Your clinical library

Readings to get you started

The QUT icon indicates that a QUT login is required to access the reading/resource. The Open Access icon indicates that a login is not required.

Beer, S. et al. (2012). Rehabilitation interventions in multiple sclerosis: an overview. Journal of Neurology, 259(9), 1994-2008. doi:10.1007/s00415-012-6577-4
Bergmark, A. (1989). Stability of the lumbar spine - a study in mechanical engineering. Acta Orthopaedica Scandinavica, 60(s230), 1-54.
Betof, A.S. et al. (2013). Effects and potential mechanisms of exercise training on cancer progression: A translational perspective. Brain, Behavior, and Immunity, 30, S75–S87. doi:10.1016/j.bbi.2012.05.001
Bolam, K.A. et al. (2013). The effect of physical exercise on bone density in middle-aged and older men: A systematic review. Osteoporosis International, 24(11), 2749-2762. doi: 10.1007/s00198-013-2346-1
Borghuis, J. et al. (2008). The importance of sensory-motor control in providing core stability: Implications for measurement and training. Sports Medicine, 38(11), 893-893. doi:10.2165/00007256-200838110-00002
Brown, J.C. et al. (2012). Cancer, physical activity, and exercise. Comprehensive Physiology, 2(4), 2775-2809. doi:10.1002/cphy.c120005
Brukner, P. et al. (Eds.) (2017) Brukner & Khan’s Clinical Sports Medicine: Injuries
Brukner, P. & Khan, K. (Eds.) (2019) Brukner & Khan’s Clinical Sports Medicine: The Medicine of Exercise
Bunzli S, Smith A, Schütze R, Lin I, O'Sullivan P. (2017). Making Sense of Low Back Pain and Pain-Related Fear. Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy. 47(9), 628–636. DOI: 10.2519/jospt.2017.7434
Chiu, T. T. W., Law, E. Y. H., & Chiu, T. H. F. (2005). Performance of the craniocervical flexion test in subjects with and without chronic neck pain. Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports Physical Therapy, 35(9), 567-571. doi:10.2519/jospt.2005.2055
Choi, B. K. et al. (2010). Exercises for prevention of recurrences of low-back pain. Occupational and Environmental Medicine, 67(11), 795-796. doi:10.1136/oem.2010.059873
The COPD-X Plan - Australian and New Zealand Guidelines for the management of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease
Decker, M.J., Hintermeister, R.A., Faber, K.J. and Hawkins, R.J. (1999). Serratus Anterior Muscle Activity During Selected Rehabilitation Exercises. The American Journal of Sports Medicine, 27(6), 784-791.
Dobson F. et al. (2013). OARSI recommended performance-based tests to assess physical function in osteoarthritis of the hip or knee. Osteoarthritis Cartilage, 21(10), 1625-6. doi: 10.1016/j.joca.2013.07.011
Drug and natural medicines databases at QUT
Dugan, S.A. et al. (2015). Association between physical activity and depressive symptoms: Midlife women in SWAN. Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise, 47(2), 335-342. doi. 10.1249/MSS.0000000000000407
Eickmeyer, S.M., Gamble, G.L., Shahpar, S., & Do, K.D. (2012). The role and efficacy of exercise in persons with cancer. Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, 4(11), 874-881. doi:10.1016/j.pmrj.2012.09.588
Halbertsma, J. P. K. et al. (2001). Extensibility and stiffness of the hamstrings in patients with nonspecific low back pain. Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 82(2), 232-238. doi:10.1053/apmr.2001.19786
Hayden, J. A., Maurits W. van Tulder, & Tomlinson, G. (2005). Systematic review: Strategies for using exercise therapy to improve outcomes in chronic low back pain. Annals of Internal Medicine, 142(9), 776-785.
Hayes, S.C. et al. (2009). Australian Association for Exercise and Sport Science position stand: Optimising cancer outcomes through exercise. Journal of Science & Medicine in Sport, 12(4), 428-434. doi:10.1016/j.jsams
Heart Online - Heart Education Assessment Rehabilitation Toolkit
Hibbs, A. E. et al. (2008). Optimizing performance by improving core stability and core strength. Sports Medicine, 38(12), 995-995. doi:10.2165/00007256-200838120-00004
Hudis, C.A., & Jones, L. (2014). Promoting exercise after a cancer diagnosis: Easier said than done. British Journal of Cancer, 110(4), 829-830. doi:10.1038/bjc.2014.12
Kjølhede, T. et al. (2012). Multiple sclerosis and progressive resistance training: A systematic review. Multiple Sclerosis Journal, 18(9), 1215-1228. doi:10.1177/1352458512437418
Koes, B. W. et al. (2010). An updated overview of clinical guidelines for the management of non-specific low back pain in primary care. European Spine Journal, 19(12), 2075-2094. doi:10.1007/s00586-010-1502-y
LeMura, L.M., & von Duvillard, S.P. (2004). Clinical exercise physiology: Application and physiological principles. Baltimore, MD: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
Myers, Thomas W. (2014). Anatomy Trains: Myofascial Meridians for Manual and Movement Therapists [ProQuest Ebook Central version]. Retrieved from https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/qut/home.action
Nourbakhsh, M., & Arab, A. (2002). Relationship between mechanical factors and incidence of low back pain. Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy, 32(9), 447-460.
O'Sullivan, P. B. et al. (1997). Evaluation of specific stabilizing exercise in the treatment of chronic low back pain with radiologic diagnosis of spondylolysis or spondylolisthesis. Spine, 22(24), 2959-2967. doi:10.1097/00007632-199712150-00020
Panjabi, M. M. (1992). The stabilizing system of the spine. part I. function, dysfunction, adaptation, and enhancement. Journal of Spinal Disorders, 5(4), 383-389. doi:10.1097/00002517-199212000-00001
Richardson, C.A., and Jull, G.A. (1995). Muscle control–pain control. What exercises would you prescribe? Manual Therapy, 1(1) 2-10.
Ross, J., & Grahame, R. (2011). Joint hypermobility syndrome. BMJ (Clinical Research Ed.), 342(1), c7167-c7167. doi:10.1136/bmj.c7167
Sanders, G. and Stavrakas, P. (1981). A Technique for Measuring Pelvic Tilt. Physical Therapy: Journal of the American Physical Therapy Association, 61, 49-50.
Schmitz, K.H., Courneya, K.S., Matthews, C., Demark-Wahnefried, W., Galvao, D.A., Pinto, B.M., et al. (2010). American College of Sports Medicine roundtable on exercise guidelines for cancer survivors. Medicine & Science in Sports Exercise, 42(7),
Sharman, M.J. et al. (2006). Proprioceptive neuromuscular facilitation stretching : mechanisms and clinical implications. Sports Medicine, 36(11):929-39.
Spence, R.R. et al. (2010). Exercise and cancer rehabilitation: a systematic review. Cancer Treatment Reviews, 36(2), 185-194. doi:10.1016/j.ctrv.2009.11.003
Thieme E-book Library and Color Altases - Illustrated full colour atlases covering medicine and the life sciences.
Witvrouw, E. et al. (2004). Open versus closed kinetic chain exercises in patellofemoral pain: A 5-year prospective randomized study. The American Journal of Sports Medicine, 32(5) 1122-1130. doi: 10.1177/0363546503262187

Books and ebooks

ACSM's Exercise Management for Persons with Chronic Diseases and Disabilities (4th edn.) by American College of Sports Medicine; Geoffrey E. Moore (Editor); J. Larry Durstine (Editor); Patricia L. Painter (Editor)
Call Number: 615.82 114 /3
ISBN: 9781450434140
Publication Date: 2016-05-03
The fourth edition of ACSM's Exercise Management for Persons With Chronic Diseases and Disabilities reveals common ground between medical and exercise professionals, creating a more collaborative approach to patient care.
Anatomy Trains (3rd edn.) by Thomas W. Myers
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780702055638
Publication Date: 2013-12-06
The new edition of this hugely successful book continues to present a unique understanding of the role of fascia in healthy movement and postural distortion which is of vital importance to bodyworkers and movement therapists worldwide.
Australian medicines handbook 2022
Call Number: 615.1 171 /2022
ISBN: 0648515869
Publication Date: 2022
Also available online (via AMH and via ClinkcalKey databases)
Brukner and Khan's clinical sports medicine. Vol 1. Injuries. (5th edn.) by Peter Brukner et al.
Call Number: 617.1027 183 /5
Publication Date: 2016
Providing an authoritative foundation for clinicians and students, this complete practical guide to physiotherapy and musculoskeletal medicine covers all aspects of diagnosis and contemporary management of sports-related injuries.
Clinical anatomy (11th edn.) by Harold Ellis
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2006
Provides information on clinical anatomy and revision in a concise form with easily reproduced diagrams.
Goldberger's Clinical Electrocardiography (9th edn.) by Ary L. Goldberger; Zachary D. Goldberger; Alexei Shvilkin
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2018
Ideal for students and as a review for practicing clinicians, Goldberger's Clinical Electrocardiography explains the fundamentals of ECG interpretation and analysis, helping facilitate an understanding of rhythm disorders and the relevant clinical outcomes.
Clinical Exercise Physiology (4th edn.) by Jonathan K. Ehrman (Editor); Paul M. Gordon (Editor); Paul S. Visich (Editor); Steven J. Keteyian (Editor)
Call Number: 615.82 74 /4
ISBN: 1492546453
Publication Date: 2018-07-05
Provides a comprehensive look at the clinical aspects of exercise physiology by thoroughly examining the relationship between exercise and chronic disease.
Color atlas of anatomy (7th edn.) by Johannes W. Rohen, Chihiro Yokochi, Elke Lütjen-Drecoll.
Call Number: 611.00222 8 /7
Publication Date: 2011
This atlas features full-color photographs of actual cadaver dissections, with accompanying schematic drawings and diagnostic images.
ESSA's student manual for health, exercise and sport assessment by Jeff Coombes, Tina Skinner.
Call Number: 612.044 190
Publication Date: 2014
Covers many issues relating to physical fitness and exercise testing, including equipment calibration and verification, pre-exercise health screening and risk stratification, and submaximal testing of cardiorespiratory fitness.
Explain pain (2nd edn.) by David S. Butler and G. Lorimer Moseley
Call Number: 616.0472 155 /2
Publication Date: 2013
Suitable for clinicians to explain pain to patients and as a patient information resource.
Functional anatomy: Musculoskeletal anatomy, kinesiology, and palpation for manual therapists (Rev. edn.) by Christy Cael
Call Number: 611.7 17 /R
Publication Date: 2010
Using dynamic visuals and kinesthetic exercises, this text helps readers explore and understand the structures, regions, and layers of the body, from bones to ligaments to superficial and deep muscles.
Joint motion: Clinical measurement and evaluation by Roger W. Soames
Call Number: 612.75 66
Publication Date: 2003
This easy-to-read guide presents all the practical, essential information on joint movement that the clinician needs to know.
Last's anatomy: Regional and applied (12th edn.) by Chummy S. Sinnatamby and R. J. Last
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2011
Includes applied clinical content, knowledge of which is essential for both clinical examination and surgical procedures.
Low back disorders: evidenced - based prevention and rehabilitation (3rd edn.) by Stuart McGill
Call Number: 617.564052 2 /3
Publication Date: 2016
Guides readers through the assessment and treatment of low back pain, providing evidence-based research on the best methods of rehabilitation and prevention of future injury.
Muscles: Testing and function with posture and pain (5th edn.) by Florence Peterson Kendall et al.
Call Number: 616.740754 2 /5
Publication Date: 2005
This classic provides coverage of manual muscle testing, plus evaluation and treatment of faulty and painful postural conditions.
Orthopedic physical assessment (6th edn.) by David J. Magee
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2014
Provides rationales for various aspects of assessment and covers every joint of the body, as well as specific topics including principles of assessment, gait, posture, the head and face, the amputee, primary care, and emergency sports assessment.
Orthopedic physical assessment (Enhanced 4th edn.) by David J. Magee
Call Number: 616.7075 7 /4E
Publication Date: 2006
A straightforward, systematic approach to performing a neuromusculoskeletal assessment with explanations.
Orthopedic physical assessment atlas and video by David J. Magee; Derrick Sueki.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2011
Provides step-by-step guidance for evaluating movements and performing the most common special tests in musculoskeletal assessment.
Physical examination of the spine and extremities by Stanley Hoppenfeld
Publication Date: 1976
Useful to students and clinicians, this text covers the process of physical examination of the spine and extremities.
Rehabilitation techniques for sports medicine and athletic training (6th edn.) by William E. Prentice
Call Number: 617.1027 230 /6
Publication Date: 2015
A comprehensive reference written for the athletic training student who is interested in gaining more in-depth exposure to the theory and practical application of rehabilitation techniques used in a sports medicine environment.
Surface anatomy: The anatomical basis of clinical examination (4th edn.) by John S. P. Lumley
Call Number: 611 171 /4
Publication Date: 2008
This title places lecture anatomy into context and correlate internal and surface anatomy in an attractive and unique method. It helps students identify the surface markings of deeper structures on a live model.
Therapeutic exercise for lumbopelvic stabilization : a motor control approach for the treatment and prevention of low back pain (2nd edn.) by Carolyn Richardson; Paul W. Hodges; Julie Hides.
Call Number: 617.564 17 /2
Publication Date: 2004
Information and research on the prevention and management of musculoskeletal pain and dysfunction, through an approach to clinical management and prevention based on that research.

Key databases and interactive material

Try searching QUT Library's Health databases for information specific to your study area.

Here is a selection of useful databases for Clinical exercise physiology:

Anatomy.TV
3D interactive models of human anatomy plus animations showing function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures as well as dynamic MRI and clinical videos. QUT login required.
Staff can take advantage of useful teaching aids in the Faculty Area and add embedded views into Canvas.
Australian Medicines Handbook (via AMH)
Australian national formulary of independent information on medicines, therapeutic drug choices and treatment considerations relevant to Australia. QUT login required.
An essential handbook for health professionals, with a key focus on safe and effective prescribing for Quality Use of Medicines.

Drug and natural medicines databases
QUT login required.
Medical and anatomical image databases
QUT login required.

Medline (via EBSCOhost)
The authoritative database for medicine and health research produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). It indexes the most prominent journals used in the field of medical research. QUT login required.
NetAnatomy
A website designed to teach human anatomy. Includes radiographic, cross-sectional and gross anatomy. QUT login required.

PubMed (Free version)
Freely available version of the MEDLINE database and also provides access to some additional content not selected for Medline. No login required.

PubMed
With links to QUT full-text. Freely available version of the MEDLINE database and also provides access to some additional content not selected for Medline. Search results include links to full-text in subscription databases. QUT login required.
Get to QUT fulltext quicker by installing the LibKey Nomad browser extension.
Rehabilitation Therapy in Video (via Alexander Street)
Collection of online videos for the education and training of occupational therapists, physiotherapists and speech pathologists. QUT login required.
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video (via Alexander Street)
A collection of online videos covering all areas of exercise science and sports medicine. QUT login required.

Your clinical library

Readings to get you started

Books and ebooks

Key databases and interactive material

Global links and information

Acknowledgement of Traditional Owners