Handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias

Working computationally in applied mathematics is the very essence of dealing with real-world problems in science and engineering. Approximation theory-on the borderline between pure and applied mathematics- has always supplied some of the most innovative ideas, computational methods, and original approaches to many types of problems.

A reliable source of helpful definitions, theorems, and formulas, it features an easy-to-follow format outlining mathematical methods for speedy, accurate solutions to the most demanding problems. Among the topics covered are Fourier transforms, z transforms, linear and nonlinear programming, calculus of variations, random-process theory, special functions, combinatorial analysis, numerical methods, game theory, and much more.

Handbook of Mathematical Formulas presents a compilation of formulas to provide the necessary educational aid. This book covers the whole field from the basic rules of arithmetic, via analytic geometry and infinitesimal calculus through to Fourier's series and the basics of probability calculus.

An everyday guide which is easy to understand, and convenient to use, this guide book gives concisely the information necessary to evaluate most problems which occur in concrete applications. Emphasis is placed on the formulation and modeling of technical and natural processes - Numerical Mathematics, Probability Theory and Statistics, Information Processing, Geometric and Coordinate Transformations, Quaternions and Applications, and Lie Groups and Lie Algebras.

The Handbook of Research on Computational Science and Engineering: Theory and Practice is a reference for interested researchers and decision-makers who want a timely introduction to the possibilities in CSE to advance their ongoing research and applications or to discover new resources and cutting edge developments.

The Mathematica Handbook provides all the Mathematica commands and objects along with typical examples of them. The book contains commands and examples of those commands found in the packages of Mathematica, a system for doing mathematics on a computer.

Students and professionals in the fields of mathematics, physics, engineering, and economics will find this reference work invaluable. A classic resource for working with special functions, standard trig, and exponential logarithmic definitions and extensions, it features 29 sets of tables, some to as high as 20 places.

A user-friendly reference book on applied mathematics. Explains important mathematical concepts, methods, equations, and applications Introduces the language of applied mathematics and the goals of applied mathematical research Gives a wide range of examples of mathematical modeling Covers continuum mechanics, dynamical systems, numerical analysis, discrete and combinatorial mathematics, mathematical physics, and much more Explores the connections between applied mathematics and other disciplines Includes suggestions for further reading, cross-references, and a comprehensive index.

A precise description of the logic and a detailed reference guide to the associated mechanical theorem proving system, including a primer for the logic as a functional programming language, an introduction to proofs in the logic, and a primer for the mechanical theorem. The publication first offers information on a primer for the logic, formalization within the logic, and a precise description of the logic. Discussions focus on induction and recursion, quantification, explicit value terms, dealing with features and omissions, elementary mathematical relationships, Boolean operators, and conventional data structures.

This handbook contains the most up-to-date, authoritative, logically arranged and readily usable collection of reference material available on numerical tables of mathematical and statistical functions.

Provides jargon-free definitions for even the most technical mathematical terms. With over 3,000 entries, it covers all commonly encountered terms and concepts from pure and applied mathematics and statistics. Using graphs, diagrams, and charts to render definitions as comprehensible as possible.

Covers the vast field of applied and computational mathematics. Applied mathematics itself accounts for at least 60 per cent of mathematics, and the emphasis on computation reflects the current and constantly growing importance of computational methods in all areas of applications. EACM emphasizes the strong links of applied mathematics with major areas of science, such as physics, chemistry, biology, and computer science, as well as specific fields like atmospheric ocean science. In addition, the mathematical input to modern engineering and technology form another core component of EACM.