Commentary

Legal commentaries provide up-to-date expert analysis of legislation, cases, and the corresponding legal materials related to an area of law. They can be a great starting point in legal research as it provides an overview of the law and details of the key legislation and cases on a given topic. Commentary services might be available in print as looseleaf services or online via databases.

Legal commentary databases

CCH iKnowConnect
On the database homepage, search by the source details, e.g., case citation, legislation titles, research topic, etc. and then limit by CCH Commentary under Document Type. Alternatively, browse Topic by clicking on the plus sign on the drop-down menu for the relevant commentaries.
Lexis Advance Research (including Practical Guidance)
On the database homepage, search by commentary titles or research topics (filter by Document Type). Alternatively, select 'View all AU publications'> AU Secondary Materials> Commentary
Westlaw (Australia)
On the database homepage, select Secondary Sources> Commentary> Browse by Title, Topic, or Jurisdiction.

More legal commentary databases at QUT.

Looseleaf collection at the QUT Law Library

In the Library Search, search by Title or Topic> Filter the results by 'Hardcopy items', 'Other', and 'Law Library> Note the corresponding call number to find the looseleaf on the shelf.

Commentary

Legal commentary databases

Looseleaf collection at the QUT Law Library

Global links and information

Acknowledgement of Traditional Owners