MediGlide – Supplies on the Fly

For more  material about gliders search the library for Gliders (Aeronautics)

Article: "The blood is here: Zipline’s medical delivery drones are changing the game in Rwanda"
Description: How drones are delivering medical supplies in areas with poor infrastructure and terrain.

Article: "Helical rail glider launcher"
Description: Talks about (and demonstrates with images) the design that a group of MIT students used to build an electric glider launcher prototype of a larger system for munition and supply loaded gliders and a wide variety of RPV's.

Article: "A Mechanical Glider Launcher for the Air Track"
Description: Demonstrates how to make and use a glider launching device using a "very inexpensive, common hardware item".

• Engineering Village 
  Key engineering and scientific index databases including Compendex, Inspec and GeoRef. 

• ENGnetBASE reference books (via Taylor & Francis) 
  Engineering reference books including handbooks and manuals covering civil, electrical, industrial, mining and mechanical engineering plus a range of general engineering topics. 

• Australian Engineering Collection (via Informit) 
  A collection dedicated to content (1920-) from and about Australia and New Zealand (with some fulltext) covering diverse engineering topics, including journal articles, conference and technical papers, books, discussions, news articles plus unpublished papers.   

• American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) complete collection 
  Journal articles, conference proceedings, standards and books covering all aspects of civil engineering. 

• American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) digital collection 
  Journal articles, conference proceedings and ebooks covering mechanical engineering. 

• ASM Handbooks Online 
  Peer-reviewed information across all areas of materials science. Includes all ASM Handbooks, several ASM Handbook supplements, and two ASM Desk Editions. 

• Earth Systems and Environmental Sciences Reference Module (via Science Direct) 
  Reference articles and book chapters covering the history of the planet, its geology, soils, atmosphere, oceans, energy and other natural resources, and the ecosystems supported by the planet.  

• GeoScience World 
  Peer-reviewed geoscience journals. Includes the OpenGeoSci mapping application that allows users to search for maps, cross sections, charts, tables, figures and data from GeoScienceWorld publications. 

• Nearmap 
  High quality aerial photo maps of Australian cities and environs. Capital city photo imagery is typically updated 6 – 8 times per year (less often for regional cities, other urban and peri-urban areas). Changes over time can be seen using the map browser timeline. Zooming to city building level detail is possible. Measurement tools allow determination of distance and areas. Split view allows a site change comparison across two image capture dates. Base map options are Vertical (default), Panorama, Terrain, Roads, True Ortho and 3D. Projects allow you to save your own version of an annotated map with measurements. Set up a watchlist to be emailed notification when new imagery for your site(s) of interest becomes available. 

• Transportation Research Information database (TRID) 
  Freely available database covering transportation research from around the world.   

• Austroads publications online  
  Freely available access to Austroads guides, technical and research reports covering all aspects of road transport from bicycles, bridges and tunnels, road design and safety, traffic management plus project management information. 

• IPWEAQ – Institute of Public Works Engineering Australasia (Queensland) Knowledge Centre 
  Published by the Institute of Public Works Engineering Australasia, Queensland this is a collection of six titles: Street Design Manual (SDM), Supervisor’s Handbook, Queensland Urban Drainage Manual (QUDM), Engineering for Public Works, Lower Order Road Design Guidelines (LORDG), and Standard Drawings. 

• Material ConneXion 
  A comprehensive database of materials providing designers with tools required to create smarter, more sustainable material solutions. 

• Radio Technical Commission for Aeronautics (RTCA) recommendations 
  Recommendations (aviation industry standards) that relate to aerospace avionics and aircraft electronics technology, such as: communications, navigation, radar, air traffic control, airborne systems software, cockpit display, collision avoidance, power systems, flight data, flight information, electronic airworthiness security and Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS). 

• SAE MOBILUS 
  Automotive and aerospace industry journals and ebooks from SAE International (Society of Automotive Engineers) and other organisations relating to the aerospace, automotive and commercial vehicle industries.