WindForce – Winds of Change

Books

For more books - search the library for the Wind Turbines

Advanced wind turbines by MohanKumar, Palanisamy and Sivalingam, Krishnamoorthi and Lim, Teik-Cheng
ISBN: 9789811272493
Publication Date: 2024
Advanced Wind Turbines provides detailed information that is of great practical importance to wind turbine practitioners from small and congested city-states, where the lack of vast land and high wind speed render the conventional wind turbine less effective. It introduces the non-conventional Darrieus and Savonius wind turbines, as well as their hybrid version, covering basic concepts, computational modelling and recent advances in experimental optimization. Floating offshore wind turbines are also discussed, and the dynamics of floating vis-à-vis grounded wind turbines are thoroughly expounded upon to aid practitioners in achieving more accurate performance modelling.
Wind Turbine Technology by A. R. Jha
ISBN: 9781439815076
Publication Date: 2010-08-03
Highlighting the capabilities, limitations, and benefits of wind power, Wind Turbine Technology gives you a complete introduction and overview of wind turbine technology and wind farm design and development. It identifies the critical components of a wind turbine, describes the functional capabilities of each component, and examines the latest perf
Advances in Wind Turbine Blade Design and Materials by Povl Brondsted (Editor); Rogier P. L. Nijssen (Editor); Stergios Goutianos (Editor)
ISBN: 9780081030073
Publication Date: 2023-01-18
Advances in Wind Turbine Blade Design and Materials, Second Edition, builds on the thorough review of the design and functionality of wind turbine rotor blades and the requirements and challenges for composite materials used in both current and future designs of wind turbine blades.
Wind Power Generation and Wind Turbine Design by Wei Tong (Editor)
ISBN: 9781845642051
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Along with the rising energy demand in the 21st century and the growing recognition of global warming and environmental pollution, energy supply has become an integral and cross cutting element of every country's economy. In recent years, more and more countries have prioritized sustainable, renewable, and clean energy sources such as wind, solar, hydropower, biomass, etc., as the replacements for fossil fuels. Wind power is the fastest growing alternative energy segment, providing an attractive cost structure relative to other alternative energy. The purpose of this book is to provide engineers and researchers in both the wind power industry and energy research community with comprehensive, up-to-date, and advanced design techniques and practical approaches.
Introduction to Wind Turbine Aerodynamics by Schaffarczyk, Alois Peter
ISBN: 9783031569241
Publication Date: 2024
This book is an introduction to wind turbine aerodynamics for professionals and students with a diverse range of backgrounds. It is a self-contained textbook that shows how to progress from the basics of fluid mechanics to modern wind turbine blade design. It presents the fundamentals of fluid dynamics and inflow conditions, as well as extensive information on theories describing the aerodynamics of wind turbines. After examining a number of related experiments, the book applies the lessons learned to blade design.
Small Wind Turbines for Electricity and Irrigation by Mario Alejandro Rosato
ISBN: 9780203703748
Publication Date: 2018-06-27
This practical book deals with the technology of small-power wind turbines as opposed to widely diffused industrial wind turbines and wind farms. It covers the most common wind turbine technologies in the small power segment: horizontal axis both for electrical generation and water pumping, vertical axis of the Darrieus type, and vertical axis of the Savonius type. With each chapter following the same didactic scheme--a theoretical explanation and practical examples showing calculation procedures--it allows anybody with basic technical knowledge to design and build a small wind turbine for any site. A set of simple spreadsheets is available for download, each providing further examples of how to solve specific design problems and allowing the reader to play with changing parameters and see what-if.
Wind Energy Design by Thomas Corke; Robert Nelson
ISBN: 9781351601207
Publication Date: 2018-04-27
Wind Energy Systems is designed for undergraduate engineering courses, with a focus on multidisciplinary design of a wind energy system. The text covers basic wind power concepts and components - wind characteristics and modeling, rotor aerodynamics, lightweight flexible structures, wind farms, aerodynamics, wind turbine control, acoustics, energy storage, and economics. These topics are applied to produce a new conceptual wind energy design, showing the interplay of various design aspects in a complete system. An ongoing case study demonstrates the integration of various component topics, and MATLAB examples are included to show computerized design analysis procedures and techniques.
Wind Energy Handbook by Tony Burton; Nick Jenkins; David Sharpe; Ervin Bossanyi
ISBN: 9781119992714
Publication Date: 2011-05-03
The Wind Energy Handbook, Second Edition, reflects the advances in technology underpinning the continued expansion of the global wind power sector. Harnessing their collective industrial and academic expertise, the authors provide a comprehensive introduction to wind turbine design and wind farm planning for onshore and offshore wind-powered electricity generation.

Useful Websites

Planning guideline State code 23: Wind farm development
Qld government plannning guide for windfarms
Windfinder
Windfinder shows the current and predicted wind direction and speed
Average monthly wind velocity
Use this tool to determine the average windspeed at different elevations
Wind Rose data
Wind roses show the frequency of occurrence of wind speed and direction. Choose your location and make sure you check data for both the morning and afternoon

Articles and Case Studies

Article: "Toward Small-Scale Wind Energy Harvesting: Design, Enhancement, Performance Comparison, and Applicability"
Description: Reviews the recent advances on various wind power harvesting techniques ranging between cm-scaled wind turbines and windmills, harvesters based on aeroelasticities, and those based on turbulence and other types of working principles. The merits, weaknesses and applicability of different prototypes are discussed in detail.

Article: "Fuzzy logic based multi-criteria wind turbine selection strategy - A case study of Qassim, Saudi Arabia"
Description: Looks at the efficiency of wind energy based on the type of turbine used based on a complex section process. The paper talks about an approach to use for selecting the optimal turbine from a set of 20 turbines of various capacities.

Article: "A review of energy extraction from wind and ocean" Technologies, merits, efficiencies and cost"
Description: Aims to review the possible wind and ocean power technologies, to make a comparative assessment in terms of energy availability, efficiency and cost, and finally to share the acceptance and challenges in the wind and ocean power development.

Conference Proceeding: "Significance of domestic wind turbines and study of their key design and performance parameters"
Description: Understand the significance and scope of domestic wind turbines as well as the types of design and performance optimisation.

Article: "Powering the Future: A Wind Turbine Design Challenge"
Description: About a wind turbine design challenge for eighth graders, which may provide inspiration for any students struggling for inspiration for their own design (includes images).

Useful Databases

Engineering Village
Key engineering and scientific index databases including Compendex, Inspec and GeoRef.

ENGnetBASE reference books (via Taylor & Francis)
Engineering reference books including handbooks and manuals covering civil, electrical, industrial, mining and mechanical engineering plus a range of general engineering topics.

Australian Engineering Collection (via Informit)
A collection dedicated to content (1920-) from and about Australia and New Zealand (with some fulltext) covering diverse engineering topics, including journal articles, conference and technical papers, books, discussions, news articles plus unpublished papers.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) digital collection
Journal articles, conference proceedings and ebooks covering mechanical engineering.

ASM Handbooks Online
Peer-reviewed information across all areas of materials science. Includes all ASM Handbooks, several ASM Handbook supplements, and two ASM Desk Editions.

Ergon Energy Zone Substation Data
Includes identifier data and raw historical load data for zone substations in selected Queensland regional locations.

Earth Systems and Environmental Sciences Reference Module (via Science Direct)
Reference articles and book chapters covering the history of the planet, its geology, soils, atmosphere, oceans, energy and other natural resources, and the ecosystems supported by the planet.

GeoScience World
Peer-reviewed geoscience journals. Includes the OpenGeoSci mapping application that allows users to search for maps, cross sections, charts, tables, figures and data from GeoScienceWorld publications.

Nearmap
High quality aerial photo maps of Australian cities and environs. Capital city photo imagery is typically updated 6 – 8 times per year (less often for regional cities, other urban and peri-urban areas). Changes over time can be seen using the map browser timeline. Zooming to city building level detail is possible. Measurement tools allow determination of distance and areas. Split view allows a site change comparison across two image capture dates. Base map options are Vertical (default), Panorama, Terrain, Roads, True Ortho and 3D. Projects allow you to save your own version of an annotated map with measurements. Set up a watchlist to be emailed notification when new imagery for your site(s) of interest becomes available.

IEEE Standards
Technical standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Covers information technology, power and energy, telecommunications and smart grid research.

IPWEAQ – Institute of Public Works Engineering Australasia (Queensland) Knowledge Centre
Published by the Institute of Public Works Engineering Australasia, Queensland this is a collection of six titles: Street Design Manual (SDM), Supervisor’s Handbook, Queensland Urban Drainage Manual (QUDM), Engineering for Public Works, Lower Order Road Design Guidelines (LORDG), and Standard Drawings.

Material ConneXion
A comprehensive database of materials providing designers with tools required to create smarter, more sustainable material solutions.

Australian Bureau of Meteorology
To find wind readings in Brisbane