Skip to main content

Industry Information

Industry Research

Identify the Industry

  • ABI/INFORM and Business Source Elite on EBSCOhost have searchable Thesauri to identify subject and descriptors. 

Locate Industry Surveys, Overviews & Reports

  • IBISWorld US & Global Industry Reports features over 700 reports on U.S. industries and a growing collection of global industry reports. The U.S. reports are written at the 5-digit level of the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). Each report provides data on Key Statistics; Industry Structure with market segmentation, major players, and market share; Industry Analysis of recent conditions and a five-year forecast; and Factors affecting the industry including economic conditions and management actions. Reports are updated up to four times a year depending on the popularity of the industry.
  • Euromonitor Passport GMID is an online database providing business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources. 205 countries are researched, with extended coverage of 52.  
  • Gartner research reports can help you evaluate technology vendors, products, services, and emerging trends. To search, enter keywords in the Search Research box at the top of the main portal page. To browse industries, look for Gartner Industry Advisory Services under Research. Notable: Gartner Hype Cycles provide a graphic representation of the maturity and adoption of technologies and applications, and how they are potentially relevant to solving real business problems and exploiting new opportunities. Gartner Hype Cycle methodology gives you a view of how a technology or application will evolve over time, providing a sound source of insight to manage its deployment within the context of your specific business goals.

Find Current News and In-depth Articles About the Industry

Articles published in leading business magazines, trade journals and newspapers often provide added depth and insight into an industry’s structure, strategy and competition. Factiva has complete coverage of industry news and articles. Both ABI/INFORM and Business Source Elite index, abstract and provide full-text for leading English-language business and trade magazines and journals.

Visit Industry Web sites and Leading Industry and Trade Associations

Nearly every type of business has one or more trade or professional associations to promote its interests and provide a forum to collect and share information.

Make a List of Leading Companies (Rankings)

Osiris and Orbis categorise all companies according to their industry

Find Market Share Data and Other Industry Statistics

“Market Shares” is used as a descriptor in the ABI/INFORM records. Most of the articles databases can be searched for market share and other industry data.You can also use Euromonitor Passport GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide.

 

Specific Industry Reports

Competitive Intelligence

Vital Statistics