The Fashion History Timeline is an open-access resource that provides well-researched entries with a focus on dress history ranging from prehistoric to modern times, a Fashion dictionary and extensive databases.
Presented here alphabetically are forty of the most innovative designers in a combination of visual material with concise, descriptive texts by the book’s curators. Photographs, sketches, drawings, and computer renderings explore their design processes and showcase their most exquisite womenswear, shoes, hats, and accessories.
With the dramatic increase in popularity of fashion exhibitions over the past decade, this groundbreaking book provides a timely look at the evolution of the practice, taking as its anchor the seminal 1971 Victoria and Albert Museum exhibition Fashion: An Anthology by Cecil Beaton, revealing it to be symptomatic of a shift in museological attitudes.
Why is fashion "in fashion" in museums today? This timely volume brings together expert scholars and curators to examine the reasons behind fashion's popularity in the twenty-first century museum and the impact this has had on wider museum practice.
This book provides a comprehensive guide to mounting costumes from the eighteenth century to the present day. It includes methods for adapting and shaping figures to create historical silhouettes, constructing underpinnings and making replicas and toiles using inexpensive and simple techniques.
From the Dutch Golden Age to Saint Laurent: four centuries of costume from the unrivaled collection of the Rijksmuseum This richly illustrated book presents 80 exceptional garments from the Rijksmuseum's substantial costume collection, the oldest in the Netherlands.
Victoria and Albert Museum on VimeoThe Victoria and Albert Museum is the world's leading museum of art, design and performance. Home to 3,000 years' worth of amazing artefacts from many of the world's richest cultures, for 150 years our unsurpassable collections have intrigued, inspired and informed.