The Australian Data Archive (ADA) provides a national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data. The ADA is comprised of seven sub-archives - Social Science, Historical, Indigenous, Longitudinal, Qualitative, Crime & Justice and International.
ADA Social Science provides a national service for the preservation of and access to data relating to social, political and economic issues, and is the primary facility for the storage of Australian data.. ADA Social Science currently holds over 2000 separate datasets from a variety of academic, government and non-government organisations, covering the spectrum of Australian and international social sciences. Themes include: Elections and politics; Public opinion and social attitudes; and Health.
The Statistics section of the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) website gives you access to the full range of ABS statistical and reference information.
The Census of Population and Housing is the largest statistical collection undertaken by the ABS and one of the most important. Its objective is to accurately measure the number and key characteristics of people who are in Australia.
Data.gov.au is the central source of Australian open government data. Anyone can access the anonymised public data published by federal, state and local government agencies. The main purpose of the site is to encourage public access to and reuse of government data by providing it in useful formats and under open licences.
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Data.gov is managed and hosted by the U.S. General Services Administration, Technology Transformation Service.
The University of Wisconsin's Data and Information Services Center's Internet Crossroads contains over 950 annotated links to data-related resources on the Internet.
The goal of re3data.org is to create a global registry of research data repositories. The registry will cover research data repositories from different academic disciplines. re3data.org will present repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to thousands of social science datasets for research and instruction. This is a first place to start in looking for social science data for secondary analysis.
Features an alphabetical list of data resources from government agencies. Includes topics such as health, education, economic, crime, child and family, immigration, genealogy, labour and many more.
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) maintains an internet based data service, bringing UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Data includes: Crime; Education; Energy; Environment; Finance; Food and Agriculture; Gender; Health; HIV/AIDS; Human development; Indicator database; Industry; Information and Communication Technology; Labour: National accounts; Official Development Assistance; Population; Refugees; Tourism; and Trade.
Serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Includes the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey the Economic Census, and more.
The UK Data Service provides access to, and support for, the use of an extensive range of key economic and social data, spanning many disciplines and themes.
Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Australia License.