EIU Country Reports via ABI/Inform (Proquest) - QUT Library Database - the ABI/Inform database contains many country report series the most well known of which is the EIU or Economist Intelligence Unit reports. Reports on other countries can be easily located from within the database by searching with the short title of the series, "country report" and appending the name of the country you wish to retrieve the report for i.e "country report africa EIU".
UNCTAD - Part of the United Nations dealing with trade, investment, and development issues. Data, statistics and associated reports form usable sources of information for A2.
World Trade Organisation (Trade & Tariffs) - The World Trade Organization (WTO) is an intergovernmental organization that regulates and facilitates international trade between nations.
IMF eLibrary - International Financial Statistics series - International Financial Statistics (IFS) is a standard source of statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance.
WorldBank - International Debt statistics series amidst other region and continent data are available through the WorldBank research portal. Aside from conventional library items (journals, books, some database items) consider using the catalogue as an alternative tool for locating IMF and WorldBank publications including the series Regional Economic Outlook which supply much information on economic development and capacity on various regions.
COMTRADE - Trade, Transport and Travel Dashboard - Comtrade is part of the United Nations Statistics Division and is responsible for compiling and disseminating global statistical information. See http://data.un.org/for all available UN statistics websites.
ABI/Inform (Proquest) QUT Library Database - Market and company research alongside news and scholarly (academic) information form the core collection of this database. This database contains country, industry and market reports. Further guidance on searching and finding information on this database are here.
Passport(QUT Library Database) - A market research database with reports and data on industries, economies and consumers internationally. Published by Euromonitor International. An excellent source of trend data for price, consumption and trade data for a variety of industries.
PRS Country Data(QUT Library Database)- PRS' rating system assesses countries based on political, economic, and financial sources of risk. This database provides a high level view of country risk from a governance perspective rather than a purely economics or financials with ratings based on government stability, socioeconomic conditions, internal and external conflict, corruption, "Law and Order," and ethnic tensions.
EIU Country Data(QUT Library Database) - Useful for forecast macro-economics indicators for Australia, the Asia-Pacific region and all other locales globally. Additional guidance on how to query and retrieve data from EIU is availablehere[2 Minute video].
MarketLine(QUT Library Database)- Public company, industry and country information extending across over 200 countries and every major industry sector. PESTLE analyses are available under Analysis - Countries & Cities - Country Profiles.
Factiva(QUT Library Database)- Australian and international newspapers and journals plus global company information. Extensive company information is provided, including financial data for more than 42,500 worldwide companies (from Reuters Investor) as well as access to historical market data and interactive charting. Tip: filter your search upon subject and publication - targeting nationalnewspapers for more in depth commentary and analysis. More guidance available via the QUT Library.
IBISWorld(QUT Library Database) - Key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and historical performance, a five-year forecast and major industry participants. Industry level reports are available for tourism and travel.
Global Social Trends & Indicators
OECD Social Expenditure Statistics- The OECD Social Expenditure Database (SOCX) has been developed in order to serve a growing need for indicators of social policy. Towards the lower portion of the page there are direct links to data extract tools for country level statistics. See related social data series linked via the SOCX database here under 'Related Data'.
United Nations Sustainable Development Goals - Start with the reporting provided on this website this provides a rapid overview to this UN initiative. The vast majority of information on UN websites will be on governance and advocacy - information will tend to be: treaties, memorandum, resolutions amongst more usable higher level reports that summarise and present indicators. There is a considerable volume of information on the Sustainable Goals website. To make links between usable social indicators consider the impact of the human environments and social outcomes. Other statistical seriesreport social, employment, housing data are linked off this page as are may be used for your own investigation.
WorldBank Governance Indicators - The quality of the business environment is tied to the quality of the governance associated with a country particularly regulatory quality. WorldBank aggregates and measures the quality of governance at country level and as a subset of this provides
ILOSTAT - Yearly data of Total and Economically active population, Employment, Unemployment, Hours of Work, Wages, Labour Cost, Consumer Price Indices, Occupational Injuries, Strikes and Lockouts: 1969-2005.
UN Paris Agreement- A major global initiative to coordinate climate change mitigation through both market-based and governance efforts. Information of most use from this website will include reports that outline the structure and effect of investment efforts on certain industry sectors such as primary industries. Demography will also feature as a factor in many reports as income and household expenditure will effect consumption and energy usage. See this report for an example of ancillary reporting available on the website- the find the most relevant information from this website look beyond the typical issues associated with climate change such as emissions and consider other issues such as behavioural change
NAFTA - North American free Trade Agreement, statistics for raw materials export and imports are available via the WorldBank. The data provide a high level view of materials trade between countries useful for providing context for economic scale.
PRS Country Data - QUT Library Database- International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) ratings, which publishes current risk ratings for economic, financial and political risk for 140 developed, emerging and frontier markets. To effectively use this resource refer to the ICRG Methodology which explains various scores and ratings used in the reports. More guidance is provided via an instructionalvideo linked here.