Dictionaries and encyclopedias

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism, Second Edition, a thoroughly updated and expanded edition of the original, highly regarded reference work. Nearly 100,000 words of new material will be added, along with fully updated original entries, and expanded coverage. New introductory essays will explore the impact of terrorism on economics, public health, religion, and even pop culture. Ethical issues such as the role of torture in interrogations, competing notions of security versus liberty, and the debates over FISA legislation and Guantanamo Bay will also be covered.

A Dictionary of Law Enforcement is the only dictionary available with a primary focus on UK law enforcement terms. Succinct and practical in its approach, it contains over 3,400 entries covering ever aspect of this diverse field, including terms related to law, pathology, forensic medicine, accountancy, insurance, shipping, commerce and trade, criminology, and psychology.

The third edition of the Historical Dictionary of Terrorism presents the full spectrum of forms of political violence through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on major terrorist groups and their leaders, significant terrorist events, cyber-terrorism, counterterrorism, and social science concepts regarding the motivations and group dynamics of terrorist groups.

The SAGE Dictionary of Policing is THE definitive reference tool for students and academics in Police Studies. The dictionary delivers a complete guide to policing in a comprehensive, easy-to-use format. The world's leading academics and practitioners contribute to over 130 substantive entries, which map out all the key concepts and topics in the field internationally. In addition, The SAGE Dictionary of Policing offers online resources, including reflective questions for students and free access to key articles.

Transnational crime and justice will characterize the 21st century in same way that traditional street crimes dominated the 20th century. In the Handbook of Transnational Crime and Justice, Philip Reichel and Jay Albanese bring together top scholars from around the world to offer perspectives on the laws, crimes, and criminal justice responses to transnational crime. This concise, reader-friendly handbook is organized logically around four major themes: the problem of transnational crime; analysis of specific transnational crimes; approaches to its control; and regional geographical analyses. Each comprehensive chapter is designed to be explored as a stand-alone topic, making this handbook an important textbook and reference tool for students and practitioners alike.