Skip to Main Content

Dance in Australia

Resources on Australian Dancers

Phillip Adams is the founder and Artistic Director of Phillip Adams Ballet Lab. His achievements and qualifications cover a range of creative ventures including commissions, touring, awards, residencies, mentoring and a highly regarded body of artistic works.

Keith Bain was a dancer and education that was instrumental in the setting up of Australia Council, Arts NSW, Ausdance, the International Theatre Institute, etc.

Benjamin is a choreographer who has created works for the One Extra Company, Sydney Dance Company, the Australian Ballet and Theatre of Image. She has also performed with Chunky Move, Australian Dance Theatre, Bangarra and others.

Margaret Barr was a choreographer and teacher of dance-drama. Barr’s work was distinguished from other modern dance by her insistence on the development of both physical action and dramatic intent in equal measure.

Stephen Baynes is the current Resident Choreographer at the Australian Ballet.

Kate Champion is a director and choreographer with over thirty years of experience in multiple art forms. She was the founding Artistic Director of Force Majeure, a dance theatre company based in at Carriageworks arts centre in Sydney, Australia.

Rosalind Crisp is a dancer and choreographer who founded Omeo Dance Studio.

Tess de Quincey is a choreographer and dancer who has worked throughout Europe, Japan and Australia as a performer, teacher and director. Trained in dance, graphics and sculpture in London and Copenhagen, she was formerly a dancer with legendary butoh dancer Min Tanaka and his Mai-Juku Performance Co in Japan 1985-91.

Russell Dumas is a dancer, choreographer and writer.

Lucy Guerin AO is an Australian dancer and choreographer. Her work is described as post-modern.

​Sue Healey is a Sydney-based choreographer, filmmaker and installation artist.

Helen Herbertson is a dancer, choreographer, and educator. Her work focuses on the dynamic flow between people and place.

Raewyn Hill is an Australian choreographer and dancer.

KAGE was established in 1997 by Victorian College of the Arts Dance graduates Kate Denborough and Gerard Van Dyck. It was announced that KAGE would discontinue it's work after 2018, but it is ambiguous whether this has happened.

Tanja Liedtke was a German-born professional choreographer and dancer. She was most noted as a dancer, choreographer and director of contemporary dance in Australia and Europe.

Larissa McGowan is a dancer, choreographer, an dance educator. McGowan has created works based on popular culture.

Wayne McGregor is a multi award-winning British choreographer and director. He is the Artistic Director of Studio Wayne McGregor and Resident Choreographer of The Royal Ballet.

Andrew Morrish is a performer, teacher, facilitator, mentor and advocate for a range of practices including improvisation, performance, dance education, dance therapy and dance research.

Graeme Murphy is an Australian dance choreographer, best known for his work with the Sydney Dance Company.

Lisa O'Neill is a dancer, performer, choreographer, performance director and educator working across mediums in dance, theatre, contemporary performance and new-media.

Gideon Obarzanek is an Australian choreographer, director and performing arts curator.

Stephen Page AO is the Artistic Director of the Bangarra Dance Theatre.

Dalisa Pigram is a dancer, choreographer, and founding member of Marrugeku.

Frances Rings is a dancer, choreographer and television presenter.

Anna Smith is an Australian dancer, choreographer, and research associate investigation choreographic processes.

Garry Stewart is a dancer and choreographer, and the current artistic director of the Australian Dance Theatre.

Meryl Tankard AO is an Australian dancer and choreographer who has a wide national and international reputation.

Tracks Dance Company is located in Darwin and produces original and contemporary dance works that celebrate an important part of Australian culture – the frontier of the Northern Territory.

Ros Warby is one of Australia’s leading dancer/choreographers, creating and performing solo dance work since 1990.

Leigh Warren is an Australian contemporary dance choreographer and Artistic Director of Leigh Warren & Dancers.

Jay Watson was an Australian dancer and choreographer, as well as dance teacher and tutor.

Natalie Weir is an Australian choreographer, and former Artistic Director for the Expressions Dance Company (now Australasian Dance Collective) in Brisbane, Australia.

Tony Yap is an accomplished dancer, director, choreographer and visual artist.

Dance Portals