Australia has a long history of public opinion polling dating back to the Second World War. Over time, various Australian polling firms have deposited their data with the Australian Data Archive. These collections now date from 1944 through to the present day.
Australian Social Trends (AST) is an Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) flagship publication presenting a picture of Australian society through a selection of articles. The articles aim to address current and ongoing social concerns, and focus on population groups of interest and changes over time. Each tells a story and provides a sense of the social and historical context of its topic.
A biennial series that studies social attitudes and behaviour of Australian citizens for the Australian and international research community. AuSSA provides cross-sectional data on the social attitudes and behaviour of Australians, repeating a core questionnaire for each cross-section and fielding specific modules relevant to the changing needs of the social research community. AuSSA is Australia's official survey in the International Social Survey Program (http://www.issp.org) and regularly includes ISSP modules
Conducted in 1998, 2000, and 2002 by the Pew Center for the People and the Press, the Biennial Media Consumption Survey measured the public's use of, and attitudes toward, the Internet and traditional news outlets. Respondents were asked questions concerning their use of newspapers, television news, radio news, and news magazines, including specific programs and publications.
Data.gov.au provides an easy way to find, access and reuse public datasets from the Australian Government and state and territory governments. The main purpose of the site is to encourage public access to and reuse of government data by providing it in useful formats and under open licences.
EVS "was initiated by the European Value System Study Group (EVSSG) in the late 1970s. It is a large-scale, cross-national, and longitudinal survey research program on how Europeans think about family, work, religion, politics and society. Four waves of surveys were administered from 1981 to 2008 in an increasing number of countries. The surveys explore value differences, similarities, and value changes."
The GSS gathers data on contemporary American society in order to monitor and explain trends and constants in attitudes, behaviours, and attributes. Hundreds of trends have been tracked since 1972. The GSS contains a standard core of demographic, behavioural, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Among the topics covered are civil liberties, crime and violence, intergroup tolerance, morality, national spending priorities, psychological well-being, social mobility, and stress and traumatic events.
These summary findings provide a snapshot of the data collected in the GSS, highlighting several themes emerging from the 2014 survey. The themes include how Australia has progressed on aspects of social capital such as participation, support, feelings of safety and trust.
Monitors social trends in Germany. Each data collection focuses on special topics of investigation. Basic demographic and socioeconomic data also are collected on the respondents, who are German-speaking persons 18 years of age and older. Conducted biennially since 1980. Before 1991, respondents were chosen from the Federal Republic of Germany and West Berlin only, and since 1991 from all of Germany.
HILDA is Australia's first nationally representative household based panel survey. The first wave of HILDA was conducted in 2001. Interviews are conducted annually with all members of each household aged 15 years and older. Waves of data include core questions as well as special modules such as wealth, retirement, disability, fertility, religion, health and social capital.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to thousands of social science datasets for research and instruction. This is a first place to start in looking for social science data for secondary analysis.
ISSP is an ongoing program of crossnational collaboration. Formed in 1984, the ISSP group develops topical modules dealing with important areas of social science as supplements to regular national surveys. Every survey includes questions about general attitudes toward various social issues such as the legal system, sex, and the economy. Special topics have included the environment, the role of government, social inequality, etc.
"The Monitoring the Future: A Continuing Study of the Lifestyles and Values of Youth annual surveys were designed to explore changes in important values, behaviors, and lifestyle orientations of contemporary American youth."
The goal of re3data.org is to create a global registry of research data repositories. The registry will cover research data repositories from different academic disciplines. re3data.org will present repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions.
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) maintains an internet based data service, bringing UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Data includes: Crime; Education; Energy; Environment; Finance; Food and Agriculture; Gender; Health; HIV/AIDS; Human development; Indicator database; Industry; Information and Communication Technology; Labour: National accounts; Official Development Assistance; Population; Refugees; Tourism; and Trade.
The World Database of Happiness is an archive of research findings on subjective enjoyment of life.
It brings together findings that are scattered throughout many studies and includes summary information from social surveys indicating levels of happiness in about 90 countries around the world, along with data on possible causal factors.
Data sets available at http://worlddatabaseofhappiness.eur.nl/ and http://worlddatabaseofhappiness.eur.nl/trendnat/framepage.htm
The series is designed to enable a cross-national comparison of values and norms on a wide variety of topics and to monitor changes in values and attitudes across the globe. A variety of questions on religion and morality were included.