legislation and case law. Legal dictionaries are used to find preliminary information, synonyms and identify the area of law. They may also identify key primary sources.

Legal encyclopaedias provide brief descriptions on all areas of Australian law. Legal encyclopaedias are used to introduce a topic of law and builds knowledge. They may also identify key primary sources.

Australian Legal Dictionaries

LexisNexis Concise Australian Legal Dictionary
A plain English reference dictionary for Australian law students. Available in print only, in the Law Library's textbook and reference collections at call number 345.03 BUTT.
Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary
An online reference work containing over 25,000 definitions. Terms are defined in an Australian context and entries list Australian legislative and judicial authority, wherever it exists.
Australian Law Dictionary
The Australian Law Dictionary has been built from the ground up and ‘mapped’ around 25 key legal subject areas to ensure comprehensive coverage of core legal content. Available via Oxford Reference Online. Hard copy also located in the Law Library's reference collection at call number 345.03 AUST.
Australian Legal Words & Phrases
This work provides a comprehensive listing of words and phrases which have either been defined by legislation or interpreted by judges in the courts. Available online or in print. Hard copy volumes are located in the Law Library's reference collection at call number 345.03 AUST.

Australian Legal Encyclopaedias

The Laws of Australia
A legal encyclopaedia covering all areas of Australian law, published by Thomson Reuters Australia. Available online only.
Halsbury's Laws of Australia
A legal encyclopaedia covering all areas of Australian law, published by LexisNexis Australia. Available online and in print. Hard copy volumes are located in the Law Library's reference collection at call number 345.0994 HALS
The Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents
An encyclopaedia containing over 4,000 legal forms and precedents covering 93 areas of law, with introductory notes explaining the purpose of individual forms, precedents and clauses, and indicating where and when each should be used. Available online and in print. Hard copy volumes are located in the Law Library's reference collection at call number 347.92 AUST.

Other encyclopaedias and dictionaries

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
Published under the auspices of the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law, MPEPIL represents a fully updated, comprehensive work covering the central and essential topics in international law. The authors of the articles are legal scholars and practitioners from all over the world.
International Encyclopedia of Comparative Law
An encyclopaedia offering a comparative law analysis of the world’s legal systems. Individual country reports are included as well as volumes addressing specific legal topics. Available in print only, in the Law Library's reference collection at call number 340.50023 INTE.
Halsbury's Laws of England
An online encyclopaedia which provides a comprehensive narrative statement of the law of England and Wales. Entries are also annotated with references to relevant case law and legislation.
The Oxford Companion to American Law
An online encyclopaedia offering a comprehensive guide to the development and current status of American law, featuring over 500 alphabetically arranged entries.
American Jurisprudence
An online American legal encyclopaedia which contains over 400 separate titles on a broad range of legal topics.
Oxford Reference Online Dictionary of Law
An online dictionary containing over 4,200 entries that clearly define the major terms, concepts, processes, and the organization of the English legal system.
Websters New World Law Dictionary
A United States plain English online legal dictionary which includes definitions for over 5,000 legal terms.
Parry & Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law
An online reference tool that brings together both terminology and pertinent descriptive information on international law. A hard copy is also available in the Law Library's reference collection at call number 341.403 PARR.

Legal dictionaries and encyclopaedias

Australian Legal Dictionaries

Australian Legal Encyclopaedias

Other encyclopaedias and dictionaries

Global links and information

Students and staff

Alumni

Community

About

Need help?

Get in touch

Acknowledgement of Traditional Owners