Handbook of Linear Partial Differential Equations for Engineers and Scientists, Second Edition by Andrei D. Polyanin; Vladimir E. NazaikinskiiNew to the Second Edition are more than 700 pages with 1,500+ new first-, second-, third-, fourth-, and higher-order linear equations with solutions Systems of coupled PDEs with solutions. Some analytical methods, including decomposition methods and their applications. Symbolic and numerical methods for solving linear PDEs with Maple, Mathematica, and MATLAB. Many new problems, illustrative examples, tables, and figures. To accommodate different mathematical backgrounds, the authors avoid wherever possible the use of special terminology, outline some of the methods in a schematic, simplified manner, and arrange the material in increasing order of complexity, psychology, pharmaceuticals, and mathematics, and provides a clear introduction to the subject for the general reader.
Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of Mathematics for Engineers and Scientists by Andrei D. Polyanin; Alexander V. ManzhirovThe concise handbook covers the main fields of mathematics and focuses on the methods used for obtaining solutions of various classes of mathematical equations that underlie the mathematical modeling of numerous phenomena and processes in science and technology. It outlines the material in a simplified, schematic manner, avoiding special terminology wherever possible. The first part is a coherent survey of the most important definitions, formulas, equations, methods, and theorems. The second part provides many in-depth mathematical tables, including those of exact solutions of various types of equations.
This unique resource fills this gap in the decision analysis literature and features both soft personal/interpersonal skills and the hard technical skills involving mathematics and modeling. Readers in various fields including business, operations research, engineering, and science will learn how to identify and overcome the numerous challenges of decision making, choose the appropriate decision process, lead and manage teams, and create value for their organization. Performing modeling analysis, assessing risk, and implementing decisions are also addressed throughout. Additional features include: Key insights gleaned from decision analysis applications and behavioral decision analysis research Integrated coverage of the techniques of single- and multiple-objective decision analysis Multiple qualitative and quantitative techniques presented for each key decision analysis task Three substantive real-world case studies illustrating diverse strategies for dealing with the challenges of decision making Extensive references for mathematical proofs and advanced topics.
Operations Research (OR) began as an interdisciplinary activity to solve complex military problems during World War II. Utilizing principles from mathematics, engineering, business, computer science, economics, and statistics, OR has developed into a full fledged academic discipline with practical application in business, industry and government.
An introduction to general theories of stochastic processes and modern martingale theory. The volume focuses on consistency, stability and contractivity under geometric invariance in numerical analysis, and discusses problems related to implementation, simulation, variable step size algorithms, and random number generation.
Provides jargon-free definitions for even the most technical mathematical terms. With over 3,000 entries ranging from Achilles paradox to zero matrix, it covers all commonly encountered terms and concepts from pure and applied mathematics and statistics, for example, linear algebra, optimisation, nonlinear equations, and differential equations. In addition, there are entries on major mathematicians and on topics of more general interest, such as fractals, game theory, and chaos. Using graphs, diagrams, and charts to render definitions as comprehensible as possible, entries are clear and accessible.
This encyclopedia provides decision-makers in Operations Research with a comprehensive overview of the range of ideas and forces that combine in OR/MS. Topics include yield management, flexible queuing systems, service management, local search, tolerance sensitivity analysis, influence diagrams, knowledge management, strategy and policy making, school districting, computational biology.
Introductory articles provide a broad and moderately technical treatment of core topics. Advanced articles review key areas of research in a citation-rich format similar to that of leading review journals. Technical articles provide more detailed discussions of key concepts addressed in related articles. Case Studies/Historical Interludes present successful and/or interesting examples of operations research and management science methodology in practical or historical contexts. Offers the only cohesive multi-volume reference devoted to operations research and management science theory, methodology, and applications Includes over 600 articles with contributions from over 1,000 authors from 45 countries.