Recent Developments in the Economics of Housing by
This collection compiles the significant and contemporary literary contributions to the field of the economics of housing. Volume one includes articles that cover the housing markets demand and supply whilst considering these factors interactions on real estate valuations, home ownership and wealth decisions. Volume two focuses on the interfaces that occur from the dynamics of neighbourhoods and housing prices. It delves into how housing markets and their modeling have attracted particular policy interest, such as rent control, and concludes with thorough recent analyses of housing markets through a lens that emphasizes the importance of frictions, namely the Diamond-Mortensen-Pissarides (DMP) model. Tied together by an original introduction by the editor, this collection promises to be an informative read to scholars and academics immersed in this fascinating topic.
Contemporary Issues in Australian Urban and Regional Planning by
Contemporary Issues in Australian Urban and Regional Planning looks at a wide range of planning issues in Australia from the city to the regional scale, covering key topics in sustainable development and planning including economic, social, environmental and governance perspectives. It also covers issues of climate change, population and urbanization trends, economic competitiveness and the Quadruple Bottom Line (QBL) Sustainability agenda. The book is organized around three key elements: Pressures and Principles of development and planning for sustainability Planning Practice and Processes focused on essential topics including cities, regions, rural areas, and social and environmental issues and Future Processes and Prospects for planning practice and education covering the fundamental issues of assessing sustainability, managing risk, effective participation and evolving approaches to planning education. Contemporary Issues in Australian Urban and Regional Planning is an invaluable resource for students and practitioners of planning and related fields and provides a critical perspective on current issues in evolving natural and socio-economic contexts in Australian planning.
Professional Real Estate Development by
This basic primer covers the nuts and bolts of developing all types of real estate, including multifamily, office, retail, and industrial projects. Thoroughly updated, this new edition includes numerous case studies of actual projects as well as small-scale examples that are ideal for anyone new to real estate development.
Real Estate Development Matrix by
This book presents a new way of thinking about, teaching, learning, and practicing real estate development. Real Estate Development Matrix describes the process in a two-dimensional model and presents seven Development Stages which form the horizontal axis, and eight sets of Development Tasks which form the vertical axis to define a 56-cell matrix. In each cell, money is spent and risks are taken to achieve certain tasks and thereby create (or destroy) value. This holistic process considers the entire life cycle of real estate from its "green field" inception to its "brown field" state. The book is written by a real estate developer and academic, and the presented material is conceptual, practical, and non-technical. Jargon has been minimized as much as possible as the author introduces an entirely new model for real estate development that is both academically authoritative and developed in practice. It is aimed at a general professional audience participating in the development process, but equally the book is ideal for use as a textbook in undergraduate and graduate courses in real estate development, and an excellent supplemental text for business courses discussing real estate finance and investment. It may also be used as a textbook for professional courses, workshops, or seminars in real estate development. The book is supported by an interactive website at http://realestatedevelopmentmatrix.com/
Routledge Companion to Real Estate Development by
Real estate development shapes the way people live and work, playing a crucial role in determining our built environment. Around the world, real estate development reflects both universal human needs and region-specific requirements, and with the rise of globalization there is an increasing need to better understand the full complexity of global real estate development. This Companion provides comprehensive coverage of the major contemporary themes and issues in the field of real estate development research. Topics covered include: social and spatial impact markets and economics organization and management finance and investment environment and sustainability design land use policy and governance. A team of international experts across the fields of real estate, planning, geography, economics and architecture reflect the increasingly interdisciplinary nature of real estate studies, providing the book with a depth and breadth of original research. Following on from the success of the textbook International Approaches to Real Estate Development, the Routledge Companion to Real Estate Development provides the up-to-date research needed for a full and sophisticated understanding of the subject. It will be an invaluable resource to students, researchers and professionals wishing to study real estate development on an international scale.
Proceedings of the 20th International Symposium on Advancement of Construction Management and Real Estate by
These conference proceedings offer an outstanding resource for academics and professionals, sharing essential findings on the latest developments in real estate and construction management. The subject is "Advancement of Construction Management and Real Estate" in the context of new-type urbanization. The Chinese Research Institute of Construction Management (CRIOCM), working in close collaboration with Zhejiang University, organized CRIOCM2015, the 20th International Symposium. Written by academics and professionals from all over the world, these proceedings discuss the latest achievements, research outputs and advances between frontier disciplines in the field of construction management and real estate. They cover a wide range of topics, including new-type urbanization, land development and land use, urban development and management, the real estate market and housing policies. The discussions will provide an important reference source on the implementation of new-type urbanization in China and abroad.
Urban Planning and Real Estate Development by
The twin processes of planning and property development are inextricably linked - it's not possible to carry out a development strategy without an understanding of the planning process, and equally planners need to know how real estate developers do their job. This third edition of Urban Planning and Real Estatenbsp;Developmentnbsp;guides students through the procedural and practical aspects of developing land from the point of view of both planner and developer. The planning system is explained, from the increasing emphasis on spatial planning at a regional level down to the detailed perspective of the development control process and the specialist requirements of historic buildings and conservation areas. At the same time the authors explain the entire development process from inception through appraisal, valuation and financing to completion and disposal.nbsp;Thisnbsp;is an invaluable textbook for real estate and planning students, and helps to meet the requirements of the RICS and RTPI Assessment of Professional Competence.
For quick tips on searching using the Library Search - including a YouTube video - click here.
Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Australia License.
QUT acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the lands where QUT now stands.