Respiratory

Key resources

Target Pathologies - Respiratory

a) The COPD-X Plan - Australian and New Zealand guidelines for the management of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease

b) ESSA Position Statement: Exercise and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease [last doc in list]

Further interest

a) Australian Lung Foundation Pulmonary Rehabilitation Toolkit website

b) Morris, T.A. et al., 2015. Manual of clinical problems in pulmonary medicine (via ProQuest eBook Central).

c) Morton, A.R., & Fitch, K.D. 2011. Australian association for exercise and sports science position statement on exercise and asthma. Journal of Science and Medicine in Sport.

d) Ries, A. 2007. Pulmonary Rehabilitation: Joint ACCP/AACVPR evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Chest.

Clinical pearls of wisdom

Associate Professor Ian Stewart PhD AEP CSCS (Exercise Physiology)
“Working with clients is both challenging and rewarding – I enjoy helping them achieve their goals”

Social media / news

The Australian Lung Foundation - Pulmonary Rehabilitation TOOLKIT

Further resources to explore

Anatomy.TV
3D interactive models of human anatomy plus animations showing function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures as well as dynamic MRI and clinical videos plus therapy and a range of quizzed and activities.
tag-community access
Staff can take advantage of useful teaching aids in the Faculty Area and add embedded views into Canvas.

Australian Medicines Handbook (via AMH and via ClinicalKey)
Australian national formulary of independent information on medicines, therapeutic drug choices and treatment considerations relevant to Australia. Information is provided in therapeutic chapters and individual drug monographs, with Practice Points and comparisons between drug classes provided.
MAYO CLINIC - Diseases and Conditions
The Mayo Clinic's Patient Care & Health Info - Diseases and Conditions
MIMS Online - The authoritative Australian medicines database
Medicines information including Full Product Information, Abbreviated Product Information, Consumer Medicine information (CMI) and Pill Identifier feature. Includes information for thousands of prescription and some non-prescription medicines in Australia. Potential drug interactions can be checked via the multi-drug interaction feature.
My Doctor
My doctor for a healthy Australia
Primal 3D Series
Primal Pictures 3D interactive series [electronic resource] includes Interactive functional anatomy, Interactive skeleton, Sports injuries: the shoulder, and The ultimate 3D skeleton.
Rehabilitation Measures Database
The rehabilitation clinician's place to find the best instruments to screen patients and monitor their progress.
Trip
QUT only has access to selected fulltext articles. You will need to first sign-up for an individual TRIP account [https://www.tripdatabase.com/account/register] and then set up fulltext linking to access these articles [https://secure.library.qut.edu.au/databases/passwords/trip.php].
more...less...
A freely available clinical search engine designed to find research evidence. As well as research evidence, the database searches images, videos, patient information leaflets and educational courses.
UpToDate
Evidence based clinical support database intended to help healthcare practitioners with decisions at point of care. Provides comprehensive synthesis of the latest evidence and graded recommendations on a wide range of health topics. Includes patient information factsheets.