Books

This invaluable text allows science students to extend necessary skills and techniques, with the topics being developed through examples in science which are easily understood by students from a range of disciplines. The introductory approach eases students into the subject, progressing to cover topics relevant to first and second year study and support data analysis for final year projects.

This unique approach develops ring theory first & motivates students in the study of abstract algebra understanding the power of abstraction, and later on using examples of symmetries of figures in the plane and space as well as permutations. It includes straightforward exercises to quickly verify facts, warm-up exercises that test fundamental comprehension, and regular exercises that consist of computational and supply-the-proof problems.

Provides real-world, technical applications that promote intuitive reader learning with numerous fully worked examples and boxed and numbered formulas give students the essential practice they need to learn mathematics. Computer projects are given when appropriate, including BASIC, spreadsheets, computer algebra systems, and computer-assisted drafting. The graphing calculator has been fully integrated and calculator screens are given to introduce computations.

This book discusses recent advances and contemporary research in the field of cryptography, security, mathematics and statistics, and their applications in computing and information technology.

The book gives a comprehensive account of a variety of topics including - Efficient Global Methods for the Numerical Solution of Nonlinear Systems of Two point Boundary Value Problems; Advances on collocation based numerical methods for Ordinary Differential Equations and Volterra Integral Equations; Basic Methods for Computing Special Functions, Melt Spinning: Optimal Control and Stability Issues; Brief survey on the CP methods for the Schrödinger equation; Symplectic Partitioned Runge-Kutta methods for the numerical integration of periodic and oscillatory problems.

This textbook provides an introduction to the growing interdisciplinary field of computational science. It combines a foundational development of numerical methods with a variety of illustrative applications spread across numerous areas of science and engineering.

An introduction to the applications of modeling and analyzing natural, social, and technological processes. The book covers a wide range of key topics in mathematical methods and modeling and highlights the connections between mathematics and the applied and natural sciences. The Fourth Edition covers both standard and modern topics, including scaling and dimensional analysis; regular and singular perturbation; calculus of variations; Green's functions and integral equations; nonlinear wave propagation; and stability and bifurcation. The book provides extended coverage of mathematical biology, including biochemical kinetics, epidemiology, viral dynamics, and parasitic disease.

This is a book about linear partial differential equations that are common in engineering and the physical sciences.

Explores real variable theory that includes limit processes, infinite series, singular integrals, Fourier series, and vector field theory. Succeeding sections examine complex variables, linear analysis, and ordinary and partial differential equations. Answers to selected exercises appear in the appendix, along with Fourier and Laplace transformation tables and useful formulas.

Offering a number of mathematical facts and techniques not commonly treated in courses in advanced calculus, this book explores linear algebraic equations, quadratic and Hermitian forms, the calculus of variations, more.

Applied Mathematics: Made Simple provides an elementary study of the three main branches of classical applied mathematics: statics, hydrostatics, and dynamics. The book begins with discussion of the concepts of mechanics, parallel forces and rigid bodies, kinematics, motion with uniform acceleration in a straight line, and Newton's law of motion. Separate chapters cover vector algebra and coplanar motion, relative motion, projectiles, friction, and rigid bodies in equilibrium under the action of coplanar forces. The final chapters deal with machines and hydrostatics.