Conducting research on the business and regulatory environment for a PEST analysis requires the consultation of a range of resources in order to build a comprehensive overview of the chosen industry.
This library guide provides an overview of available resources from a combination of online sources and specialist library databases grouped under PEST analysis headings.
Grouped below are a broad range of resources including library databases, government and corporate websites that provide industry, regulatory & economic information. Note that certain resources provide information on a range of areas for example the OECD not only provides global economic reporting but also documents the effects of regulation on industry and world economy.
Further guidance is provided on the additional pages for specific types of information sources as well as a reference materials in the form of dictionary and encyclopedias to assist with defining business and economics terms and terminology.
Extra support on the process of finding information is available via Study Smart where you will find modules on locating and evaluating information. All information you use in your PEST analysis needs to referenced according to CiteWrite with additional instruction on Study Smart. The library provides a range of support channels including workshops on researching & referencing.
Jump to Section:
| Political | Economic | Social | Technology |
Australian State & Federal Government websites are all active publishers of information and therefore relevant sources for information to incorporate in your PEST Analysis. Parliaments or legislatures, ministries or agencies are typically responsible for regulating activity related to business, between businesses and between the various government entities and businesses.
Policy Commons [QUT Library Database] Document repository and search platform for international and local policy, research reports and other publications by policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. This resource is an excellent source for gauging global policy and regulatory information for A2. The most effective use of this resource involves three search facilities: see Topics for an alphabetical index of key terms and subjects, use the advanced search facility available.
Overton [QUT Library Database] A searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers from 182 countries and over a thousand sources worldwide. This database is best used to gauge international policy directions, publications and research from a wide range of NGOs, IGOs and governments this makes this database essential for A2.
screenproducers.org.au - Screen producers (SPA) is the peak industry and trade body supporting the interests of over 500 screen businesses both large and small in their production of screen media. Find producer and firm level statistics and data on the Australian screen sector by accessing annual reports, media releases and other materials.
Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development , Communication & Arts - A
Analysis & Policy Observatory | APO - APO aggregates policy, reports and publications from across the public sector. The information on this website might also highlight policy recommendations or social research. This resource is particular useful for supplemental policy commentary and research with many publications combining quantitative (numerical) and qualitative (focus groups / questionnaire) data. Local focus of the APO sees this resource as essential for A1.
Trade Magazines - A trade publication is a regularly published collection of articles that address topics of interest to members of a particular profession. Articles often provide industry members with national and international summary statistics that are commonly drawn from other publicly available sources. three example of trade magazines include: Screen International, Variety, Inside Film (Australia).
Worldbank Data - The Worldbank hosts excellent wayfinding guides for data and indicators. Web portlets featured on the site outline WB programmes and activities in regard to culture. Note: when investigating data published by WorldBank data indicators that relate to the university sector may be documented according to more generic terms such as 'cultural industries' or 'creative industries'. Drill down deeper into statistics featured in reports that might useful for A2.
|Analyst reports - focused searches across the 'Big 4' professional services firms websites are an excellent way to gauge industry directions, regional capacity building and regulatory effects.
Be purposeful with your searching - use the available filters in the particular web search engine you use to conduct specific, focused searches. Consult the section titled 'Query Modifiers' on this site here. Incorporate a number of these search techniques either to specify the website from which the information is to be retrieved and what type of file format is typically associated with research reports (PDF,DOC,PPT)
For example, searching for reports by filetype (PDF/DOC/PPT) and by website URL ('deloitte.com', 'pwc.com.au', 'home.kpmg', 'ey.com/en_au') is an efficient way to mine a full website for available documents. Note that these professional services firms will also have regional offices so searching directly on the corresponding website for Australia or the Asia-Pacific region will render reports for local markets.
|Deloitte Access Economics||KPMG||Ernst &Young||PWC|
|Deloitte reports cover a broad range of industries including cultural and creative industries. Far more information is available on the website than might be apparent via the Deloitte search box - be sure to use a web search engine to conduct a focused search on the website.||KPMG supplies an extensive range of publicly available reports alongside a well developed search facility. Most reports provide a high level view of the business environment.||A shorter selection of publicly available resources are available via the Australia EY portal, however, a broader range of reports on local business conditions make Ernst & Young a worthy source of information for your analysis. A targeted web search is far more effective that the search facility on this corporate website - see here.||Focused web-based research targeting specific reputable sources, still requires the formulation of relevant terms including alternatives in the form of synonyms. PWC offers a whole range of publicly accessible reports.|
Gartner - [QUT Library Database] A technology research and consulting firm offering analyst reports and research. Information is primarily aimed at C-Level executives (CIOs) and is provided in a variety of easily digestible publication types. Research focus is on both near and long term technology / digital strategy and maps current vendors / market environment for technology solutions within a given industry or sector. Gartner signature report series, Hype Cycles, visualise established, emerging and superseded technologies, however, Forecasts, Critical Capabilities & Market Analysis are key to understanding the relationship between the firm business model and technology adoption.
Rural Development Corporations - Primarily R&D focused joint initiatives between government and industry bodies.
CSIRO - A federally funded scientific research body focused on the development and commercialisation of new technologies. The organisation attempts to publicise much scientific activity to articulate benefits for producer, market and consumer. See the compiled list of data sources available via the CSIRO's research services here.
Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Australia License.
QUT acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the lands where QUT now stands.