Cristobal Balenciaga (1895-1972) remains one of the most revered and enigmatic of fashion designers. Here, breathtaking illustrations reveal why he is renowned for exceptional tailoring, sculptural shapes, deft manipulation of textiles, and a dramatic use of color.
Yves Saint Laurent: The Scandal Collection, 1971 offers a behind-the-scenes look at the influential collection that "drew fire in the fashion world"--from the collection's inspiration to the press coverage that followed.
The World of Anna Sui looks at Sui's eclectic career as a designer and artist, both through her clothing and studio. Through interviews with fashion journalist Tim Blanks, the book explores Sui's lifelong engagement with fashion archetypes--the rocker, the schoolgirl, the punk, the goth, the bohemian--and reveals their inspiration and influence.
A landmark survey of the work of Isaac Mizrahi, a trailblazing and influential American fashion designer, artist, and entrepreneur. Beginning with Isaac Mizrahi's first fashion collection, which debuted to critical acclaim in 1986, and running though the present day, this stylish, lavishly illustrated book presents his signature couture collections.
The first book on the highly influential French fashion designer renowned for her rock' n' romantic style and for reinvigorating the house of Chloe. Martine Sitbon has become an icon among designers and fashionistas, earning her praise from Karl Lagerfeld as being "the only living French designer."
For his first major publication, Lismore has selected thirty major ensembles rich with social, historical, and cultural themes from around the world. Lismore's unique sartorial point of view and wildly imaginative sculptural creations beckon fashion lovers to question and analyze their own personal identity and individual sense of style.
Exploring their concept of "wearable art," Viktor&Rolf: Fashion Artists features some of the Dutch design duo's most show-stopping and innovative works, drawn from the Viktor&Rolf archive as well as museum collections in the Netherlands.
2017 marks the 70th anniversary of the House of Dior. For this book, seventy of the most memorable looks created Christian Dior and his successors - Yves Saint Laurent, Marc Bohan, Gianfranco Ferre, John Galliano, Raf Simons and Maria Grazia Chiuri - have been specially selected and photographed in fascinating detail.
A rebel by chance rather than by choice, a conservative revolutionary in the tradition dating back to the suffragette movement, Dame Vivienne represents quintessential Britishness strongly rooted in culture. In an account that starts from the creation of fifteen garments and accessories, this book pinpoints references to past times and art history, together with aesthetic and philosophical elements.
This book is conceived as a celebration of Alice Temperley's aesthetic and conveys the effortless decadence and handcrafted allure of her brand. This book highlights the key moments that have inspired the last decade of work--focusing on the personal moments that have shaped her brand.