Skip to main content
A university for the real world

Endnote

Endnote from QUT

Endnote is a software program, free to QUT staff & students, which enables you to create your own database of records - records of books, journal articles or websites. This makes it easier to search through materials and automate citing. 

 

Finding full text PDFs with EndNote

 

The 'Find Full Text' functionality locates full-text PDFs and attaches them to existing references in your EndNote library. To enable this functionality configure EndNote as shown below. The accuracy of Find Full Text depends on:

  • how well the item is described, for example, a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) will significantly increase results
  • item type - since Journal articles are well described, they are the main type used
  • database product - some databases will map better to EndNote than others
  • age of items: The more current articles are the best described.

Configure Find Full Text: Step 1

  1. Select 'Edit', then 'Preferences' from the main menu.
  2. Select 'Find Full Text' from the Preferences list.
  3. Tick the first four boxes and cut and paste these two URLs:
  • In the 'OpenURL Path' box, enter: https://qut.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/openurl?institution=61QUT_INST&vid=61QUT_INST:61QUT&
  • In the 'Authenticate with: URL' box, enter: https://gateway.library.qut.edu.au/login?url=

 

Configure Find Full Text: Step 2

  1. Return to the Preferences list and select 'URLs & Links'.
  2. In the 'SI Base URL' box, at the front of the URL, enter: https://gateway.library.qut.edu.au/login?qurl=
  3. In the OpenURL Arguments box, replace: ?sid=ISI:WoS  with: ?sid=ISI:endnote  and keep the rest as it is.
  4. Select 'Apply' and then 'OK'.

To use Find Full Text

  1. Highlight the references in your EndNote library list view
  2. Select the 'Find Full Text' icon from the Toolbar.
  3. You can monitor the progress in the Find Full Text group section in the bottom of the 'Groups Pane'.

 

Collaborating in teams using EndNote Online

EndNote gives users the ability to share their library with up to 14 other EndNote X7 users.

 

 

The usual practice of copying reasonable portions of text and attaching full text documents to your references is allowed under copyright law because it is a fair dealing for the purpose of study or research.

The situation changes if you share your library with others. It may be a breach of copyright or database licence terms to share anything more than bibliographic information. If sharing, share a version that does not include attachments.

EndNote and large MS Word documents

When working with MS Word and EndNote on your thesis or other long document (over 80 pages) we recommend you use a separate Word file for each chapter. A reference list will be produced at the end of each chapter. Once the document is finalised the chapters need to be combined together to create one document with one reference list at the end.

  1. Make a backup copy in case any issues arise. 
  2. Unformat citations within each chapter.
    1. From the EndNote tab select 'Convert Citations and Bibliography' and 'Convert to Unformatted Citations'.
      This will remove the reference list from the end of the document, and change the in-text citation to look like this: {Clements, 122 #18}.
    2. Select 'Save' to save these changes.
    3. Unformatting the citations disables the instant formatting in Word. Turn this back on by selecting 'Instant Formatting' on the Bibliography section of Word's EndNote tab.
  3. Combine the chapters by copying and pasting each word document chapter into a single document and save.
  4. Format citations in the final document by selecting 'Update Citations and Bibliography from the EndNote tab.
    This will format all the references and create a single reference list at the end of the document.
  5. Save these changes. This is now your master copy of the finalised document.

Author initials appearing in the in-text citation for APA 6th Style

Unwanted initials in an author-date style in-text citation are a common problem in documents, and simply fixing the author name in the reference doesn't always work.

EndNote is correctly conforming to the APA 6th manual to use initials in the in-text reference if there is more than one author with the same last name in your document. However, sometimes the initials are there when you don't have different authors with the same last names - so they need to be removed. Unwanted author initials can come from the author's name being inconsistently entered in different references in your EndNote library, e.g.:

  1. MacIntyre, P
  2. MacIntyre, P. D.
  3. MacIntyre, Peter D.

Different references by the same author with a different form of their name will trick EndNote into thinking that they are different authors, so you need to make them all the same using the following steps

  1. Clean up the Authors Term List
    1. In your EndNote library select 'Tools', then 'Open Terms Lists' and 'Authors Term List 
    2. Scroll down to find the author and delete incorrect forms of their name - leaving just one entry, usually the fullest form of a name, i.e. MacIntyre, Peter D.

      Deleting terms in the term list does not change anything in the reference, but this is a useful step in order to make the next step easier as well as removing all traces of the incorrect name.
  2. Clean up the author's name in each reference
    1. Select the Search tab and search 'where Author - Contains' e.g. macintyre. This is important as MacIntyre may be a second or later author on a paper, so if you only scroll down the list of references to identify the author you won't find all occurrences.
    2. Open each reference (or use the Quick Edit tab) and highlight the name you need to change, then start typing in the author's name again, using their last name first. If you have cleaned up the term list the correct form of their name should automatically be selected.
    3. Close the reference to save it, or click out of the reference if using the Quick Edit tab.
    4. Repeat these steps for all references that have the incorrect form of name.
    5. Return to your document and select 'Update 'Citations and Bibliography'. You should no longer longer see those initials unless there are different authors with the same last name.
  3. As a last resort you can edit the style to remove the instruction to include initials in the in-text reference. This means you'll be using a non-standard style format, i.e. not conforming to APA 6th style. To do this:
    1. select 'Edit', then 'Output styles' and 'Edit "your style"
    2. choose 'Author Name' under 'Citations' to the left
    3. un-tick in the box next to 'Use initials only for primary authors with the same name'
    4. select 'File', then 'Save As' and save your file with a slightly different name (e.g. APA 6th NoInitials)
    5. return to your document and select the new (renamed) Output Style and update 'Citations and Bibliography'.

Help with Endnote

Endnote tutorial from Lynda.com

Cite this for me

Cite This For Me is one of the most popular citation tools today. Launched in October 2010, they began with the mission of helping students create perfect citations in a fraction of the time. Since then, Cite This For Me has assisted millions of users across the world including in the United Kingdom, United States, Australia, and beyond.

Cite this for me will do most of the work in building your references, but you may still have some fields to fill in. Luckily, it tells you which fields it still needs to make it a complete reference. 

While it says it is using a particular style (e.g. APA 6th) it may be different from what's in Cite|Write. Check with your tutor/lecturer if they have a preference.