Cancer

Key resources

Target Pathologies - Cancer

a) Cormie, P. et al. 2018. Clinical Oncology Society of Australia position statement on exercise in cancer care [Position statement summary]. Medical Journal of Australia.

b) Hayes, S.C. et al., 2019 [In Press]. The Exercise and Sports Science Australia position statement: Exercise medicine in cancer management. Journal of Science and Medicine in Sport.

c) Schmitz, K.H. 2010. American College of Sports Medicine roundtable on exercise guidelines for cancer survivors. Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise.

Further interest

a) Betof, A.S. et al., 2013. Effects and potential mechanisms of exercise training on cancer progression. Brain, Behavior, and Immunity.

b) Brown, J.C. et al., 2012. Cancer, physical activity, and exercise. Comprehensive Physiology.

c) Cormie, P. et al., 2015. Exercise and Cancer Survivorship. Cancer Forum.

d) Eickmeyer, S.M. et al., 2012. The role and efficacy of exercise in persons with cancer. PM & R.

e) Hudis, C.A., & Jones, L. 2014. Promoting exercise after a cancer diagnosis: Easier said than done. British Journal of Cancer.

f) Spence, R.R. et al., 2010. Exercise and cancer rehabilitation: A systematic review. Cancer Treatment Reviews.

Clinical pearls of wisdom

Professor Fiona Naumann (Discipline Lead for Clinical Exercise Physiology)

“Oncology patients of all ages benefit from an Accredited Exercise Physiologists expertise. Please use these resources to gain a greater understanding of the role exercise can play in assisting patients through treatment and recover from treatment. In addition to understanding the role of exercise for a patient, you may need to sell this message to patients, carers and clinicians alike. The resources will also give you introductory prescription and programming knowledge for cancer patients.”

Social media/news

Catalyst: Exercise and Cancer - ABC TV Science

Cancer Institute NSW - Cancer Treatments Online | eviQ

Further resources to explore

Anatomy.TV
3D interactive models of human anatomy plus animations showing function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures as well as dynamic MRI and clinical videos plus therapy and a range of quizzed and activities.
tag-community access
Staff can take advantage of useful teaching aids in the Faculty Area and add embedded views into Canvas.

Australian Medicines Handbook (via AMH and via ClinicalKey)
Australian national formulary of independent information on medicines, therapeutic drug choices and treatment considerations relevant to Australia. Information is provided in therapeutic chapters and individual drug monographs, with Practice Points and comparisons between drug classes provided.
MAYO CLINIC - Diseases and Conditions
The Mayo Clinic's Patient Care & Health Info - Diseases and Conditions
MIMS Online - The authoritative Australian medicines database
Medicines information including Full Product Information, Abbreviated Product Information, Consumer Medicine information (CMI) and Pill Identifier feature. Includes information for thousands of prescription and some non-prescription medicines in Australia. Potential drug interactions can be checked via the multi-drug interaction feature.
My Doctor
My doctor for a healthy Australia
Primal 3D Series
Primal Pictures 3D interactive series [electronic resource] includes Interactive functional anatomy, Interactive skeleton, Sports injuries: the shoulder, and The ultimate 3D skeleton.
Rehabilitation Measures Database
The rehabilitation clinician's place to find the best instruments to screen patients and monitor their progress.
Trip
QUT only has access to selected fulltext articles. You will need to first sign-up for an individual TRIP account [https://www.tripdatabase.com/account/register] and then set up fulltext linking to access these articles [https://secure.library.qut.edu.au/databases/passwords/trip.php].
more...less...
A freely available clinical search engine designed to find research evidence. As well as research evidence, the database searches images, videos, patient information leaflets and educational courses.
UpToDate
Evidence based clinical support database intended to help healthcare practitioners with decisions at point of care. Provides comprehensive synthesis of the latest evidence and graded recommendations on a wide range of health topics. Includes patient information factsheets.