Neurological

Key resources

Target Pathologies - Neurological

a) Tiedemann, A. et al., 2011. Exercise and Sports Science Australia Position Statement on exercise and falls prevention in older people.

b) Goodwin, V.A. et al., 2008. The effectiveness of exercise interventions for people with Parkinson's disease: A systematic review and meta-analysis.

c) Hoang, P.D. et al., 2021. Exercise and Sports Science Australia (ESSA) position statement on exercise for people with mild to moderate multiple sclerosis.

Further interest

a) Bergen, J.L. et al., 2002. Aerobic exercise intervention improves aerobic capacity and movement initiation in Parkinson's disease patients. NeuroRehabilitation.

b) Kurtzke, J.F. 1983. Rating neurologic impairment in multiple sclerosis: An expanded disability status scale (EDSS). Neurology.

c) Verschuren, O. et al. 2011. Identification of a core set of exercise tests for children and adolescents with cerebral palsy: a Delphi survey of researchers and clinicians. Developmental Medicine & Child Neurology.

d) Pilutti, L.A. et al. 2013. Effects of exercise training on fatigue in Multiple Sclerosis: A meta-analysis. Psychosomatic Medicine.

e) Peterka, M. et al. 2020. LSVT-BIG therapy in Parkinson's disease: Physiological evidence for proprioceptive recalibration. BMC Neurology.

f) Uhrbrand, A. et al. 2015. Parkinson's disease and intensive exercise therapy - a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Developmental Medicine & Child Neurology.

g) NeuRA. 2022. Neura's Evidence Libraries. [reliable information on schizophrenia, bipolar disorders, and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)]

h) Wulf, G. & Lewthwaite, R. 2016. Optimizing performance through intrinsic motivation and attention for learning: The OPTIMAL theory of motor learning.

Clinical pearls of wisdom

Tania Brancato AEP ESSAM (Lecturer in Clinical Exercise Physiology)
“The best professionals treat patients using a combination of high level evidence, the individual needs of their patient AND their ever-growing experience in clinical exercise physiology”

Social media/ news

AAN - The American Academy of Neurology

ABC News - Paraplegic patients walk again with spinal cord implants

ABC News - How Nas Campanella's TV debut helped her think about motherhood (November 29, 2021)

ABC RN - Brain on Nature episode 1 — the accident (January 4, 2021)

ABC RN - The Injured Brain (April 3, 2016)

All In The Mind is about the brain and behaviour, and the fascinating connections between them

ASIA - The American Spinal Injury Association

Crawley, J. (2014, February 28). Launceston surgeon Gary Fettke diagnoses Billy Connolly’s Parkinson’s in hotel lobby encounter. The Mercury.

Matthews, W. 2016. Ali's fighting spirit. Neurology Now.

Multiple Sclerosis Australia - The national voice for MS

Parkinson’s Australia - In this together

Butler, Nina. Welcome to the circus. Big Issue Australia, No. 577, 26 Dec 2018 - 10 Jan 2019: 29.

You Can't Ask That (ABC iView) - Wheelchair Users

FitSkills. A community-university partnership to increase exercise participation among youth with disability. https://fitskills.trekeducation.org/

Michael J Fox Parkinson's Disease (video: 2 mins 13sec)

Parkinsonian Gait Demonstration (video: 1 min 14sec)

Top 10 Things I Wish People Knew About Cerebral Palsy (video: 3 min 22sec)

Further resources to explore

Anatomy.TV
3D interactive models of human anatomy plus animations showing function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures as well as dynamic MRI and clinical videos plus therapy and a range of quizzed and activities.
tag-community access
Staff can take advantage of useful teaching aids in the Faculty Area and add embedded views into Canvas.

Australian Medicines Handbook (via AMH and via ClinicalKey)
Australian national formulary of independent information on medicines, therapeutic drug choices and treatment considerations relevant to Australia. Information is provided in therapeutic chapters and individual drug monographs, with Practice Points and comparisons between drug classes provided.
MAYO CLINIC - Diseases and Conditions
The Mayo Clinic's Patient Care & Health Info - Diseases and Conditions
MIMS Online - The authoritative Australian medicines database
Medicines information including Full Product Information, Abbreviated Product Information, Consumer Medicine information (CMI) and Pill Identifier feature. Includes information for thousands of prescription and some non-prescription medicines in Australia. Potential drug interactions can be checked via the multi-drug interaction feature.
My Doctor
My doctor for a healthy Australia
Primal 3D Series
Primal Pictures 3D interactive series [electronic resource] includes Interactive functional anatomy, Interactive skeleton, Sports injuries: the shoulder, and The ultimate 3D skeleton.
Rehabilitation Measures Database
The rehabilitation clinician's place to find the best instruments to screen patients and monitor their progress.
Trip
QUT only has access to selected fulltext articles. You will need to first sign-up for an individual TRIP account [https://www.tripdatabase.com/account/register] and then set up fulltext linking to access these articles [https://secure.library.qut.edu.au/databases/passwords/trip.php].
more...less...
A freely available clinical search engine designed to find research evidence. As well as research evidence, the database searches images, videos, patient information leaflets and educational courses.
UpToDate
Evidence based clinical support database intended to help healthcare practitioners with decisions at point of care. Provides comprehensive synthesis of the latest evidence and graded recommendations on a wide range of health topics. Includes patient information factsheets.