Finding judicial consideration

Databases To Use

The following databases are specifically designed to find subsequent judicial consideration of a case. For thoroughness, always check more than one source.

Westlaw (Australia) Cases
Search for or browse Australian cases by series, jurisdiction or practice area. Use the KeyCite citation research service to help verify whether the case is still good law and to find citing references by using KeyCite Flags, KeyCite History and KeyCite Citing References.
Use the KeyCite citation research service to help verify whether the case is still good law and to find citing references by using KeyCite Flags, KeyCite History and KeyCite Citing References. For further detail see Westlaw (Australia) - KeyCite Guide.

CaseBase (LexisNexis AU)
Type in the case name or citation. The CaseBase record for the case includes subsequent judicial consideration under the heading "Cases referring to this case". QUT Library subscription.
more...less...
QUT library subscription.
Queensland Legal Indices Online
Excellent resource for finding judicial consideration of Queensland cases. Select "Judgments Service". Use the Advanced Search template. Type the case name in the "Cases Cited" field. The cases in the results list have all considered the case. QUT Library subscription.
more...less...
A judgments indexing service initiated by the SCQL in 1984. Coverage includes the Queensland Court of Appeal, Supreme Court and District Court, as well as the Planning and Environment Court and some other Queensland Tribunals

Additional databases you can use to find judicial consideration of cases

You can also search fulltext judgment databases to find judicial consideration of cases. This method is useful if you do not have access to subscription based case research tools such as QLI Online, FirstPoint and CaseBase.

AustLII
Method 1. Advanced Search
Search "all Case Law Databases" to find "this case name". Go to the case. Select "Noteup" at top of page. All cases listed have considered the case. Sort by database to view by court. Free Internet.
Method 2. LawCite
Search by party names or citation. Look at table titled 'Cases referring to this case'. Note that the Citation Index star rating gives some indication as to frequency of citation but cannot be compared with citator functions in FirstPoint or CaseBase.
Queensland Judgments
Supreme Court of Queensland Library. Unreported judgments from Queensland courts and tribunals. Free internet.
Method. Search by party names or citation. The results will show all cases where your case has been mentioned in some way. The only way that you can assess precedental value using this method is to read what the Judges have said. Use the 'Find' functionality e.g. Ctrl-F to search the judgment for the case name.

Finding judicial consideration

Databases To Use

Additional databases you can use to find judicial consideration of cases

Global links and information

Acknowledgement of Traditional Owners