International Data

The Statistical Yearbook is an annual compilation of a wide range of international economic, social and environmental statistics on over 200 countries and areas, compiled from sources including UN agencies and other international, national and specialized organizations.

The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.

Create your own interactive maps based on IMF global economic data; based on the World Economic Outlook Database.

Dryad is a curated, general-purpose repository that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Data are linked both to and from the corresponding publication and, where appropriate, to and from select specialised data repositories (e.g. GenBank).

DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them

Human Development Data

The UK Data Service provides access to, and support for, the use of an extensive range of key economic and social data, spanning many disciplines and themes.

The UK’s largest collection of digital social and economic research data.

EM-DAT contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 18,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to present. The database is compiled from various sources, including UN agencies, non-governmental organisations, insurance companies, research institutes and press agencies.

The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables and reports.

From the U.S. Census Bureau. Provides links to the websites of Statistical Agencies throughout the world

A compilation of almost 30 United Nations and agency databases in one simple searching function. UNData contains over 60 million data points cover a wide range of subjects including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.

Statistics and statistical publications related to and produced by the European Union and candidate countries. Resources are browsable and searchable by both broad and narrow subject areas.

The Cross-National Equivalent File 1970-2013 contains equivalently defined variables for the British Household Panel Study (BHPS), the Household Income and Labour Dynamics in Australia (HILDA), the Korea Labor and Income Panel Study (KLIPS) (new this year), the Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID), the Russia Longitudinal Monitoring Survey (RLMS-HSE) (new this year), the Swiss Household Panel (SHP), the Canadian Survey of Labour and Income Dynamics (SLID), and the German Socio-Economic Panel (SOEP).

OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.

The European Social Survey (the ESS) is a biennial multi-country survey covering over 30 nations. The project is funded jointly by the European Commission, the European Science Foundation and academic funding bodies in each participating country, and is designed and carried out to exceptionally high standards. The project is directed by a Central Co-ordinating Team led by Roger Jowell at the Centre for Comparative Social Surveys, City University, London.

The ISSP is a cross-national collaboration programme conducting annual surveys on diverse topics relevant to social sciences.

"LIS is a data archive and research center dedicated to cross-national analysis. Our mission is to enable, facilitate, promote, and conduct cross-national comparative research on socio-economic outcomes and on the institutional factors that shape those outcomes."

The ESCAP online database includes country-level data related to demography, migration, education, health, poverty, gender, employment, economy, government finance, employment, transport, and environment. The comparability of indicators across countries and over time is maximized by limiting the data to a single source per indicator and by using well-recognized international data sources. The database also includes aggregate data for the world, major geographic regions, ESCAP subregions, income groupings of ESCAP members, ESCAP LDC countries and ESCAP LLDC countries.

A monthly survey of approximately 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The survey has been conducted for more than 50 years. A detailed demographic supplement is conducted annually in March, and supplements on other topics, including computer use and school enrolment.

The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CES) series provides information on the buying habits of American consumers and data to support periodic revisions of the Consumer Price Index.

The Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID) series was begun in 1968 to fill the need for a better understanding of the determinants of family income and its changes. Longitudinal survey of US individuals and the families in which they reside.

Conducted every three years, this survey collects information on the assets, liabilities and other financial characteristics of households. It is the only U.S. survey that contains an oversample of wealthy households. Sample Size is about 4,500 families.

A longitudinal U. S. government survey of the financial status of American households conducted since 1984. Covers government transfer and service programs, pension coverage, housing affordability, financial assistance for education, among other topics. The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) makes the SIPP data and documentation available along with Stata, SPSS, and SAS programs for reading the data. Users may find the NBER site the easiest to use.

The series is designed to enable a cross-national comparison of values and norms on a wide variety of topics and to monitor changes in values and attitudes across the globe. A variety of questions on religion and morality were included. Data is currently available for 1981-1984, 1990-1993, 1995-1997, and 1999-2005. The World Values Survey Association is carrying out a new wave of surveys during 2011-2012.

IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context.

The Pew Research Center for The People & The Press offers free access (with registration) to its data archive. Datasets are currently available dating back to January 1997. Datasets include: U.S. Politics & Policy; Journalism & Media; Internet, Science & Tech; Religion & Public Life; Hispanic Trends; Global Attitudes & Trends; Social & Demographic Trends

An extensive collection of numeric files in the social sciences, with emphasis on demography, economics and labour, political and social behaviour, family life, and health.

First published in 1878, the Statistical Abstract serves as the official federal summary of statistics and provides over 1,400 tables of benchmark measures on the demographic, housing, social, political, and economic condition of the United States.