HILDA is Australia's first nationally representative household based panel survey. The first wave of HILDA was conducted in 2001. Interviews are conducted annually with all members of each household aged 15 years and older. Waves of data include core questions as well as special modules such as wealth, retirement, disability, fertility, religion, health and social capital.
The Australian Survey of Social Attitudes (AuSSA) is a biennial survey which began in 2003. AuSSA provides authoritative data on the social attitudes and behaviour of Australians. It provides data on subjects like work and education, government spending and taxes, families, crime, and Australia's place in the world. AuSSA is a mail survey that gathers opinions from approximately 4,000 Australians aged 18 or above who are selected randomly from the AEC’s Electoral Roll. Reports 1 & 2 are available from the Library.
A biennial series that studies social attitudes and behaviour of Australian citizens for the Australian and international research community. AuSSA provides cross-sectional data on the social attitudes and behaviour of Australians, repeating a core questionnaire for each cross-section and fielding specific modules relevant to the changing needs of the social research community. AuSSA is Australia's official survey in the International Social Survey Program (http://www.issp.org) and regularly includes ISSP modules
A fascinating insight into what Australians think about contemporary political and social issues using data collected from the inaugural Australian Survey of Social Attitudes on the expressed opinions of some 4300 Australian adults. An excellent resource for students, teachers, researchers and policy makers, and for anyone interested in understanding the social dynamics of contemporary Australia.
Australia has a long history of public opinion polling dating back to the Second World War. Over time, various Australian polling firms have deposited their data with the Australian Data Archive. These collections now date from 1944 through to the present day.
An independent research project that measures the social, political and economic atmosphere in Africa. During Round 1, from July 1999 through June 2001, Afrobarometer surveys were conducted in 12 countries. Round 2 surveys were conducted from May 2002 through October 2003 in 15 countries. Round 3 surveys in 18 countries are planned for 2005-6. Survey microdata are released to the public two years after the first publication of a survey's results. Available through ICPSR.
The principal survey of voting behavior in the United States, conducted biennially since 1956. Basic questions on religious identification and attendance at religious services have been asked throughout the time series, but the religion module was substantially widened and improved starting in 1990. Contains links to download all the data.
This series of quadrennial studies was designed to investigate the opinions and attitudes of the general public and a select group of opinion leaders on matters relating to United States foreign policy and to define the parameters of public opinion within which decision-makers must operate.
Founded in 1992, the CORA contains hundreds of surveys collected by major commercial Canadian firms dating back to the 1970s. Most of the datasets are not available for direct download but access to the archive may be requested.
The Latin American Databank at the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research locates, acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America, including universities, institutes, individual scholars, private polling and public opinion research firms.
The Odum Institute for research in social science houses the Louis Harris Data Center, the national depository for publicly available survey data collected by Louis Harris and Associates, Inc. More than 1,200 Harris Polls from as early as 1958 are archived at the Center. Other public opinion data at the Institute include the Carolina Polls and Southern Focus Polls, Gallup polls from the U.S. and other countries, and polls from major broadcasting networks and newspapers.
The Pew Research Center for The People & The Press offers free access (with registration) to its data archive. Datasets are currently available dating back to January 1997. Datasets include: U.S. Politics & Policy; Journalism & Media; Internet, Science & Tech; Religion & Public Life; Hispanic Trends; Global Attitudes & Trends; Social & Demographic Trends
Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Australia License.